Yearning for Magic: Spiritual Journeys of a Mother, Healer, and Lover

Yearning for Magic: Spiritual Journeys of a Mother, Healer, and Lover

by Melissa C Burch
Yearning for Magic: Spiritual Journeys of a Mother, Healer, and Lover

Yearning for Magic: Spiritual Journeys of a Mother, Healer, and Lover

by Melissa C Burch


    Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, March 7
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


She Risked Everything to Become a Mother, Lover and Healer

“....a brave adventurer who discovered her own life.”

— Kirkus Reviews

In her debut memoir, My Journey through War and Peace, Melissa Burch told the compelling story of how she braved a war zone as a young woman and found her voice as a filmmaker and feminist.

Yearning for Magic continues Melissa’s adventures as she explores new horizons as a mother, lover and healer. She learned that while traveling with the mujahedeen was hard, it took just as much courage to face down her fears on home soil, grapple with infertility and embark on her new calling as a homeopathic healer.

Join Burch as she discovers meaning and joy in surprising places: from a christening on a Greek Island to life in an East Village Quaker community, and from a miraculous healing in Brazil to a life-changing spiritual experience in India.

Her most daring journey was her voyage within. “Sometimes I kept having the same thought over and over. I must do something that felt exciting and fearful, like rappelling off a cliff — most often this idea worked out for the best,” Burch recalls.

Yearning for Magic will inspire you to stay open to the unknown, listen to your inner wisdom, learn to live in the here and now .... and seek out your own heroine’s journey.

Melissa Burch is a bestselling author, spiritual teacher and speaker who inspires women and men to develop their own spiritual practice rooted in the teachings of the heroine’s journey.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780989342964
Publisher: Gaia Press
Publication date: 03/22/2020
Series: Heroine's Journey , #2
Pages: 190
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.40(d)

About the Author

Melissa Burch is a bestselling author, teacher and speaker who inspires men and women to explore and develop their own spiritual practices rooted in the teachings of the heroine's journey. A lifelong explorer of both the internal and external, Melissa's first career was as a filmmaker, producer and former war journalist for the BBC, CBS, and other networks. She was just in her twenties when she traveled with the mujahedeen, filmed an attack on a Soviet convoy, slept with an Afghan commander, and climbed 14,000 foot mountains in the Hindu Kush. These experiences and many more are featured in her first memoir, "My Journey Through War and Peace: Explorations of a Young Filmmaker, Feminist and Spiritual Seeker."

Melissa also spent many years as the executive producer of "Women in Limbo Presents," a national public television series that featured edgy, raw and profoundly human stories about women's lives, and served as president of the New York Film/Video Council.In the next iteration of her own heroine's journey, Melissa spent several years as an internationally recognized leader in homeopathy, co-founded the Catalyst School of Homeopathy and produced and hosted one of the first successful radio shows on Voice America on homeopathy.

In addition to her three-part memoir, Melissa is also the author of the bestseller "The Four Methods of Journal Writing: Finding Yourself Through Memoir," Melissa, and her husband and her college-bound son recently completed a three month 16-city book tour, which they called "The Heroine's Journey: Road Trip and Quest" across the United States.

You can learn more about Melissa and sign-up to read her weekly tips and insights on exploring and developing your own spiritual practice at

Table of Contents



Chapter 1: Baptism

Chapter 2: Infertility

Chapter 3: Rebirth

Chapter 4: Blessings


Chapter 5: Magic

Chapter 6: Fascination

Chapter 7: Synchronicity

Chapter 8: Miracle


Chapter 9: Light and Dark Forces

Chapter 10: Substances and Spirits

Chapter 11: Calamity

Chapter 12: Auroville

Epilogue: Mystery


About the Author

From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews