The Mind Illuminated: A Complete Meditation Guide Integrating Buddhist Wisdom and Brain Science for Greater Mindfulness

The Mind Illuminated: A Complete Meditation Guide Integrating Buddhist Wisdom and Brain Science for Greater Mindfulness


$23.39 $25.99 Save 10% Current price is $23.39, Original price is $25.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Use Standard Shipping. For guaranteed delivery by December 24, use Express or Expedited Shipping.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781501156984
Publisher: Touchstone
Publication date: 01/03/2017
Pages: 512
Sales rank: 61,427
Product dimensions: 7.30(w) x 9.10(h) x 1.20(d)

About the Author

John Yates, PhD (Culadasa) is a meditation master with more than four decades of experience in the Tibetan and Theravadin Buddhist traditions. A former professor, he taught physiology and neuroscience for many years, and later worked in the field of complementary and alternative medicine. He is the author of A Physician’s Guide to Therapeutic Massage, currently in its third edition. He is currently the director of Dharma Treasure Buddhist Sangha in Tucson, AZ.

Matthew Immergut, PhD is an associate professor of sociology. He is a longtime meditator and a dedicated student of Culadasa. He lives in Woodstock, NY.

Table of Contents

Foreword xi

Introduction xvii

An Overview of the Ten Stages 1

First Interlude: Conscious Experience and the Objectives of Meditation 19

Stage 1 Establishing a Practice 41

Second Interlude: The Hindrances and Problems 65

Stage 2 Interrupted Attention and Overcoming Mind-Wandering 79

Stage 3 Extended Continuity of Attention and Overcoming Forgetting 95

Third Interlude: How Mindfulness Works 113

Stage 4 Continuous Attention and Overcoming Gross Distraction and Strong Dullness 121

Fourth Interlude: The Moments of Consciousness Model 147

Stage 5 Overcoming Subtle Dullness and Increasing Mindfulness 167

Fifth Interlude: The Mind-System 181

Stage 6 Subduing Subtle Distractions 215

Sixth Interlude: The Stages of an Adept 235

Stage 7 Exclusive Attention and Unifying the Mind 261

Seventh Interlude: The Nature of Mind and Consciousness 279

Stage 8 Mental Pliancy and Pacifying the Senses 299

Stage 9 Mental and Physical Pliancy and Calming the Intensity of Meditative Joy 327

Stage 10 Tranquility and Equanimity 337

Final Thoughts 341

Acknowledgments 347


Appendix A Walking Meditation 349

Appendix B Analytical Meditation 363

Appendix C Loving-Kindness Meditation 371

Appendix D The Jhanas 377

Appendix E Mindful Review 399

Appendix F Insight and the "Dark Night" 411

Glossary 419

Notes 431

Index 455

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews