The Punishment She Deserves (Inspector Lynley Series #20)

The Punishment She Deserves (Inspector Lynley Series #20)

by Elizabeth George
The Punishment She Deserves (Inspector Lynley Series #20)

The Punishment She Deserves (Inspector Lynley Series #20)

by Elizabeth George


$14.99  $17.00 Save 12% Current price is $14.99, Original price is $17. You Save 12%.
    Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers



Detective Sergeant Barbara Havers and Detective Inspector Thomas Lynley are forced to confront the past as they try to solve a crime that threatens to tear apart the very fabric of a quiet, historic medieval town in England

The cozy, bucolic town of Ludlow is stunned when one of its most revered and respected citizens—Ian Druitt, the local deacon—is accused of a serious crime. Then, while in police custody, Ian is found dead. Did he kill himself? Or was he murdered?

When Barbara Havers is sent to Ludlow to investigate the chain of events that led to Ian's death, all the evidence points to suicide. But Barbara can't shake the feeling that she's missing something. She decides to take a closer look at the seemingly ordinary inhabitants of Ludlow—mainly elderly retirees and college students—and discovers that almost everyone in town has something to hide.

A masterful work of suspense, The Punishment She Deserves sets Detective Sergeant Barbara Havers and Inspector Thomas Lynley against one of their most intricate cases. Fans of the longtime series will love the many characters from Elizabeth George's previous novels who join Lynley and Havers, and readers new to the series will quickly see why she is one of the most popular and critically acclaimed writers of our time. Both a page-turner and a deeply complex story about the lies we tell, the lies we believe, and the redemption we need, this novel will be remembered as one of George's best.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780451467867
Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date: 03/19/2019
Series: Inspector Lynley Series , #20
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 704
Sales rank: 150,350
Product dimensions: 5.30(w) x 8.40(h) x 1.60(d)

About the Author

About The Author
Elizabeth George is the New York Times bestselling author of twenty psychological suspense novels, four young adult novels, one book of nonfiction, and two short-story collections. Her work has been honored with the Anthony and Agatha awards, two Edgar nominations, and both France's and Germany's first prize for crime fiction, as well as several other prestigious prizes. She lives in Washington State.


Seattle, Washington

Date of Birth:

February 26, 1949

Place of Birth:

Warren, Ohio


A.A. Foothill Community College, 1969; B.A. University of California, Riverside, 1970; M.S. California State University

Read an Excerpt


Excerpted from "The Punishment She Deserves"
by .
Copyright © 2019 Elizabeth George.
Excerpted by permission of Penguin Publishing Group.
All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.
Excerpts are provided by Dial-A-Book Inc. solely for the personal use of visitors to this web site.

Reading Group Guide

1. Why do you think the novel begins from Gaz Ruddock’s point of view? What effect does this have on how we perceive Gaz throughout the book?

2. Discuss the setting of this novel. What is the significance of the majority of the book being set in Ludlow, a place in which young and old, the medieval and the modern world, seem to intersect?

3. In what ways do Yasmina and Clover mirror each other in their approach to parenting?

4. The Punishment She Deserves is essentially set in motion by Ian Druitt’s father, who doesn’t believe that his son Ian would kill himself. Examine the way that various decisions—both large and small—made by parents profoundly influence the decisions of their children within this novel.

5. As the question above addresses, many of the characters within the novel are shaped by the actions of their parents. To what degree do you hold the characters accountable for their actions, and to what degree do you attribute their behavior to their parents?

6. Do you agree with Barbara Havers’s decision to cover for Isabelle Ardery?

7. What were some of the red herrings in the novel? Were there characters you suspected before the truth was unveiled?

8. Describe the author’s writing style. Why do you think the author switches between different perspectives and provides such rich, detailed descriptions of setting?

9. How do the two epigraphs resonate with the novel?

10. Who could the “she” in the title—The Punishment She Deserves—refer to?

From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews