The Incredible Honk

The Incredible Honk

by Roswell RuddRoswell Rudd


$14.56 $16.99 Save 14% Current price is $14.56, Original price is $16.99. You Save 14%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, February 28
5 New & Used Starting at $3.99


In his mid-seventies at the time of these recording sessions, trombonist Roswell Rudd takes the listener on a worldwide journey with his diverse musical interests. He explores a couple of widely known songs, though his bluesy take of "Feeling Good" is a funky affair showing off his chops with a mute and on open horn as organist Arne Wendt and pianist Ivan Rubenstein-Gillis lead the rhythm section behind him. His take of "Danny Boy" showcases Wu Tong on sheng (a bamboo predecessor to the harmonica), followed by the leader's sassy muted horn accompanied by bassist John Lindberg, with Tong achieving an organ-like sound as he rejoins them. Rudd also ventures to Latin America, interpreting the Cuban traditional piece "Dame la Mano" with guitarist/vocalist David Oquendo. Rudd even composed the Cajun-flavored "C'Etait dans la Nuit" to feature fiddler/vocalist Michael Doucet and Beausoleil, along with penning "BRO" to play with an impressive group of musicians from Bali playing exotic instruments. The Incredible Honk is one of the rare CDs that will broaden the listening experience of everyone.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/14/2011
Label: Sunnyside
UPC: 0016728127929
catalogNumber: 1279
Rank: 147706

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Roswell Rudd   Primary Artist,Trombone,Animal Sounds
Beausoleil   Fiddle,Vocals
Michael Doucet   Fiddle,Vocals
John Lindberg   Acoustic Bass
Jimmy Breaux   Accordion
Tommy Alesi   Drums
David Doucet   Acoustic Guitar
Ken Filiano   Acoustic Bass
Verna Gillis   Sprechstimme
Lafayette Harris   Piano
Mitchell Reed   Electric Bass
Aaron Comess   Drums
David Oquendo   Guitar,Vocals
Moussa Sissoko   Rattle
Billy Ware   Percussion
Richard Hammond   Bass
Emily Haines   Vocals
Arne Wendt   Organ
Ivan Rubenstein-Gillis   Percussion,Piano
Sunny Kim   Vocals
Wu Tong   Vocals,Sheng
Alou Coulibaly   Calabash
Henry Schroy   Electric Bass

Technical Credits

Roswell Rudd   Arranger,Composer,Sound Effects,Producer,Liner Notes
Peer Raben   Composer
Leslie Bricusse   Composer
Verna Gillis   Composer,Producer
Paul Haines   Composer
Anthony Newley   Composer
Patrick Hinely   Cover Photo
Christopher Drukker   Graphic Design
Tiger Lillies   Composer
Traditional   Composer
Ivan Rubenstein-Gillis   Producer
Wu Tong   Arranger
Chris Anderson   Engineer
Randy Crafton Prevailing   Engineer
Ivan's Dream Band   Producer
Didier Civil   Sculpture

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews