Pub. Date:
University of California Press
The Innocence of the Devil / Edition 1

The Innocence of the Devil / Edition 1


Current price is , Original price is $30.95. You

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Please check back later for updated availability.


Nawal El Saadawi's books are known for their powerful denunciation of patriarchy in its many forms: social, political, and religious. Set in an insane asylum, The Innocence of the Devil is a complex and chilling novel that recasts the relationships of God and Satan, of good and evil. Intertwining the lives of two young women as they discover their sexual and emotional powers, Saadawi weaves a dreamlike narrative that reveals how the patriarchal structures of Christianity and Islam are strikingly similar: physical violation of women is not simply a social or political phenomenon, it is a religious one as well.

While more measured in tone than Salman Rushdie's Satanic Verses, Saadawi's novel is similar in its linguistic, literary, and philosophical richness. Evoking a world of pain and survival that may be unfamiliar to many readers, it speaks in a universal voice that reaches across cultures and is the author's most potent weapon.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780520216525
Publisher: University of California Press
Publication date: 11/04/1998
Series: Literature of the Middle East
Edition description: First Edition
Pages: 280
Product dimensions: 5.25(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.75(d)

About the Author

Nawal El Saadawi is an Egyptian feminist, socialist, medical doctor, and writer. Her works include The Hidden Face of Eve (1982) and Memoirs from the Women's Prison (California, 1994). Sherif Hetata, who is married to Saadawi, is a physician and writer who spent thirteen years in prison for speaking out against the Egyptian government. Fedwa Malti-Douglas is Martha C. Kraft Professor of Humanities at Indiana University and the author of Men, Women, and God(s): Nawal El Saadawi and Arab Feminist Poetics (California, 1995).

Table of Contents

Introduction: From Theology to Rape

I Ganat Arrives
2 The First Session
3 Another Woman
4 Narguiss
5 A Fight in the Night
6 Nefissa
7 Ganat in a Moment of Consciousness
8 Guilt
9 And in the Beginning was the Serpent
IO Sinful Love
II Nefissa Stops Calling Out
I2 Ganat Breaks Out
I3 The Innocence of the Devil

Customer Reviews