Paperback

$11.49 $12.99 Save 12% Current price is $11.49, Original price is $12.99. You Save 12%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, May 12

Overview

Notes From Your Bookseller

Just as they are starting sixth grade, twins Maureen and Francine begin to drift apart. While their rift is fueled by newfound interests, friendships and a school election, the twins ultimately learn the power of both sisterhood and independence. This pitch-perfect coming-of-age graphic novel is a must-read for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Terri Libenson, with bright artwork that is sure to catch the eye of any young reader.

Coretta Scott King Honor author Varian Johnson teams up with rising cartoonist Shannon Wright for a delightful middle-grade graphic novel!

Maureen and Francine Carter are twins and best friends. They participate in the same clubs, enjoy the same foods, and are partners on all their school projects. But just before the girls start sixth grade, Francine becomes Fran -- a girl who wants to join the chorus, run for class president, and dress in fashionable outfits that set her apart from Maureen. A girl who seems happy to share only two classes with her sister!Maureen and Francine are growing apart and there's nothing Maureen can do to stop it. Are sisters really forever? Or will middle school change things for good?

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781338236132
Publisher: Scholastic, Inc.
Publication date: 10/06/2020
Pages: 256
Sales rank: 1,380
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 7.90(h) x 0.80(d)
Lexile: GN360L (what's this?)
Age Range: 8 - 12 Years

About the Author

Varian Johnson is the author of several novels for children and young adults, including The Parker Inheritance, for which he won a Coretta Scott King Honor award; The Great Greene Heist, which was an ALA Notable Children's Book, a Kirkus Reviews Best Book of 2014, and a Texas Library Association Lone Star List selection; and To Catch a Cheat, another Jackson Greene adventure and a Kids' Indie Next List pick. He lives with his family near Austin, Texas. You can find him online at varianjohnson.com.



Shannon Wright is an illustrator and cartoonist based in Richmond, Virginia. She has illustrated two picture books, My Mommy Medicine by Edwidge Danticat and I’m Gonna Push Through by Jasmyn Wright. She also provided the cover art for Betty Before X by Ilyasah Shabazz and Renée Watson, and Strange Birds: A Field Guide to Ruffling Feathers by Celia C. Pérez. Shannon graduated with a BFA from Virginia Commonwealth University, where she co-teaches a comics course during the summer. To learn more, visit her online at shannon-wright.com.

Customer Reviews