Waiting for the Laird

Waiting for the Laird

by Willa Blair

NOOK Book(eBook)

$3.99

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Product Details

BN ID: 2940157148775
Publisher: The Wild Rose Press
Publication date: 10/19/2016
Series: Ghost Stories/Halloween
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 196
Sales rank: 60,995
File size: 250 KB

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Waiting for the Laird 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
MusicInPrint More than 1 year ago
Scottish Castle renovations reveal treasure, answers to heredity, and a guardian ghost. Lara's husband had a dream of moving his wife and twins from California to a historical castle. As the uncertainty of life presents itself the death of her husband leaves Lara with herself and children in a foreign keep in need of major repairs. Hiring contractor Ian Paterson presents secrets and romance to Lara. Quick read with a unique visitor. "A copy of this book was presented by The Wild Rose Press via Netgalley with no requirements for a review. I voluntarily read and the comments here are my honest opinion."
Martina_TheMysteryCorner More than 1 year ago
Lara, her husband and her twin daughter and son decided to buy a house in a small village in Scotland and reformed it. Unfortunately, in a trip back to the US, the husband, Angus, died unexpectedly. With the loss still fresh Lara decides that the best thing for her and her children is to go back to Scotland and finish the reforms in the house. To help with the construction and the reforms she hires Ian Paterson, a Scottish and handsome man who is interested in the house history and his connection to his own family and his new boss. Add to the mix a bit of history and a ghost and you have a charming and romantic read. ‘We never had a chance to say goodbye. The thought always made her chest feel like hollowed-out shell, dry, brittle and ready to shatter into a thousand pieces’ Beautiful setting When I read that the book was set in Scotland I decided to pick it up. It captures perfectly the rhythm and the life style of a small village. I liked the paranormal and the history element that was added to the story. I think it merged perfectly with the pace without overtaking it, as the romance was still the main focused. Slow burning and heartfelt romance The best part was the interactions between Lara and Ian. You can feel their attraction and the sparks raising as well as their reluctance to take a step on it, each for different reasons. It is described in a way that wants you to know more without being corny. Second chances in life This is a wonderful book about love and loss. It describes perfectly the stages of loss (the denial, the acceptance…) and how it affects each one in a different way and how we try to overcome it. I couldn’t help but feel sorry and sad for Lara when she was remembering or talking about her late husband. But in a way, it also tells you that time heals and that life brings second and third chances you just need to take them. ‘Lately, the strength of her yearning for him was beginning to fade, and although she supposed that was another step in the grieving process, it unsettled her’
InspirationalAngel531 More than 1 year ago
Title: Waiting For The Laird Author: Willa Blair Published: 10-19-2016 Publisher: The Wild Rose Press Pages: 196 Genre: Romance Sub Genre: Holidays; Ghosts; Paranormal ISBN: 13-978-1509210701 ASIN: B01K5B7L3M Reviewer: DelAnne Reviewed For: NetGalley My Rating: 4.5 Stars I received a copy of Waiting For The Laird from NetGalley and the publisher in exchange for my honest review. . Lara MacLaren, a recent widow, has hired Ian Patterson, an architect to help her remodel the Scottish Manor she and Angus started converting into an Inn before his death. Ian jumps at the opportunity to get inside Cairn Dubh Manor to search for evidence of his rightful claim as heir to the estate and clan. As the two work together their relationship evolves and Ian soon fears his secrets cost him his relationship with Lara and her twins, Amy and Alexander. Is finding the evidence worth the cost of their future happiness? This is a must read for anyone who enjoys Scottish history based romances. Willa Blair shows readers her talent of holding a reader captivated from the very beginning. She lets her relationship between the characters to evolve at a believable pace. Her characters are multidimensional and likeable. The plot is intriguing and the story flows smoothly and quickly. My rating is 4.5 out of 5 stars.
MyBookAddictionandMore More than 1 year ago
Waiting for the Laird by Willa Blair is yet another fantastic Scottish Romance by this author! I adore her storytelling and was not disappointed in this intricately woven tale. This is the story of young widow, Lara MacLaren and Ian Paterson, the handsome artitect she hires to help renovate her Scottish Inn, and Lara's mischievous young nine year old twins, Amy and Alexander. Set amidst the Scottish Cairn Dubh Manor. Steady paced with engaging characters and a uniquely intriguing storyline. Filled with secrets, a ghost, possibly, Scottish artifacts, Jacobite treasures, ancestry, second chances, romance and love. A fun, heartwarming love story, that will capture readers hearts and hold them glued to the pages of this fabulous Scottish read. Lara's twins are a priceless addition to a magnificent story! Ian is afraid if he reveals his secret, he has an ancestry claim to the Manor, but will he lose Lara, her twins and the chance for a HEA and a family? Or will it destroy their budding romance? Can Ian convince Lara he loves her and the twins, that they're his future, or lose all he holds dear? A magnificent story from start to finish! Willa Blair is a fantastic Scottish Romance storyteller! A must read for fans of Scottish Romance, Scottish history, and a delicious romance. Ms. Blair has a way of holding readers attention and capturing their hearts! A most enjoyable and satisfying Scottish Romance! I received a complimentary copy. Rating: 4.5 Heat rating: Mild Reviewed by: AprilR
Mirabelle8 More than 1 year ago
Willa Blair has outdone herself! I just finished reading Waiting for the Laird, written by Willa Blair. This author has done it again! I got so captivated as soon as I started turning the pages—from the first page until the very end. A real page turner! This story was fantastic! This author is a high quality writer who knows how to pull you into her story with words flowing. I could feel Ms. Blair's interest in the history and tales of Scotland. When you start this novel, you won't be able to stop. This Scottish tale tells the story of young widow, Lara, and her two nine years old twins, Amy and Alexander, who will play an important part in this story, and of course, Ian, the handsome architect. Their story is mainly set in a Scottish Cairn Dubh Manor that holds secrets, Scottish artifacts, and even maybe a ghost! Lara hired Ian to help her to restore the older parts of the manor, but as they spend more time together, their relationship will grow. Is Ian truly the man he appears to be? Is he hiding a secret? Will Lara find out Cairn Dubh's history? Let's say that while renovating the old ruins, they discover the unexpected, that might change Lara, Ian, and the twin's lives forever! I won't tell you the rest to keep the mystery going. Beautiful sweet chemistry between Lara and Ian. It's so refreshing to follow their relationship and watch it grow with kisses here and there, then a journey of teasing and seducing begins with a beautiful and unexpected ending! I have to say that Ms. Blair is a talented storyteller of Scottish tales. I had so much fun reading Waiting for the Laird, knowing now that it really reflects Lara and Ian's sweet and romantic story. I'm never disappointed with the author's Scottish adventures! I truly enjoyed every minute of it! ** Reviewed for Books & Benches*