The Seeking Serum

The Seeking Serum

by Frank L. Cole

Hardcover

$16.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, February 19

Overview

The final adventure in the thrilling Potion Masters trilogy, which tells the story of a secret society of elixirists, B.R.E.W., whose members are responsible for most of the greatest inventions in history and who are battling a covert organization determined to overthrow the potion-making community and control the world.

Gordy’s grandfather, Mezzarix, who is a powerful, evil elixirist, stole the Vessel, the source of power for all potion masters. He fled to Florida to establish a headquarters, declare his manifesto—No More Prisons. No More Rulers. No More Secrets—and launch his final attack. Gordy, an apprentice elixirist, has been hiding in a safe house with his family and friends, but his mom has become increasingly concerned for their safety. Despite her worries, Gordy and his friends enter the underground network known as the Swigs, a haven for renegade potion masters and black-market potions to secure support in the fight against Mezzarix.

Scourges, the name given to potion masters imprisoned by B.R.E.W but who have recently been freed by Mezzarix, attack the Swigs, and Gordy barely escapes with this life. He has to leave his family behind. He heads to the house of his best friend, Max, where his other friends, Sasha and Adilene, join him in making a plan to help find Mezzarix’s secret location.

As the fight intensifies between B.R.E.W and the Scourges, it falls to Gordy and his friends to find Mezzarix and prevent him from corrupting the Vessel, which would plunge the world back into the Dark Ages. With some help from new friends, Gordy realizes it will take a new way of thinking about magic and the art of brewing potions in order to stop his grandfather, save the world, and unite the potion-making community.

The world of Potion Masters is full of fantasy and adventure as Gordy and his friends learn the power of friendship and loyalty, and to trust in their own individual talents.
 

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781629726069
Publisher: Shadow Mountain Publishing
Publication date: 01/07/2020
Series: Potion Masters Series , #3
Pages: 384
Sales rank: 420,485
Product dimensions: 5.30(w) x 7.90(h) x 1.40(d)
Age Range: 10 - 18 Years

About the Author

Frank L. Cole lives with his wife and three children in the Rocky Mountain West. When he’s not writing books, he’s selling them as a bookstore manager. Frank enjoys going to the movies and traveling. He is the author of nine books and has visited more than 120 schools, where he promotes reading and using your imagination. His philosophy is “With a good imagination, you can solve any problem you ever come up against in life!”

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Seeking Serum 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 6 reviews.
SSTALEY 3 months ago
The Potion Masters series has been great since the first book. You really need to read the first two books before this third book. You need to know these characters and be fully involved in order to understand the stakes involved here. Gordy is back, older and more experienced as an Elixirist and fledgling Potion Master. His grandfather Mezzarix is at war with potion masters and wants to expose them all to the world. The action in The Seeking Serum is almost non-stop. The potions made, and used throughout the book are bigger and better than before. I loved that not only does Gordy go through huge character development but so do his friends Max, Sasha, and Adilene. The humor is good like only Frank Cole can deliver. This series has been a wonderful mix of magic, adventure, friendship, loyalty, and of course potion-making. This book is ideal for kids 8-12 but this adult has loved reading this book and the others in the series. I highly recommend The Potion Masters series to families and those that love a good fantasy full of magic and excitement.
JBronder 21 days ago
I have to say that I can’t believe that this is the last book in the series. After sharing so many adventures with the kids I am reluctant to read this book for the simple fact that the story will be done. But we have traveled so far that I just had to make that things worked out and that the kids won in the end. Gordy and the B.R.E.W. crew are up against Mezzarix and other bad guys from previous books. Gordy and his family go into hiding but when they are attacked Gordy goes out on his own, separated from his family. I loved watching Gordy and the rest of the kids growing into young adults. There are tense moments and some great fight scenes to keep my quickly flipping pages to see what happens next. In the end this is a great series for middle-grade readers and up. There are several things that are great talking points with kids and just a great fantasy story for any age. Like I said, I’m sad to leave this series but I will definitely be rereading it several times and looking out for other books from Frank Cole. I received a complimentary copy of this book. I voluntarily chose to read and post an honest review.
BookwormLisa 22 days ago
The Seeking Serum is categorized as middle-grade fiction. I feel like it would appeal to anyone who loves a great adventure and lovable characters. This is the third book in a series. The whole series is well written and enjoyable. This book is the "icing on the cake." Gordy has an amazing talent. He brews potions that can do some pretty incredible things. His talent is unprecedented for one so young. He comes from a family of potion masters, in fact his grandfather is the evil mastermind who wants to take down the rules of the community and dominate the world. The book is told from several points of view. Gordy, his friends, and his grandfather. I loved seeing each of their thoughts and struggles. It brought the characters to life for me. The fantasy elements of the story are fun! Some kids who have unique talents turn into heroes and save the day from evil. It is sure to be a hit with young readers. This is a great conclusion to the trilogy. Make sure to read the books in order. It has been a while since I read the first two books and it took me a bit to get back into the world that Frank L. Cole created. Source: I received a complimentary copy. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own.
WishEnd 24 days ago
4.5 Stars THE SEEKING SERUM is an exciting conclusion to this series with plenty of danger and action as the characters try to save their world from chaos and destruction. Highly recommended to middle-grade fans! This series has just been a lot of fun! I felt like this last story was a great conclusion where the battles and fight has grown to somewhat epic proportions. The characters continued to grow on me and I enjoyed seeing how they faced new threats and challenges. There was plenty of action, but also friendship and family. Definitely a series I'd recommend. I had very few issues with this story. There were a few places where the drama was a little too much and where characters did things that didn't feel consistent, but there were only a couple of instances of this occurring. In the end, was it what I wished for? I thoroughly enjoyed reading this! It's pretty much non-stop action from beginning to end, making it a page-turning, exciting finish to the series. A fun and exciting series for fans of the genre. Content: Clean Source: I received a complimentary copy from the publisher, which did not require a positive review. All opinions are my own.
Kasey_Baril 29 days ago
**Disclaimer: I was given an e-ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.** I hadn't realized that when I requested a copy of the ARC for this book that it was the 3rd book in a series, so I came in not knowing anything. However, I found that I wasn't too lost when I started the story. Frank L. Cole does a good job explaining who the characters are and their importance to the story. Of course, reading the other books will help immensely, as well. :P The story is easy to follow and the writing keeps you turning the pages. Like Harry Potter, Frank L. Cole has funny and easy-to-remember names for spells, objects, and monsters. **Recommendations state this book and series are good reads for fans of J.K. Rowling and Rick Riordan and that I agree!
lynguy1 3 months ago
THE SEEKING SERUM by Frank L. Cole is the third and final book in the Middle grade children’s fantasy Potion Masters series. I rated this one 3.5 stars and rounded down to 3 stars. The only reason that I rounded it down is that this is the only book in the series that I have read and I was completely lost in the beginning of the book. There are terms and categories of people that are unique to this fantasy world that were not initially apparent. As the book goes on, the reader gains the necessary knowledge, but it was somewhat bewildering to someone that had not read books one and two. Our main protagonist is Gordy Stitser, an eighth-grade student with the ability to make potions. He and his family are hiding since his evil grandfather stole the Vessel which is the source of power for all potion masters. So, this is a fight of good versus evil with Gordy and his school friends playing major roles in the effort for good. The plot is interesting and the goals of the characters are clear. Their interactions and motivations are believable and well-drawn. The battle scenes are described well and are mind-boggling. The scenes progress in a compelling manner with effective transitions. Overall, this book was unique and interesting and I enjoyed it. The mechanical inventions and potions not only played a major role in the story, but were original and even somewhat strange. I would definitely recommend this book to those that enjoy this genre with the caveat that they read the series in order. Thanks to Shadow Mountain Publishing and Frank L. Cole for a digital ARC of this novel via NetGalley and the opportunity to provide an honest review. Opinions are mine alone and are not biased in any way.