The Firelight Girls: A Novel

The Firelight Girls: A Novel

by Kaya McLaren

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - Reprint)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Friday, September 28  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.
    Same Day shipping in Manhattan. 
    See Details

Overview

The Firelight Girls: A Novel by Kaya McLaren

“A sweet, touching view of the evolution of love and friendships. For readers who enjoy Kristin Hannah or Luanne Rice.” -Library Journal
The years spent at summer camp are indelibly etched on your heart. Can you ever really say good-bye to the place that made you who you are? This is the question that haunts three generations of women when a desperate, homeless teenager turns up at the campground they all used to call home. Now it’s up to the former Firelight Girls to help her. There’s Laura, who once believed in marriage but no longer knows if her own is worth fighting for; Shannon, who spent the summers of her youth as a camp counselor and is now directionless after her career implodes; Ethel, the camp director whose heart has been broken beyond repair; and Ruby, who betrayed Ethel years ago and is still looking for a chance to make amends. Can these women all come together and find a way to save a young girl for whom all hope seems lost—and recapture their own dreams along the way?
“Generous…big-hearted...irresistible.”—Marisa de los Santos

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781250105028
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Publication date: 12/06/2016
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 352
Sales rank: 416,330
Product dimensions: 4.10(w) x 6.70(h) x 1.00(d)

About the Author

Kaya McLaren is the author of Church of the Dog. She lives and teaches on the east slope of Snoqualmie Pass in Washington State. When Kaya’s not working, she likes to telemark ski, sit in hot springs, moonlight hike, and play in lakes with her dog, Big Cedar.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Firelight Girls 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 7 reviews.
Ilovemister More than 1 year ago
This book describes a feeling I think most of us feel about camp. It brought me back to such a great time of my life. I absolutely loved this book. It also was a magnificent way about addressing lesbian relationships.BRAVO!!!!This should be on B&N's best reads list . Highly recommended. I wish there would be a sequel. I didn't want it to end. Fantastic.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was a quick read with a great story. We went through the struggles that some characters are going through and how the characters all come together to help one another out. I thought this author had a wonderful story to tell.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
"Thanks."((sorry just had meh kits at solarclan and was fighting))
bmak More than 1 year ago
A great read and a wonderful message, too! I highly recommended....
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
There were so many things I loved about this book. Having been a summer camper myself, I could really identify with happy feelings past camp experiences and friendships bring to your life. I loved the description of Shannon's teaching experience and Amber's storyline. Kaya McLaren did a wonderful job bringing her characters to life. I agree that there aren't really any major twists and turns in the story, but The Firelight Girls was beautifully written and will appeal to all those women that attended summer camp in the past or wished they had. It feels more like a true, heart warming story.
quaintinns More than 1 year ago
A special thank you to St. Martin's Griffin and NetGalley for an ARC in exchange for an honest review. 3.5 stars Kaya McLaren's The Firelight Girls, is a heartwarming light read, of five female friends, across three generations with cherished memories to last a life time. A group of women known as The Firelight Girls,have fond memories and ties to Camp Firelight, on Lake Wenatchee a summer camp for girls of all ages. When the camp is about to close down, Ethel, the camp "manager", for over fifty years, decides she needs some help to clean the place up. She invites the Firelight Girls to come and say their farewells, to the place they all loved and prepare for its sale. Ethel is sad and overwhelmed, as she has much to do, so enlists the help of three other former campers, Laura, Ruby and Shannon. While the four of them continue to mourn the loss of their camp, Ethel is still mourning the loss of the love of her life, Haddie, her partner. (carrying her urn of ashes everywhere and continues talking to her). Two women suffering from midlife crisis: Forty-year-old Shannon, spent the summers of her youth as a vibrant, camp counselor and is now directionless after watching her career implode. Laura, has lost all intimacy with her husband and doesn't know if she can save what seems to be gone forever. Ruby, betrayed Ethel years ago and hasn't spoken to her since, hopes this will be her chance to make amends. Amber, a teenage girl (a new addition) to the group, with a drug-addicted, and neglectful mother, is staying in one of the cabins, unsure how she can make it there in the winter. The ladies take her under their wind, making for a nice group of women covering multi-generations. The women bond, face their past, and make plans for their future, together. I especially enjoyed the characters, Ethel and Amber. I agree with one of the other reviewers – would have enjoyed the story more focused on these two characters, and the other two as more of secondary characters. From the 50’s to 2013, so many stories from an array of different women and a Lodge which had always been the camp with cedar, cabins, fireplaces, dirt, swimming, proms, hiking, lunches, canoes, fishing, kayaks, food, friendship, and many memorable stories from the heart. The author offers specials insights into the work of summer camps, having spent her summers in college working at Camp Zanika on Lake Wenatchee in Washington State, and fifteen years later returned to run the teen programs for two more, as well as a teacher. I also enjoyed the inspiration for the book, a group of women FOZ (Friends of Zanika), who saved Camp Zanika when it was going under, rolling up their sleeves with many powerful stories and reflections. The Firelight Girls reminds me a little of Susan Wiggs’ Lakeshore Chronicles Series (which I loved, as read them all) surrounding Willow Lake, camps, and lodges, as well as author, Emilie Richards and her stories of women. Fans of women’s fiction, female friendship, and summer camp stories will enjoy this insightful story of love, loss, regret, reinvention, and forgiveness.