The Tethered Mage

The Tethered Mage

by Melissa Caruso

Paperback

$14.49 $15.99 Save 9% Current price is $14.49, Original price is $15.99. You Save 9%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details

Overview

The first book in a spellbinding fantasy trilogy for fans of The Queen of the Tearling and The Red Queen, where two young women — a mage with coveted powers, and the scion of a powerful family — are magically bound in service to the Empire.

Magic is scarce in the Raverran Empire, and those born with such powers are strictly controlled — taken as children and conscripted into the Falcon army, to be used as weapons in times of war.

Zaira has lived her life on the streets to avoid this fate, hiding her mage mark and thieving to survive. But hers is a rare and dangerous magic, one that threatens the entire Empire.

Lady Amalia Cornaro was never meant to be a Falconer. Heiress and scholar, she was born into a treacherous world of political machinations.

But fate has bound the heir and the mage. And as war looms on the horizon, a single spark could turn their city into a pyre.

The Tethered Mage is the first novel in Caruso's debut series, Swords and Fire.

The Swords and Fire series
The Tethered Mage
The Defiant Heir
The Unbound Empire

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780316466875
Publisher: Orbit
Publication date: 10/24/2017
Series: Swords and Fire Series , #1
Pages: 480
Sales rank: 142,970
Product dimensions: 5.40(w) x 8.20(h) x 1.30(d)

About the Author

Melissa Caruso was born on the summer solstice and went to school in an old mansion with a secret door, but despite this auspicious beginning has yet to develop any known superpowers. Melissa has spent her whole life creating imaginary worlds, and in addition to writing is also an avid LARPer and tabletop gamer.

She graduated with honors in Creative Writing from Brown University and has an MFA in Fiction from the University of Massachusetts Amherst. Melissa's first novel, The Tethered Mage, was shortlisted for a Gemmell Morningstar award for best fantasy debut.

Customer Reviews