The Leopard Behind the Moon

The Leopard Behind the Moon

by Mayonn Paasewe-Valchev
The Leopard Behind the Moon

The Leopard Behind the Moon

by Mayonn Paasewe-Valchev

Hardcover

$14.99  $16.99 Save 12% Current price is $14.99, Original price is $16.99. You Save 12%.
  • SHIP THIS ITEM
    Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, April 18
  • PICK UP IN STORE
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


Overview

A beautifully rendered coming-of-age story.”—Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

No one knows what lies beyond the magical village door, but Ezomo is determined to find out. Mayonn Paasewe-Valchev’s debut is an unforgettable coming-of-age story about friendship, family, and long-standing traditions. The power of storytelling comes to life in this novel perfect for fans of Erin Entrada Kelly, Tracey Baptiste, and Tae Keller.

There are three important laws in Ezomo’s village: Do not go to The Valley, do not go out at night, and never, ever, ever open the magical door that protects them all. But when Ezomo encounters the leopard believed to have killed his father, he and his two best friends embark on a journey that leads them past the boundaries set by their elders.

With his friends by his side, Ezomo chases after the leopard, certain that it has the power to cure all. But in the process, he discovers the truth about his village. And that cautionary tales exist for a reason.

Mayonn Paasewe-Valchev’s debut novel balances a gripping adventure with themes of friendship, community, identity, grief, and resilience. Poignant and memorable, Ezomo’s story will appeal to fantasy lovers and readers of Grace Lin and Kelly Barnhill.



Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062993618
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication date: 09/21/2021
Pages: 256
Sales rank: 359,667
Product dimensions: 6.20(w) x 7.60(h) x 0.90(d)
Age Range: 8 - 12 Years

About the Author

Mayonn Paasewe-Valchev was born in Liberia, where she was exposed to a culture of oral storytelling at a young age. She lived in the Netherlands for several years, where she learned to stuff her klompen (wooden shoes) with carrots and developed a love for reading stories—especially tales written by Roald Dahl and Astrid Lindgren. She is the author of The Leopard Behind the Moon and a junior novel retelling of Marvel’s Black Panther. She lives in Washington, DC, with her family.

From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews