Turning: The Magic and Mystery of More Days

Turning: The Magic and Mystery of More Days

by Becky Blue
Turning: The Magic and Mystery of More Days

Turning: The Magic and Mystery of More Days

by Becky Blue


    Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


"What is it about birthdays—especially those that end in zero?"
The anticipation of her sixtieth birthday motivated Becky Blue to delve into the magic and mystery of her own "more days." Could she free herself from the world's well-worn view of aging and instead embrace a fresh outlook, full of surprises and serendipity? Could she leave the worry and find the wonder?

Turning follows Blue as she sets sail on her own aging journey and challenges readers of all ages to follow in her wake. Drawing on the author's faith and experience as a geriatric nurse, this conversational memoir encourages readers to blow out their birthday candles with positivity. Read it with a friend, with a book club, or with a pen and paper (or all of the above), and discover the secret to welcoming, rather than dreading, the turning of the years.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781637550557
Publisher: Mascot Books
Publication date: 11/01/2022
Pages: 184
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.40(h) x 0.70(d)

About the Author

Becky Blue caught the writing bug as a bell bottom-wearing high schooler, and she's been putting pen to paper ever since. A professional career in geriatric and faith-community nursing only strengthened that passion, as her work sharpened her skills as a writer, teaching her to observe, listen, and question. Now, in retirement, the connections between health and faith have appeared on her blog, "Made with Words."

Turning: The Magic and Mystery of More Days is Becky's second book, following Made with Words: Stories and Recipes from a Kitchen Wall, a 2018 cookbook inspired by her love of gathering friends and family in her kitchen. Becky experiences the magic and mystery of more days with her husband, Dan, in South Dakota, where the couple raised their four children.

Table of Contents

Introduction 1

Chapter 1 Let's Begin Together 5

Chapter 2 Where Did You Learn to Age? 11

Chapter 3 Culture 21

Chapter 4 Activity vs. Rest 29

Chapter 5 The Power of a Scoop of Water 41

Chapter 6 Do You Hear What I Hear? 49

Chapter 7 Ears Open and Head Up 57

Chapter 8 The Wonder Years 63

Chapter 9 Fear or Trust 69

Chapter 10 Invisible 77

Chapter 11 Let Yourself Be Surprised! 83

Chapter 12 Grief and Loss 91

Chapter 13 Sketching Joy 99

Chapter 14 Flowers and Wild Forgiveness 105

Chapter 15 Daily Bread and Butter 111

Chapter 16 Relationships 117

Chapter 17 Stay Clever and Curious 125

Chapter 18 Generativity 131

Chapter 19 You Are Timeless 139

Chapter 20 Be a Mountain Goat 147

Commencement 155

Suggestions for Using Turning with a Group 159

Endnotes 163

Acknowledgments 173

From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews