The Improbable Theory of Ana and Zak

The Improbable Theory of Ana and Zak

by Brian Katcher

Paperback(Reprint)

$9.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Wednesday, October 24  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.
    Same Day shipping in Manhattan. 
    See Details

Overview

The Improbable Theory of Ana and Zak by Brian Katcher

Perfect for fans of Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist and The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight, The Improbable Theory of Ana and Zak is Stonewall Award–winning author Brian Katcher's hilarious he said/she said romance about two teens discovering themselves on an out-of-this-world accidental first date at a sci-fi convention.

When Ana Watson's brother ditches a high school trip to run wild at Washingcon, type-A Ana knows that she must find him or risk her last shot at freedom from her extra-controlling parents.

In her desperation, she's forced to enlist the last person she'd ever want to spend time with—slacker Zak Duquette—to help find her brother before morning comes.

But over the course of the night, while being chased by hordes of costumed Vikings and zombies, Ana and Zak begin to open up to each other. Soon, what starts as the most insane nerdfighter manhunt transforms into so much more. . . .

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062272782
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 09/27/2016
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 352
Sales rank: 645,174
Product dimensions: 5.20(w) x 8.20(h) x 0.90(d)
Age Range: 13 Years

About the Author

Brian Katcher is the author of the Stonewall Book Award-winning novel Almost Perfect, Playing with Matches, and Everyone Dies in the End. He lives in central Missouri with his wife, Sandra, and his daughter, Sophie. When he's not writing, he's working as a school librarian and a member of the Forever Young Adult blogging group.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Improbable Theory of Ana and Zak 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book at school but i would like to know the word count for the book
JessicaCoffee More than 1 year ago
This book started out with me going, "Oh great... THESE kinds of characters?" (Just for, like, two chapters.) Ana is pretty high strung, and Zak seems like the typical gamer/comic book guy. You kind of think you know what you're getting into. But don't let your expectations be very low... the beginning was a setup for chaos, because the most of the rest of the book takes place in a single day, and LOTS takes place. Don't want to give anything away, but TIToAaZ is a funny, quirky book about learning who you are, speaking up for yourself, and accepting others who are different than you are (and even being willing to help 'em out). Throw all of that on top of a crazy evening at a "Washingcom" (card games! black eyes! bruises! chases! arrows! dances! and even a gun! oh my!) and you'll be having a BLUEBERRY of a time! TIToAaZ is a laugh-out-loud, sweet, surprising book about two teens who learn more than they ever thought they could in only a few hours. (And it has a nice, sentimental ending, too.)
Anonymous 9 months ago
This book is full of charm and wit and for someone like me (a nerd who loves conventions) the book was very pleasing. I loved it and recommend it to every one because it has a little bit of everything in it. I fell in love with the characters and the story very quickly.
rockygirl1 More than 1 year ago
This book was a rolling good time.  Seriously, they were on the move so much it was really hard to keep up with exactly where they were in the book! Ana has already lost one sibling due to controlling parents, so when here brother Clayton takes off to check out Washingcon Sci-fi fest that Zak talked up, she is determined not to loose him as well. So, she teams up with the one person who can find him, Zak himself. The adventures that these two high school seniors have can only be read to be believed! They are crazy and are all over the map! But Ana ends up having the night of her life and meets some of the craziest people she has ever met, and finding out maybe Zak isn’t so bad after all. And maybe things aren’t always what they seem. So, this book was a little far fetched for me, but it was a good read and I enjoyed reading it. It was enjoyable and I’m glad I read it. It was a cute story.
onecurvyblogger More than 1 year ago
Most of The Improbable Theory of Ana and Zak took place in a 24-hour time line, so I was unsurprised by how fast a pace the book had. I’ve realized that I’m starting to like this type of book. Remember when I read Bright Before Sunrise? It had the same type of time frame and I really enjoyed it. This is definitely the type of book you find yourself speeding through, but loving every minute of it! I’m guessing it is also the perfect book to take a reader out of a reading funk. I haven’t had to test my theory (yet), but I wouldn’t drag my feet at re-reading The Improbable Theory of Ana and Zak because I had a blast! Let me just warn you guys that this isn’t the most realistic contemporary YA read. Two reasons: If it was, the book wouldn’t be such a grand adventure. Ana and Zak would probably be dead. If you are like me and don’t care if the ending was entirely too hand delivered with a happily ever after or that they escaped serious injury more often than would ever happen in the real world, then you will probably enjoy this as much as I did. I recieved this book free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.