The Age of Innocence. ( 1921 Pulitzer Prize ) By: Edith Wharton( INCLUDE: Summer. NOVEL By: Edith Wharton )

The Age of Innocence. ( 1921 Pulitzer Prize ) By: Edith Wharton( INCLUDE: Summer. NOVEL By: Edith Wharton )

by Edith Wharton
3.5 2


View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Thursday, August 24 , Order now and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


The Age of Innocence. ( 1921 Pulitzer Prize ) By: Edith Wharton( INCLUDE: Summer. NOVEL By: Edith Wharton ) by Edith Wharton

The Age of Innocence is a 1920 novel by Edith Wharton which won the 1921 Pulitzer Prize. The novel takes place among New York City's upper class during the 1870s, before the advent of electric lights, telephones or motor vehicles; when there was a small cluster of aristocratic "old revolutionary stock" families that ruled New York's social life; when "being things" was better than "doing things" - one's occupation or abilities were secondary to heredity and family connections, when reputation and outward appearances came at the exclusion of everything and everyone else, and when 5th Avenue was so deserted by nightfall that it was possible to follow the comings and goings of society by watching who went to which household. First published in four parts during July to October 1920 in the Pictorial Review and then in the same year by D. Appleton and Company in New York and in London

Summer is a novel by Edith Wharton published in 1917 by Charles Scribner's Sons. The story is one of only two novels by Wharton to be set in New England, who was best known for her portrayals of upper class New York society. The novel details the sexual awakening of its protagonist, Charity Royall, and shares many plot similarities with Wharton's better known novel, Ethan Frome. Only moderately well-received when originally published, Summer has had a resurgence in critical popularity since the 1960's

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781540537478
Publisher: CreateSpace Publishing
Publication date: 11/21/2016
Pages: 278
Product dimensions: 8.00(w) x 10.00(h) x 0.58(d)

About the Author

Born into a prosperous New York family, Edith Wharton (1862-1937) wrote more than 15 novels, including The Age of Innocence, The House of Mirth, Ethan Frome, and other esteemed books. She was distinguished for her work in the First World War and was the first woman to receive a Doctorate of Letters from Yale University. She died in France at the age of 75.

Date of Birth:

January 24, 1862

Date of Death:

August 11, 1937

Place of Birth:

New York, New York

Place of Death:

Saint-Brice-sous-Forêt, France


Educated privately in New York and Europe

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton 3.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Set in 19h century New York Society, This novel is filled with a delightful tapestry of details in setting, as well as a cast of unforgettable characters. A young lawyer in the center of this book, yearns to break out of the conventions of his well ordered life and we follow his thoughts and glances directed to his wife’s cousin who is estranged from her “foreign” and terrible husband. The story develops around their “love affair” consisting of stolen moments, fingers touching, and occasional eye contact. The reader is held in suspense to see if our young man fulfills his desire or if the pull of New York’s society keeps everything in check. The delight is in the reading rather than a chase to get to the end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago