Three Plays After: The Yalta Game; The Bear; Afterplay

Three Plays After: The Yalta Game; The Bear; Afterplay

by Brian Friel

Paperback(First Edition)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 17


Brian Friel explores the most Chekhovian of themes in his three new works inspired by the great Russian dramatist: the absurd realm which lies between perpetual hope and a penchant for self-destruction. Whether exploring the loneliness of an unhappy marriage (in The Yalta Game, based on Chekhov's story The Lady with the Lapdog), or imagining the bittersweet meeting of Sonya (Uncle Vanya's niece) and Andrei (the brother of a certain three sisters) in a new work inspired by characters from two Chekhov plays, Friel shows his own masterful range.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780571217618
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Publication date: 12/03/2003
Series: Faber Plays
Edition description: First Edition
Pages: 128
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.29(d)

About the Author

Brian Friel was born in Omagh, Co. Tyrone, in 1929. His plays include Philadelphia, Here I Come!, The Loves of Cass Maguire, Lovers, Freedom of the City, Volunteers, Living Quarters, Faith Healer, Dancing at Lughnasa, The Communication Cord, and Translations. In 1980 he founded the touring theatre company, Field Day, with Stephen Rea.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews