The Consequences of Fear (Maisie Dobbs Series #16)

The Consequences of Fear (Maisie Dobbs Series #16)

by Jacqueline Winspear
The Consequences of Fear (Maisie Dobbs Series #16)

The Consequences of Fear (Maisie Dobbs Series #16)

by Jacqueline Winspear


    Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


Notes From Your Bookseller

We have been fans of Maisie Dobbs since the eponymously titled first novel when Maisie was a nurse during World War I. Post-war found Dobbs apprenticing as a private investigator in 1929, and this latest installment begins in 1941 in Nazi-Occupied Europe. Begin here with Winspear’s latest — but be warmed — you will quickly head back to 1929 to read how Dobbs got her start. Don’t be alarmed if you, too, find Maisie Dobbs one of the top heroine detectives on your reading list!


As Europe buckles under Nazi occupation, Maisie Dobbs investigates a possible murder that threatens devastating repercussions for Britain's war efforts in this latest installment in the New York Times bestselling mystery series.

October 1941. While on a delivery, young Freddie Hackett, a message runner for a government office, witnesses an argument that ends in murder. Crouching in the doorway of a bombed-out house, Freddie waits until the coast is clear. But when he arrives at the delivery address, he’s shocked to come face to face with the killer.

Dismissed by the police when he attempts to report the crime, Freddie goes in search of a woman he once met when delivering a message: Maisie Dobbs. While Maisie believes the boy and wants to help, she must maintain extreme caution: she’s working secretly for the Special Operations Executive, assessing candidates for crucial work with the French resistance. Her two worlds collide when she spots the killer in a place she least expects. She soon realizes she’s been pulled into the orbit of a man who has his own reasons to kill—reasons that go back to the last war.

As Maisie becomes entangled in a power struggle between Britain’s intelligence efforts in France and the work of Free French agents operating across Europe, she must also contend with the lingering question of Freddie Hackett’s state of mind. What she uncovers could hold disastrous consequences for all involved in this compelling chapter of the “series that seems to get better with every entry” (Wall Street Journal).

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062868015
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication date: 02/08/2022
Series: Maisie Dobbs Series
Pages: 352
Sales rank: 75,063
Product dimensions: 5.20(w) x 7.70(h) x 1.00(d)

About the Author

About The Author
Jacqueline Winspear is the author of the New York Times bestsellers The Consequences of Fear, The American Agent, and To Die but Once, as well as thirteen other bestselling Maisie Dobbs novels and The Care and Management of Lies, a Dayton Literary Peace Prize finalist. Jacqueline has also published two nonfiction books, What Would Maisie Do? and a memoir, This Time Next Year We’ll Be Laughing. Originally from the United Kingdom, she divides her time between California and the Pacific Northwest.


Ojai, California

Date of Birth:

April 30, 1955

Place of Birth:

Weald of Kent, England


The University of London¿s Institute of Education
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews