Treading Water at the Shark Café: A Memoir of the Yugoslav Wars

Treading Water at the Shark Café: A Memoir of the Yugoslav Wars

by Lyndon Back


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, November 16

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781941799574
Publisher: Pen & Publish
Publication date: 07/03/2018
Pages: 248
Sales rank: 1,035,082
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.56(d)

About the Author

Lyndon Back graduated from State University of New York at Oneonta in 1968. She then moved with her husband and three children to Vicenza, Italy, where she taught English as a Second Language. She has a CELTA/TESOL certificate from the School of International Training in Brattleboro, Vermont. In 1979, Lyn received a master's in public administration from State University of New York at Albany. Her competency in Serbo-Croatian was earned at the Akbukum Language School in Novi Sad, Serbia.

In 1998, Lyn left her job as director of planned giving at the American Friends Service Committee to volunteer with the Balkan Peace Teams in Belgrade, Serbia, and Prishtina, Kosovo. She was one of only a few American women to live and work in the former Yugoslavia before, during, and after the NATO bombing. Lyn lives in suburban Philadelphia. Her experiences in the Balkans continue to influence her writing. Her poems, essays, and short stories have appeared in numerous literary journals. Lyn is a member of Old Haverford Monthly Meeting (Quakers).

Table of Contents


Part One: Way Opens

1. Things Fall Apart

2. Out of Harm’s Way

3. Emira

4. Young and Far from Home

5. Eldar and Sejad

6. Dunja

7. Clearness

Part Two: Witness

8. Open Eyes

9. Kosovo

10. Tuzla, Bosnia

11. The Road to Sarajevo

12. Sarajevo

13. Jajce

14. Mostar

15. The Shark Café

16. Synchronicity

17. Gathering Courage

Part Three: Behind Enemy Lines

18. Initiation

19. Breathe

20. Out of the Spotlight and Under the Radar

21. Drum Beats

22. Good News at Last

23. European Odyssey

24. Undertow

25. Fear Rising

26. Bombardment

27. Survivors’ List

28. The Circle Isn’t Round

Chronology of Events

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews