Vengeance Is Mine: The Mountain Meadows Massacre and Its Aftermath

Vengeance Is Mine: The Mountain Meadows Massacre and Its Aftermath

Vengeance Is Mine: The Mountain Meadows Massacre and Its Aftermath

Vengeance Is Mine: The Mountain Meadows Massacre and Its Aftermath


    Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, March 5
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


The long-awaited follow-up to the groundbreaking Massacre at Mountain Meadows

Published in 2008, Massacre at Mountain Meadows was a bombshell of a book, revealing the story of one of the grimmest episodes in Latter-day Saint history, when settlers in southwestern Utah slaughtered more than 100 members of a California-bound wagon train in 1857. In this much-anticipated sequel, Richard E. Turley Jr. and Barbara Jones Brown examine the aftermath of this atrocity.

Vengeance Is Mine documents southern Utah leaders' attempts to cover up their crime by silencing witnesses and spreading lies. Investigations by both governmental and church bodies were stymied by stonewalling and political wrangling. While nine men were eventually indicted, five were captured and only one, John D. Lee, was executed.

The book examines the maneuvering of the defense and prosecution in Lee's two trials, the second ending in Lee's conviction. Turley and Brown explore the fraught relationship between Lee and church president Brigham Young, and assess what role, if any, Young played in the cover-up. And they trace the fates of the other perpetrators, including the harrowing end of Nephi Johnson, who screamed "Blood! Blood! Blood!" in his delirium as he was dying, more than sixty years after the massacre.

Turley and Brown also tell the story of the massacre's few survivors: seventeen children who witnessed the slaughter and eventually returned to Arkansas, where the ill-fated wagon train originated.

Vengeance Is Mine brings the hitherto untold story of this shameful episode in Mormon and Utah history to its dramatic conclusion.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780195397857
Publisher: Oxford University Press
Publication date: 05/30/2023
Pages: 520
Sales rank: 263,845
Product dimensions: 9.30(w) x 6.30(h) x 1.50(d)

About the Author

Richard E. Turley Jr. was a long-time historian for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in Salt Lake City, Utah, and a co-author of Massacre at Mountain Meadows. He is the recipient of numerous awards, including the American Historical Association's Herbert Feis Award and the Historic Preservation Medal from the Daughters of the American Revolution. Turley also represented relatives of the Mountain Meadows Massacre victims in their successful petition of the federal government to grant National Historic Landmark status for the atrocity site.

Barbara Jones Brown is the director of Signature Books Publishing and former executive director of the Mormon History Association. She also provided content editing for Massacre at Mountain Meadows. She holds an M.A. in American history from the University of Utah and a B.A. in journalism and English from Brigham Young University. While researching her genealogy after beginning work on Vengeance Is Mine, Brown discovered that, like the earlier Mountain Meadows Massacre historian, Juanita Brooks, she is a direct descendant of one of its perpetrators.

Table of Contents

1. The Angel of Peace Should Extend His Wings
2. Sermons Like Pitch Forks
3. Imposed Upon No More
4. Too Late
5. Forget Everything
6. The Sound of War
7. An Awful Tale of Blood
8. Indians Hostile to All Strangers
9. The Spirit of the Times
10. A Lion in the Path
11. Make the Mormons Pay
12. Fearful Calamities
13. Peacefully Submitting
14. The Moment Is Critical
15. Make All Inquiry
16. Join the Know Nothings
17. A Line of Policy
18. An Inquisition
19. Bring to Light the Perpetrators
20. Nothing But Evasive Replies
21. Make Diligent Inquiry
22. Approach of the Troops
23. Catching Is Before Hanging
24. Precious Legacies from the Departed Ones
25. Unwilling to Rest Under the Stigma
26. The Course Adopted Will Not Prove Successful
27. Vengeance is Mine
28. In the Midst of a Desolating War
29. Too Horrible to Contemplate
30. Cut Off
31. Boiling Conditions
32. Zeal O'erleaped Itself
33. The Time Has Come
34. Do You Plead Guilty
35. Open the Ball
36. Make a Clean Breast of It
37. A Lively Skirmish
38. The Curtain Has Fallen
39. Coerce Me to Make a Statement
40. Mr. Howard Gives Promise
41. The Responsibility Before You
42. Sufficient to Warrant a Verdict
43. The Demands of Justice
44. Allow the Law to Take Its Course
45. Under Sentence of Death
46. Failure to Arrest These Men
47. Haunted

From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews