The Whole Art of Detection: Lost Mysteries of Sherlock Holmes

The Whole Art of Detection: Lost Mysteries of Sherlock Holmes

by Lyndsay Faye


$22.76 $25.00 Save 9% Current price is $22.76, Original price is $25. You Save 9%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Friday, October 26  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.
    Same Day shipping in Manhattan. 
    See Details


The Whole Art of Detection: Lost Mysteries of Sherlock Holmes by Lyndsay Faye

Internationally bestselling author Lyndsay Faye was introduced to the Sherlock Holmes mysteries when she was ten years old and her dad suggested she read Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s short story “The Adventure of the Speckled Band.” She immediately became enamored with tales of Holmes and his esteemed biographer Dr. John Watson, and later, began spinning these quintessential characters into her own works of fiction—from her acclaimed debut novel, Dust and Shadow , which pitted the famous detective against Jack the Ripper, to a series of short stories for the Strand Magazine , whose predecessor published the very first Sherlock Holmes short story in 1891.

Faye’s best Holmes tales, including two new works, are brought together in The Whole Art of Detection , a stunning collection that spans Holmes’s career, from self-taught young upstart to publicly lauded detective, both before and after his faked death over a Swiss waterfall in 1894. In “The Lowther Park Mystery,” the unsociable Holmes is forced to attend a garden party at the request of his politician brother and improvises a bit of theater to foil a conspiracy against the government. “The Adventure of the Thames Tunnel” brings Holmes’s attention to the baffling murder of a jewel thief in the middle of an underground railway passage. With Holmes and Watson encountering all manner of ungrateful relatives, phony psychologists, wronged wives, plaid-garbed villains, and even a peculiar species of deadly red leech, The Whole Art of Detection is a must-read for Sherlockians and any fan of historical crime fiction with a modern sensibility.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780802125927
Publisher: Grove/Atlantic, Inc.
Publication date: 03/07/2017
Pages: 388
Sales rank: 600,740
Product dimensions: 6.40(w) x 9.00(h) x 1.40(d)

About the Author

Lyndsay Faye is the author of five critically acclaimed books: Dust and Shadow , The Gods of Gotham , which was nominated for the Edgar Award for Best Novel, Seven for a Secret , The Fatal Flame , and Jane Steele. Faye, a true New Yorker in the sense that she was born elsewhere, lives in New York City with her husband, Gabriel.

Table of Contents

Part I Before Baker Street

The Case of Colonel Warburton's Madness 3

The Adventure of the Magical Menagerie 24

The Adventure of the Vintners Codex 45

Part II The Early Years

The Adventure of the Honest Wife 67

The Adventure of the Beggar's Feast 92

Memoranda upon the Gaskell Blackmailing Dilemma 113

The Lowther Park Mystery 131

Part III The Return

An Empty House 155

The Adventure of the Memento Mori 174

Notes Regarding the Disappearance of Mr. James Phillimore 199

The Adventure of the Willow Basket 221

Part IV The Later Years

The Adventure of the Lightless Maiden 247

The Adventure of the Thames Tunnel 267

The Adventure of the Mad Baritone 297

Notes upon the Diadem Club Affair 328

Acknowledgments 349

Credits 351

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews