The Missing: A Novel

The Missing: A Novel

by C. L. Taylor

Paperback

$14.39 $15.99 Save 10% Current price is $14.39, Original price is $15.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, November 19

Overview

The Missing has a delicious sense of foreboding from the first page, luring us into the heart of a family with terrible secrets and making us wait, with pounding hearts for the final, agonizing twist. Loved it.”—Fiona Barton, author of The Widow

A harrowing psychological thriller about a missing teenage boy whose mother must expose the secrets within their own family if she wants to find her son—perfect for fans of Reconstructing Amelia.

You love your family. They make you feel safe. You trust them. Or do you…?

When fifteen-year-old Billy Wilkinson goes missing in the middle of the night, his mother, Claire Wilkinson, blames herself. She’s not the only one. There isn’t a single member of Billy’s family that doesn’t feel guilty. But the Wilkinsons are so used to keeping secrets from one another that it isn’t until six months later, after an appeal for information goes horribly wrong, that the truth begins to surface.

Claire is sure of two things—that Billy is still alive and that her friends and family had nothing to do with his disappearance.

A mother’s instinct is never wrong. Or is it…?

Combining an unreliable narrator and fast-paced storytelling, The Missing is a chilling novel of psychological suspense that will thoroughly captivate and obsess readers.



 

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062673534
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 11/07/2017
Pages: 496
Sales rank: 722,600
Product dimensions: 5.30(w) x 8.20(h) x 0.80(d)

About the Author

C. L. Taylor is a Sunday Times bestselling author. Her books have sold more than a million copies and have been translated into twenty-one languages. She lives in Bristol, England, with her partner and son.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Missing: A Novel 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this read. It was mysterious and heartfelt at the same time. Couple of parts were a bit crude and disturbing, but it added layers i suppose. This is the 2nd of her novels that I've read and will not be the last.
Heart2Heart More than 1 year ago
Sometimes when I write a review I often wonder how much to share and how much to hold back on. Such is the case with C.L. Taylor's novel, The Missing. I guess since there is no official rating scale for books, that is where reviews come into play. Mine might be a bit harsh but I want readers to know what they are truly getting into before they pick this one up. If they're fine with the subject matter, than they won't be as surprised as I was when I read this novel. The premise is simple, a young 15-year-old boy Billy Wilkinson goes missing without a trace and his family is left to deal with the aftermath. The novel is divided into a series of events being seen through the eyes of his mother, Claire, who truly believes her son is alive even though she doesn't know where to begin to look for him. The book begins 6-months after his disappearance, and the family is going back to the public for an appeal to help them find out what has happened to their son. The family is beyond fragmented as each of them attempt to deal with things in their own way. Claire thinks she must stay busy because trying to go back to normal can't happen until she finds her son. She begins to see him everywhere and follows them to almost tragic ends without considering her own safety. I would too, if I was Claire. Her older son, Jake is almost forgotten by her husband, Mark. Seeing as he has turned to alcohol as his way of dealing the pain of being cast aside, while dealing with his live-in girlfriend, Kira who has escaped an abusive upbringing. Claire suffers from black out episodes where she has no recollection of how she arrives in any location and soon her family believes she might just need to see a specialist dealing with mental disorders. The majority of the book deals with the family trying to figure out what happened to Billy but in the midst of all of this are homosexual encounters between a group of teens, Claire happens to follow that lead to an apartment where she walks in on two men have sex. Also her best friend, Liz is dealing with her own son having a boyfriend. I felt that neither of these issues needed to be built into the novel and found them distracting from following along with Claire trying to find her son. That being said, it wasn't quite the novel I had hoped for. I received The Missing by C.L. Taylor compliments of William Morrow, a division of Harper Collins Publishers. This novel capitalizes on every parents worst nightmare. Not knowing if your son has simply chosen to walk away from adult responsibilities and seek his future without his divisive parents or he was truly a victim of suspicious circumstances. The novel does toggle between Claire's hunt for the truth and text messages between two individuals who have a tormented relationship that involves underage drinking. Is this a clue or another diversion? You'll have to read the novel to find out how it all turns out. I rated this novel a 3.5 stars in my opinion based on my own review criteria.
Honolulubelle More than 1 year ago
Favorite Quotes: It’s a PR trick to gain public sympathy. I read about it in a book I got out of the library, the one by the PR guru who was arrested for sex offences. Dirty bastard but he knew his stuff. We all have secrets. Most are guilty, a few are wretched and some are too precious to share. My Review: The Missing was a riveting and enthralling read. I could not put my kindle down and while I wanted to savor every perfectly chosen word, I also could not read fast enough. This book was ingeniously crafted, maddeningly paced, dripping with intrigue, smartly written, and laced with compelling twists and turns. I was taut with tension, my heart was frequently in my throat, everyone was suspect, and I went back and forth in wondering whether to pity or abhor this oddly fractured and barely functional family. I want to read every word this skilled wordsmith has ever written and will ever put to paper. C.L. Taylor is diabolically talented and an evil genius.