The Regret Histories

The Regret Histories

by Joshua Poteat


View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


This powerful and provocative new installment of poetry is a recipient of the 2014 National Poetry Series Prize, as chosen by Campbell McGrath.

The National Poetry Series’s long tradition of promoting exceptional poetry from lesser-known poets delivers another outstanding collection of poetry by Joshua Poteat.

Through an investigation of the haunted spaces where history collides with the modern southern American landscape, The Regret Histories explores themes of ruin and nostalgia, our relationship to a collective past, and the extraordinary indifference of time to memory.

For thirty years, the National Poetry Series has discovered many new and emerging voices and has been instrumental in launching the careers of poets and writers such as Billy Collins, Mark Doty, Denis Johnson, Marie Howe, and Sherod Santos.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062412232
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 09/08/2015
Pages: 112
Product dimensions: 5.90(w) x 8.80(h) x 0.40(d)

About the Author

Joshua Poteat is the author of two full-length collections, Illustrating the Machine That Makes the World, published in the VQR Poetry Series, and Ornithologies, winner of the Anhinga Prize for Poetry, as well as three chapbooks, Meditations, which received the National Chapbook Award from the Poetry Society of America, For the Animal from Diagram/New Michigan Press, and The Scenery of Farewell from Diode. He lives in Richmond, Virginia.

Customer Reviews