The Sweet Pain of Being Alive

The Sweet Pain of Being Alive

by Ann Anderson Evans
The Sweet Pain of Being Alive

The Sweet Pain of Being Alive

by Ann Anderson Evans


    Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


In the highly anticipated sequel to her award-winning memoir, Daring to Date Again (She Writes Press, 2014), The Sweet Pain of Being Alive is the second in Ann Anderson Evans's memoir trilogy. It follows her heartbreaking journey as she seeks to uncover why her beloved husband killed himself. As her agonizing search deepens, her views on gender, sex, marriage, right, wrong, good, and bad start to shift.

"Ann Anderson Evans is a fearless, fierce, divine, and wise woman who has dared to take a huge bite from Eve's apple and has the guts to share the insights, fights, and delights she has met head-on."

- M.J. McDermott, Emmy award-winning broadcaster.

"This book reveals a widow's gut-wrenching process of scrutiny. In the aftermath of her beloved's suicide, Ann Anderson Evans asks the questions all suicide survivors must ask: Why? Was his life really so bad? How could I have saved him? Futilely searching for answers to this inexplicable tragedy, Ann has beautifully, painfully dissected her relationship, her husband's life, and his enduring struggles with depression and transgenderism. Ann is left to find acceptance and peace on her own. This is compelling reading."

- Leslie Hilburn Fabian, Author of My Husband's a Woman Now: A Shared Journey of Transition and Love.

"'People are not always, maybe not ever, what they seem, ' writes Ann Anderson Evans. She thought she knew her husband Terry. What she didn't know - the secret he only partially shared and his anguish about not claiming his authentic self - led him to suicide. 'This book is stark, unflinching, intensely personal, and powerfully written. I loved the book, and I'm grateful to Ann Anderson Evans for having the courage to write it.'"

- Joan Price, author of Sex After Grief: Navigating Your Sexuality After Losing Your Beloved.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9798889104049
Publisher: Austin Macauley
Publication date: 01/05/2024
Pages: 184
Product dimensions: 6.14(w) x 9.21(h) x 0.39(d)

About the Author

Ann Evans is a writer, linguist, and professor. Twice a wife and once a widow, she's a mother and grandmother. She has traveled and lived in many countries and speaks six languages.

Her first book, DARING TO DATE AGAIN (SheWrites Press, 2014) won multiple prizes for memoir. Her story, Precious Love was nominated for a Pushcart Prize. Other short stories have been published in Entropy, The Opiate, Pulse, Phantasmagoria, Forge, Under the Sun, Ozone Park Journal, Phoebe, The Raven's Perch, Words & Images, Pedagogy, and Better Than Starbucks. Ann has appeared on television, radio, and podcasts, with appearances on The Discovery Channel's Sex in America special, NPR's Author's Corner, The Author's Show, ArtistFirst, KGUA, Gualala, California, JenningsWire, Beyond Fifty Radio: Daniel Davis, Kim Power Stilson, Donna Seebo Show, and The Michael Dresser Show.

She shares her experiences and insights using a well-traveled lifetime and a sense of humor and joy. She lives in Vermont.

Ann can be found at

From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews