The Light at the Bottom of the World

The Light at the Bottom of the World

by London Shah

Paperback

$9.99 $10.99 Save 9% Current price is $9.99, Original price is $10.99. You Save 9%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, December 13

Overview

From debut author London Shah, comes a thrilling futuristic Sci-Fi mystery perfect for fans of Illuminae and These Broken Stars.
 
In the last days of the twenty-first century, sea creatures swim through the ruins of London. Trapped in the abyss, humankind wavers between hope and fear of what lurks in the depths around them, and hope that they might one day find a way back to the surface.

When sixteen-year-old submersible racer Leyla McQueen is chosen to participate in the city's prestigious annual marathon, she sees an opportunity to save her father, who has been arrested on false charges. The Prime Minister promises the champion whatever their heart desires. But the race takes an unexpected turn, forcing Leyla to make an impossible choice.

Now she must brave unfathomable waters and defy a corrupt government determined to keep its secrets, all the while dealing with a guarded, hotheaded companion she never asked for in the first place. If Leyla fails to discover the truths at the heart of her world, or falls prey to her own fears, she risks capture-or worse. And her father will be lost to her forever.
 


Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780759555136
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Publication date: 09/28/2021
Series: Light the Abyss Series , #1
Pages: 336
Sales rank: 117,162
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.20(h) x 1.10(d)
Age Range: 12 - 18 Years

About the Author

London Shah is a British-born Muslim of Pashtun ethnicity. She has lived in Britain's capital for most of her life, via England's beautiful North. When she's not busy re-imagining the past, plotting an alternate present or dreaming up a surreal future, she's most likely drinking copious amounts of tea, eating allthe sweets and cakes, strolling through Richmond Park or along the Thames, getting lost on an evening in the city's older, darker alleyways-preferably just after it's rained-listening to punk rock, or losing herself in a fab SFF book or film.

Customer Reviews