Through the Looking-Glass, and What Alice Found There

Through the Looking-Glass, and What Alice Found There

by Lewis Carroll


View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Through the Looking-Glass Alice's Adventures in Wonderland (1871) is the sequel to (1865). Set some six months later than the earlier book, Alice again enters a fantastical world, this time by climbing through a mirror into the world that she can see beyond it. The novel includes several much celebrated verses and episodes and enjoys everlasting popularity.
Книги на английском языке #ReadEnglish

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9785521001569
Publisher: KPT
Publication date: 06/03/2020
Pages: 118
Product dimensions: 5.83(w) x 8.27(h) x 0.28(d)
Age Range: 7 - 18 Years

About the Author

Charles Lutwidge Dodgson (1832-1898), better known by his pen name Lewis Carroll, published Alice's Adventures in Wonderland in 1865 and its sequel, Through the Looking-Glass, and What Alice Found There, in 1871. Considered a master of the genre of literary nonsense, he is renowned for his ingenious wordplay and sense of logic, and his highly original vision.

Sir John Tenniel briefly attended the Royal Academy Schools, but for the most part he was a self taught artist. His illustrations appeared regularly in Punch, but it was the Alice books that confirmed his international reputation as an illustrator. Tenniel was knighted in 1893.

Peter Glassman is the owner of Books of Wonder, the New York City bookstore and publisher specializing in new and old imaginative books for children. He is also the editor of the Books of Wonder Classics, a series of deluxe facsimiles and newly illustrated editions of timeless tales. And he is the author of The Wizard Next Door, illustrated by Steven Kellogg. Mr. Glassman lives in New York City.

Date of Birth:

January 27, 1832

Date of Death:

January 14, 1898

Place of Birth:

Daresbury, Cheshire, England

Place of Death:

Guildford, Surrey, England


Richmond School, Christ Church College, Oxford University, B.A., 1854; M.A., 1857

Table of Contents

Story Introduction i
The Game of Chess viii
Looking-glass house
The garden of live flowers
Looking-glass animals
Tweedledum and Tweedledee
The White Queen
Humpty Dumpty
The Lion and the Unicorn
The White Knight
Queen Alice
Who dreamed it?
Glossary 58(2)
Activities: Before Reading 60(1)
Activities: While Reading 61(3)
Activities: After Reading 64(4)
About the Author 68(1)
About the Worms 69

Customer Reviews