The Return of Sherlock Holmes (Wisehouse Classics Edition - with original illustrations by Sidney Paget)

The Return of Sherlock Holmes (Wisehouse Classics Edition - with original illustrations by Sidney Paget)


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, June 24


The Return of Sherlock Holmes is a collection of 13 Sherlock Holmes stories, originally published in 1903-1904, by Arthur Conan Doyle. The stories were published in the Strand Magazine in Great Britain, and Collier's in the United States.

The book was first published in February 1905 by McClure, Phillips & Co. (New York) then on March 7, 1905 by Georges Newnes, Ltd. (London) and was the first Holmes collection since 1893, when Holmes had "died" in "The Final Problem". Having published The Hound of the Baskervilles in 1901–1902 (setting it before Holmes' death) Doyle came under intense pressure to revive his famous character.

The first story is set in 1894 and has Holmes returning in London and explaining the period from 1891–94, a period called “The Great Hiatus” by Sherlockian enthusiasts. Also of note is Watson's statement in the last story of the cycle that Holmes has retired, and forbids him to publish any more stories.

This edition by Wisehouse Classics includes all of the stories with the original illustrations by Sidney Paget.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9789176372593
Publisher: Wisehouse
Publication date: 09/27/2016
Pages: 232
Sales rank: 736,527
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.53(d)

About the Author

A prolific author of books, short stories, poetry, and more, the Scottish writer Sir Arthur Conan Doyle (1859-1930) is best known for the creation of one of literature’s most vivid and enduring characters: Sherlock Holmes. Through detailed observation, vast knowledge, and brilliant deduction, Holmes and his trusted friend, Dr. Watson, step into the swirling fog of Victorian London to rescue the innocent, confound the guilty, and solve the most perplexing puzzles known to literature.

Date of Birth:

May 22, 1859

Date of Death:

July 7, 1930

Place of Birth:

Edinburgh, Scotland

Place of Death:

Crowborough, Sussex, England


Edinburgh University, B.M., 1881; M.D., 1885

Table of Contents

1- The Adventure of the Empty House; 2-The Adventure of the Norwood Builder; 3-The Adventure of the Dancing Men; 4-The Adventure of the Solitary Cyclist; 5-The Adventure of the Priory School; 6-The Adventure of Black Peter; 7-The Adventure of Charles Augustus Milverton; 8-The Adventure of the Six Napoleons; 9-The Adventure of the Three Students; 10-The Adventure of the Golden Pince-Nez; 11-The Adventure of the Missing Three-Quarter; 12-The Adventure of the Abbey Grange; 13-The Adventure of the Second Stain

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Return of Sherlock Holmes Wisehouse Classics Edition - with original illustrations by Sidney Paget) 2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
SarahJo4110 More than 1 year ago