The Collected Short Stories of Edith Wharton

The Collected Short Stories of Edith Wharton

by Edith Wharton


View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Edith Wharton was an American novelist, poet and short story writer whose works display her mastery over the realistic fiction genre. Although she grew up in a world of refined manners and fashionable people, she was also aware of its superficiality, a theme that frequently appeared in her works. She began writing short stories and poetry at a young age, impressing such literary figures as Henry Wadsworth Longfellow and William Dean Howells. Her stories range widely from powerful social commentary to titillating ghost stories that made Wharton extremely popular beyond her living years. This collection includes: The Early Uncollected Stories (1891-1896), The Greater Inclination (1899), Early Uncollected Stories (1900), Crucial Instances (1901), The Descent of Man (1904), Uncollected Stories (1904-1908), The Hermit and The Wild Woman and Other Stories (1908), Tales of Men and Ghosts (1910), Xingu (1916), and an Uncollected Story (1919).

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781420941524
Publisher: Neeland Media
Publication date: 09/22/2011
Pages: 772
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 1.70(d)

About the Author

Born into a prosperous New York family, Edith Wharton (1862-1937) wrote more than 15 novels, including The Age of Innocence, The House of Mirth, Ethan Frome, and other esteemed books. She was distinguished for her work in the First World War and was the first woman to receive a Doctorate of Letters from Yale University. She died in France at the age of 75.

Date of Birth:

January 24, 1862

Date of Death:

August 11, 1937

Place of Birth:

New York, New York

Place of Death:

Saint-Brice-sous-Forêt, France


Educated privately in New York and Europe

Customer Reviews