The Girl Who Drew Butterflies: How Maria Merian's Art Changed Science

The Girl Who Drew Butterflies: How Maria Merian's Art Changed Science

by Joyce Sidman

Hardcover(New Edition)

$15.99 $17.99 Save 11% Current price is $15.99, Original price is $17.99. You Save 11%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Robert F. Sibert Medal winner

Bugs, of all kinds, were considered to be “born of mud” and to be “beasts of the devil.”  Why would anyone, let alone a girl, want to study and observe them?

One of the first naturalists to observe live insects directly, Maria Sibylla Merian was also one of the first to document the metamorphosis of the butterfly. In this visual nonfiction biography, richly illustrated throughout with full-color original paintings by Merian herself, the Newbery Honor–winning author Joyce Sidman paints her own picture of one of the first female entomologists and a woman who flouted convention in the pursuit of knowledge and her passion for insects.

Booklist Editor’s Choice
Chicago Public Library Best of 2018
Kirkus Best book of 2018
2018 Bulletin Blue Ribbon Book

Junior Library Guild Selection
New York Public Library Top 10 Best Books of 2018

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780544717138
Publisher: HMH Books
Publication date: 02/20/2018
Edition description: New Edition
Pages: 160
Sales rank: 39,962
Product dimensions: 7.10(w) x 9.10(h) x 0.70(d)
Lexile: 1110L (what's this?)
Age Range: 10 - 12 Years

About the Author

Joyce Sidman is today's foremost nature poet for children. Accolades for her books include two Caldecott Honors, a Lee Bennett Hopkins Award, the Claudia Lews Award, and many stars and Best of lists. For her body of work, she won NCTE's Award for Excellence in Poetry for Children. She lives in Wayzata, Minnesota.

Table of Contents

Butterfly Glossary vi

The Girl in the Garden viii

Chapter 1 Egg 1

Chapter 2 Hatching 7

Chapter 3 First Instar 13

Chapter 4 Second Instar 20

Chapter 5 Third Instar 28

Chapter 6 Fourth Instar 34

Chapter 7 Molting 41

Chapter 8 Pupa 55

Chapter 9 Eclosing 61

Chapter 10 Expanding 74

Chapter 11 Flight 84

Chapter 12 Egg 103

The Woman in Her World 116

Author's Note 122

Timeline 124

Quote Sources 129

Selected Bibliography 132

For Further Reading 136

Acknowledgments 137

Image Credits 139

Index 141

Customer Reviews