Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
The Stepping Stone Cycle: The Complete Season 1

The Stepping Stone Cycle: The Complete Season 1

by Gary Ballard
The Stepping Stone Cycle: The Complete Season 1

The Stepping Stone Cycle: The Complete Season 1

by Gary Ballard


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, February 3


In 2013, Gary Ballard introduced the world to Dr. Jack Carter, a forensic psychologist specializing in FBI cases involving serial killers. Returning from a fugue state, Jack learns that his wife, Sarah, has disappeared and he is the prime suspect in the case. Jack's memory of their disappearance is a blank slate, and he has vowed to find her alive or dead, and to clear his name. Over the course of six novellas, Jack has relentlessly searched for her, finding only more questions at every step. Who is the mysterious Sleeper that calls to those damaged souls who commit savage, ritualistic murders? What are the strange runes that appear at all the crime scenes, despite the perpetrators having no contact with each other? Who or what is the entity Bob speaking to Jack through other people, claiming to know what happened to Sarah Carter? Who is the dreaded Cthulhu, the mysterious being who sleeps dreaming of death in his lost prison city of R'lyeh?

Take a journey through space and time, sanity and mystery, through the six novellas of the critically-acclaimed Stepping Stone Cycle, compiled here in one volume. A modern-day retelling of the Cthulhu Mythos created by H.P. Lovecraft, the Cycle is an exploration of one man's descent into madness set against the backdrop of cosmic horror.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781987070828
Publisher: Barnes & Noble Press
Publication date: 05/11/2019
Series: The Stepping Stone Cycle , #1
Pages: 552
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 1.12(d)

About the Author

At the age of eleven, Mr. Ballard began creating his own fictional worlds and inhabiting those worlds with eccentric characters. As an artist, graphic designer, web site designer, musician and author, he has spent decades enumerating a unique evolving vision of an absurd universe. His first four novels comprise a cyberpunk series called The Bridge Chronicles starring the amoral fixer of future Los Angeles, Artemis Bridge. The Bridge Chronicles in turn is one slice of cohesive universe that began as a pen-and-paper roleplaying game. Gary has also released a series of novellas based on the Cthulhu Mythos made famous by H.P. Lovecraft called The Stepping Stone Cycle. The final two books of the series have just been released. In addition, he has written two unsold screenplays based on the Bridge Chronicles series, and plans to adapt The Stepping Stone Cycle for television.

Mr. Ballard currently lives with his wife and dogs in the capitol of Mississippi, Jackson, where he continues to write, blog, compose music and play video games.

Customer Reviews