The Water Will Come: Rising Seas, Sinking Cities, and the Remaking of the Civilized World

The Water Will Come: Rising Seas, Sinking Cities, and the Remaking of the Civilized World

by Jeff Goodell

Paperback(Reprint)

$16.19 $17.99 Save 10% Current price is $16.19, Original price is $17.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Use Standard Shipping. For guaranteed delivery by December 24, use Express or Expedited Shipping.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780316260206
Publisher: Little, Brown and Company
Publication date: 08/07/2018
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 352
Sales rank: 58,548
Product dimensions: 5.40(w) x 8.20(h) x 1.10(d)

About the Author

Jeff Goodell is a contributing editor at Rolling Stone and the author of five books, including How to Cool the Planet: Geoengineering and the Audacious Quest to Fix Earth's Climate, which won the 2011 Grantham Prize Award of Special Merit. Goodell's previous books include Sunnyvale, a memoir about growing up in Silicon Valley, which was a New York Times Notable Book, and Big Coal: The Dirty Secret Behind America's Energy Future.

Table of Contents

Prologue: Atlantis 5

1 The Oldest Story Ever Told 15

2 Living with Noah 31

3 New Climate Land 49

4 Air Force One 74

5 Real Estate Roulette 89

6 The Ferrari on the Seafloor 116

7 Walled Cities 145

8 Island States 165

9 Weapon of Mass Destruction 190

10 Climate Apartheid 213

11 Miami Is Drowning 233

12 The Long Goodbye 261

Epilogue: Condo Diving 290

Acknowledgments 299

Notes 303

Selected Bibliography 327

Index 331

What People are Saying About This

Senator - Sheldon Whitehouse

“Sea level rise is coming. We know this as clearly as we know thermometer measurements, the melting point of ice, and the law of thermal expansion. Jeff Goodell’s book cuts through the fossil-fuel lies, and is a warning I hope we heed while there’s still time.”

author of United States of Jihad, and Manhunt: The Ten-Year Search for bin Laden - Peter Bergen

"In the tradition of Rachel Caron's Silent Spring and Elizabeth Kolbert's The Sixth Extiction, Jeff Goodell has written a deeply reported and very well written account of how rising sea levels are reshaping our world. Goodell has traveled seemingly everywhere that helps illuminate this profound shift from Greenland to Venice to Norfolk, Virginia to the Netherlands to Miami and he has written a powerful call to arms that is never preachy but is a very timely reminder that we ignore how climate change is raising sea levels only at great risk to our way of life."

John F. Kerry

"Jeff Goodell's latest contribution to the environmental cause paints an eye-opening portrait of humankind's dilemma as temperatures – and sea levels – continue to rise. The Water Will Come brings together compelling anecdotes from all over the globe and shocking expert assessments that should make the world's few remaining skeptics reconsider. Read this book for a reminder of the stakes – right now, today – and why we have to work harder, faster, to address the climate challenge.”

author of The World in 2050 - Laurence C. Smith

"Even if we could halt further growth in greenhouse gas emissions today, we would remain locked into several centuries of sea level rise ahead. Jeff Goodell's THE WATER WILL COME shows us how this stark truth will unfold, right down to individual human experiences."

Pulitzer Prize-winning and New York Times bestselling author of The Sixth Extinction - Elizabeth Kolbert

"Jeff Goodell has taken on some of the most important issues of our time, from coal mining to geoengineering. In The Water Will Come, he explains the threat of sea level rise with characteristic rigor and intelligence. The result is at once deeply persuasive and deeply unsettling."

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Water Will Come: Rising Seas, Sinking Cities, and the Remaking of the Civilized World 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
cllhnstev More than 1 year ago