×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Holes / Edition 1
     

Holes / Edition 1

4.6 1920
by Louis Sachar
 

See All Formats & Editions

ISBN-10: 0440419468

ISBN-13: 2900440419463

Pub. Date: 03/11/2003

Publisher: Random House Children's Books

Stanley Yelnats is under a curse. A curse that began with his no-good-dirty-rotten-pig-stealing-great-great-grandfather and has since followed generations of Yelnats. Now Stanley has been unjustly sent to a boys' detention center, Camp Green Lake, where the warden makes the boys "build character" by spending all day, every day, digging holes: five feet wide and

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Holes 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1920 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A great read. Trust me, YOU WON' T WANT TO PUT IT DOWN. You won't regret buying it.
rissyraye More than 1 year ago
"Holes" is about a boy named Stanley Yelnats who was arrested and sent to Camp Green Lake, a camp for bad boys who committed crimes, after being accused of stealing a pair of shoes from an orphanage. Stanley's family believes that their bad luck is because of Stanley's no-good-dirty-rotten-pig-stealing-great-great-grandfather, who stole a pig from a one-legged Gypsy, and she put a spell on him and his family that would cause them bad luck. Stanley is caught with shoes that were stolen from an orphanage and is arrested and given the choice of going to jail or Camp Green Lake. Stanley chose the camp. In this camp, the bad boys have to dig seven holes, five feet deep, everyday. While at camp, Stanley meets Armpit, a big boy who doesn't bathe, X-Ray, a boy who says that he can see inside people, Zero, a very quiet boy who doesn't talk to anyone, and many others. Stanley learns the legend about Kissin' Kate Barlow, a woman who kisses each man that she kills, and about the treasure that is buried somewhere in the lake. Stanley and his new friend Zero make their way to "God's Thumb", a large mountain shaped as a thumb and soon learn the truth about the camp. I recommend this book to anyone who loves adventure and surprise endings. This book is exciting and fun that will make you want to read it again and again. I really loved this book. It was a great adventure to read. I give this book 4 stars because it was exciting and great to read!
Catmac More than 1 year ago
If you are, you would be at Camp Green Lake with Stanley, Zero, Armpit, Magnet, Mr.Pendanski and Mr.Sir. All the boys at camp are forced to dig five feet deep holes in the heat of Texas! This is supposed to improve how you choose to act instead of acting in a terrible way. These boys have to survive digging seven holes, five feet deep, each and everyday! Go into the past with all these boys. Stanley is a boy that is sent to Camp Green Lake for a reason that he does not know. Zero is a little boy who does not know how to read or write. Mr.Sir and Mr.Pendaski are the owners of the camp, along with the Warden. I would recommend this book to anyone that loves adventure. I am like Stanley because we both love adventure. When Mr.Sir was hurt, it reminded of the time when Megan fell down off a mountain, I felt scared. When I heard the ending, I wanted to reread the book. This is a page turning story with adventures waiting on every page!¿
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is a very intriging book. It is one of my favorite books of all time. Whoever reads it will definitly love this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book was a hot fugde sundae on a sunny summer day. It was fantastic. Lol. One of my favorite reads ever!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Holes, by Louis Sachar , is a excellent book. It makes me want to read it over and over again. My opinion about the book Holes is that Louis Sachar wrote the book very well so the sentences flow very smoothly and it always leaves you in suspense and wanting more also leaves you on the edge of your seat.
This book takes place at camp green lake in the middle of a dusty desert. The major conflict in the story is that the camp councilors treat them horribly and the warden makes them dig holes in order to find the treasure of green. One major plot detail is after Stanley is sent to camp he is treated like dirt by all the kids there. Also the conditions the kids work in is blazing heat and barley any water. This book is written in the narrative point of view. He uses very vivid adjectives and all of the sentences flow smoothly.
I recommend this book to anyone who likes a great fiction book. You will have a great sense of satisfaction when you are done reading. Go out and read to find out the end!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved the book. I have read it many rimes and i have another book from Louis Sachar. It is called Small Steps annd i hope it is as good as Holes. I also love the movie of Holes. I will definitly watch the movie and read the book again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I like this a lot it is so exciting to read it just grabs your atention and u never want to stop readin also if u liked this book u should try out the sexond book small steps and let me warn u the ending was so good i thought dhe could keep going but no so i hope a 3book comes out.