Voices of the Grieving Heart

Voices of the Grieving Heart

by Mike Bernhardt (Editor)

Paperback(2nd ed.)

Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, July 30


When Mike Bernhardt's wife died, he turned to writing poetry as a tool of healing. He later solicited the poetry of other people whose loved ones had died, receiving hundreds of submissions from around the world. The result was Voices of the Grieving Heart, first published in 1994. More than just an anthology, it is a companion on the darkest road many of us will ever have to travel: grieving the death of someone we loved.

This new, expanded edition contains over 160 selected poems, essays, and images by 83 contributors who share their journeys through loss, grief, and transformation, including:

  • Deaths due to suicide, miscarriage, COVID-19, and other causes
  • Reflections on grief, 30 years later, from first-edition contributors
  • Prompts and blank pages for readers to add their own poetry

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780964281011
Publisher: Cypress Point Press
Publication date: 04/05/2021
Edition description: 2nd ed.
Pages: 304
Sales rank: 460,664
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.64(d)

About the Author

Mike Bernhardt is an award-winning writer whose work has appeared in many print and online publications. He grew up in New York City, where he wrote poetry and kept a journal throughout his teenage years. He moved to the San Francisco Bay Area when he was nineteen and was working as an electrician when he met his first wife, Susan, in 1983.

In the years after Susan's death in 1991, Mike published the first edition of Voices of the Grieving Heart, met and married his second wife, Yvonne, and began a career in information technology. He retired in 2016 and began writing again. Mike and Yvonne raised a son and still reside in the San Francisco Bay Area, where they currently live with their two cats.

Table of Contents

Front Matter

An Important Note to the Reader


Preface to the Second Edition

Foreword by John Fox


Voices (invocation)


Someone Died Today

The Raging Storm


But You Elude Me

The Garden of Dreams

Begin to Heal

The Breath of Great Spirit

Time Passes

Courage to Write

Back Matter

Artwork Credits

About the Contributors

About John Fox

About Mike Bernhardt

Customer Reviews