The Labyrinth Wall

The Labyrinth Wall

Paperback

$12.75

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING

Overview

The Labyrinth Wall by Emilyann Girdner

Perfect for fans of J.R.R. Tolkien, Christopher Paolini, and Suzanne Collins, the Amazon Best-Selling Obsidian Series books offer a surprising and fresh magical labyrinth adventure.

Experience a labyrinth world from the perspective of its native people... Araina’s lonely teenage life is forever altered when she witnesses a man with supernatural powers emerge through a rippling wall into the dark and deadly labyrinth she calls home. Araina must solve many mysteries surrounding the newcomer and the labyrinth she thought she knew so well. And, as a result of the stranger's arrival, Araina's creators have unleashed a series of attacks against the labyrinth inhabitants. She must decide if she will trust potentially deceitful allies in order to survive.

“It is a book that all fantasy lovers will find addictive and thrilling." — Readers' Favorite

An Amazon Best-Seller

A Dante Rossetti International Award Finalist

Reader's Favorite 5 Star Rated

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780991531202
Publisher: Luminous Words Press
Publication date: 03/03/2014
Series: Obsidian Series , #1
Pages: 268
Product dimensions: 8.10(w) x 5.80(h) x 0.70(d)

Table of Contents

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Labyrinth Wall 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
Somerset-Mike More than 1 year ago
Lets go see whats there I’m always amazed about how a person can sit down with some sort of writing implement and first dream up, then build in their mind, a picture, a plan and a vision and go on to finally describe & present on paper no less, a whole new world with all its in depth detail and intricacies, still not forgetting to sort out a whole race of different beings with the usual flaws or imperfections and all the while still maintaining a smooth, informative, yet exciting storyline for us, the reader, sort of like laying down bread crumbs for us follow. The book was fun, fearful, tearful, enjoyable and scary at times, but always leading me one step further to see what was around the corner. I enjoyed reading this adventure and so hope our heroine and her troupe don’t settle down to a mundane life but get up and go see what’s in the maze next door. A review copy was provided by Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.
lizasarusrex More than 1 year ago
Obsidian Series Book #1 I knew instantly that this was going to be a book of great adventure. Araina is a Mahk, otherwise known as a created human, is trapped in a labyrinth. She makes a great main character that adds a lot to the plot of the story. As you read through the book, you see her becoming more and more of a person with substance.  She experiences enough conflict throughout the book, keeping you on your toes. The plot itself will keep you on your toes, since the whole book is a giant puzzle.  The writing style was interesting, considering the amount of thought and research that went into the book. It doesn't quite fit into the dystopian category of books, but it doesn't fall into sic-fi or paranormal either. Its a bit of both and will definitely give you a action, betrayal, and suspense.  Overall I would rate this book at a 4/5. 
ReadersFavorite2 More than 1 year ago
Reviewed by Mamta Madhavan for Readers' Favorite The Labyrinth Wall (Obsidian Series) by Emilyann Girdner is an adventurous fantasy tale for children with one adventure leading to another. Ariana is a teenage girl made to live in a labyrinth. Her life changes forever when one day she sees the mysterious figure of a man dressed in white walk in through the walls. Her creators have kept her confined there and now, after seeing this man, a wave of hope washes over her. She has to decide if she can trust anyone to get out of the labyrinth wall. Will she finally be able to set herself free from the walls that have confined her? The story is gripping and intriguing and it will hold readers' attention till the very end. There is something very mysterious about a labyrinth which gives this fantasy fiction a refreshing perspective. Ariana comes across as a strong girl and the bleakness and starkness of her world and her strength and will to survive have been captured well in the story. The twists and turns in the plot make it fast paced and the mystery of what lies beyond the labyrinth walls makes it an awesome adventure story. The inner monologue by Ariana exposes the inner conflict, her lack of trust in others and a curiosity in knowing what lies on the other side of the walls in the story. It is a book that all fantasy lovers will find addictive and thrilling. A well written adventure tale that makes me look forward to the next book in the series.
ReadersFavorite1 More than 1 year ago
Reviewed by Tania Staley for Readers' Favorite The Labyrinth Wall, the first book of the Obsidian Series, by Emilyann Girdner, is a book of adventure, intrigue, and discovering the world from a new perspective. Araina is a Mahk that lives in the labyrinth. Mahks have one purpose in life, to gather obsidian for the Creators so that in return they can eat. During the two years of existence after her awakening, she has lived by one motto that seems to drive the existence of every Mahk: “You offer obsidian, you eat, you kill, and you survive.” She keeps her head low, avoiding both Creators and Mahks, hoping that she doesn’t have to kill in order to survive. The labyrinth is a dangerous place with frightful creatures, poisonous plants, acidic waters, and hungry Mahks willing to do anything for a morsel of food. But the labyrinth is her home, and she strives to make the best of the only place she has ever known. With her faithful pet bird, Blue, she hides in her secret spot of solitude. She will soon learn, though, that the world is bigger than she could have imagined. When she sees a strange man pass through the labyrinth wall, she is determined to find him so that he can lead her outside the wall. But will her journey take her to a peaceful new realm, or are there even worse horrors past the labyrinth wall? Emilyann Girdner’s book, The Labyrinth Wall, is a fascinating and engrossing book that readers will find hard to put down. Beyond each new bend of the labyrinth there are wonderfully unique and exciting creatures to discover. Even more compelling than the fantasy realm Girdner has created is the character of Araina. She is a flawed, distrustful, reclusive girl thrust into the role of unlikely heroine, and her growth throughout the story is wonderful to witness. In fact, the unique cast of characters Girdner has created makes this story most rewarding. The Labyrinth Wall is a fun and fanciful tale that is sure to entertain. I’m truly invested in the Obsidian Series after reading this book, and I can’t wait to see what Emilyann Girdner does in the sequel.
ReadersFavorite More than 1 year ago
Reviewed by Faridah Nassozi for Readers' Favorite In The Labyrinth Wall by Emilyann Girdner, Araina had just received her meal for the week - three potatoes, a dead rat, and two canisters of water - from the Creators. Back at her hideaway, she ventured beyond her usual space and discovered another part of her world that she had not seen before, with real water, unlike the acid type around the labyrinth, and even some edible fruit. As if the wonders of the day could not end, she saw a man magically appear through the labyrinth wall. Curious to know about the world beyond their current confines, Araina and a new ally decide to find and talk to the man with magical healing powers that came through the wall. They have to break him out of the Creators' heavily guarded castle; a place where none of their kind can ever be allowed to enter. Araina hates the helpless feeling of always living on the Creators' terms and she is determined to do something about it. But first she and her companions must survive through a maze of endless dark tunnels filled with all kinds of deadly creatures, sharp blades, poisonous gases, and endless traps. The Labyrinth Wall by Emilyann Girdner is a captivating tale of bravery and the power of determination in a land haunted by hunger, death and misery, and survival of the fittest. The contrast between the life lived by the Mahk and the Creators is simply astonishing and Emilyann Girdner brought it out perfectly.  Emilyann Girdner’s incredible writing skills take you from this world and dump you in the labyrinth with Araina and company as they navigate the endless deadly tunnels. The characters are so real and I was able to connect with them so deeply that I was even able to feel the chills every time Araina came face to face with death, and was forced to hold my breath as she fought to survive. But more importantly, the relief I felt every time she beat the odds was so magnificent. The Labyrinth Wall by Emilyann Girdner is an amazingly captivating page-turner and I loved reading every single page.
NikiMattes More than 1 year ago
Ariana is a young girl who is "created" 2 years ago by the creators, it is a hard life, fight to survive and find obsidian to give to the creators in exchange for food, not that it is much, most people starve to death or kill others for their food. Ariana doesn't kill she survives somehow.  One day when she is fighting with her friend Darith, she sees a man fall through a "wall". she has a nasty cut in her leg and the man in white lays his hands on her leg and heals her wound, then he runs on to safe himself. Creators guards run after the man and Araina and Darith decide to safe the man, they follow them top the castle of the Creators. They decide to get in and are in awe of what they see. In order to find the man in white they kidnap a guard to help them. She does help but is stubborn too, only Araina has something to keep over her head to guarantee her helping, The Creators find out what happened and release magic and other bad stuff in the Labyrinth to take revenge. The three meet up with more people, Ariana is determine to get Kuron back to the wall. if they make it and get to a better place is for you to find out. I personal loved this book, it is a good read. magical animals and figures, action and weird places, it is all about survival, it reminded me aa bit of hunger games mixed with  The Clan of the Cave Bear if you like these books then this is a must read!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A fascinating tale of adventure, danger and self discovery. You will not want to put this one down as you are drawn into the quest for something unknown and distant as a reoccurring, puzzling and incomprehensible dream.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have never written a book review, possibly because I have read less books than I have fingers. I have dyslexia, which didn't even have a name when I was growing up. The previous few books I have read were because chapter to chapter, I couldn't put the book down. Well, I'm here to tell you, that with The Labyrinth Wall, I didn't want to put it down! For a non-reader this was like discovering a whole new world, not just Araina's world, but the world of reading. I credit the Author of The Labyrinth Wall for opening up the world of reading to me. I was swept up by the point of view, action, emotions stirred by characters' interactions, desire for more descriptions of this new world, the evocative language, foreshadowing, and short chapter format. For someone that doesn't read much, this recipe gave me an insatiable appetite for more... I will now have to feed this new appetite with other "food" until the sequel to The Labyrinth Wall is published and I devour that literary banquet!