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was so amazing and inpirering i cried at the end it was so good!!!!!!!!!+!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The title of this book is Holes. It is the story of a boy who had to go to a camp because the police thought he stole an important pair of shoes. The book tells about days in his life and the author probably wrote this story for everyone to read. When you make new friends you usually stay good friends. You stick with each other and never leave each other behind and you help each other out. The author wrote this to entertain us but also to teach us never to steal. The time period of the book is the present day. While you are reading this book they will take you back to his great grandpa. The story was at Camp Green Lake in Texas. The book is mostly to make us laugh and enjoy the book. The words in the book like Texas words made me laugh and some of the characters were funny. I would rate this book five stars. It was really good and I would read it over and over again. This book has a little bit of a twist to it. It is like a mystery. You have to piece puzzle pieces together to get the book. That was the fun of it. The most important thing about this book is the policemen thinking the boy stole the shoes, having to go to Camp Green Lake, and the friends he made. One of my favorite quotes is ¿There is no lake at Camp Green Lake.¿ It¿s funny because he expected a whole different thing, but when he gets there its just dust. Another quote was, ¿ It was all because of his no-good-dirty-rotten-pig-stealing great-great ¿grandfather!¿ This was important to the story because the family was under a curse because of their no-good-dirty-rotten-pig-stealing great- great ¿grandfather! When you make friends you stick with each other, help each other no matter what. This book is about helping each other and sometimes having a good adventure. I would advise you to get this book and read it because there might be a surprise at the end If you want to laugh and smile you should get the book Holes. This book is right for you. It also has mysteries and might be surprised to see what happens at the end.
Deb-chan More than 1 year ago
If you've ever met or read about someone who always has bad luck, if you haven't then you don't know about Stanley Yelnats whose whole family is under a curse. A curse that his no-good-dirty-rotten-pig-stealing great great-grandfather began. In Holes by Louis Sachar and published by Yearling in 1998, Stanley gets convicted of a crime of stealing a pair of owned by the famous ballplayer, Clyde Livingston, and then gets sent to Camp Green Lake, a place for delinquent teen boys. Once there he must dig holes, something that is supposed to promote good behavior, but is really a search of the legendary treasure of the outlaw Kissin' Kate Barlow. While at camp Stanley befriends many of the camp's other inhabitants, one such delinquent being a young boy nicknamed Zero. He makes a deal with Zero. He'll teach Zero how to read if Zero digs his holes for him. This deal seals their friendship and leads them on a journey that will enable them both to hopefully gain better luck. The entire story is filled with distinctive characters and has an imaginative plot. Sachar has woven together two intertwining stories and highlights the difficulties of two unfortunate boys in a tale that brings the characters to life.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I wm a ten year old girl and I never stoped reading it. My mom would yell at me because it was sooooooooooooooooooooooooo good if u r my age and what to read a really cool book then pick this book I dare u
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was very suspenseful. We read a few chapters a night and it was hard to put the book down. We especially liked how everything connected in the end and how Stanley and Zero helped each other out again and again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My teacher in my class is reading this book and it's ASWAM!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved the book!!!!!!!!!!: )
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Stanley is sent to camp green lake for some thing he didnt do at the camp they have to dig holes 5feet deep/wide they say it builds "character " i wont give away to much so the summarry stops here this is an ar book level:4.6 points:7.0 the quiz # may not be the same so i dont want to feed you bad information i hope you found this reveiw helpful bye!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Could not put it down! Really good book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I haven't read the whole thing, but so far I couldn't get my hands off this book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of the best books i've read
Trenton Ladler More than 1 year ago
A wonderful story that i will always remember
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I couldnt put the book down it had so much details i loved this book got to read small steps( the second book)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved the structure of the book. Iti, is very, very good. I hope he writes mire of the kinds of books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is an awesome book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
BEST BOOK IN THE WHOLE WIDE WORLD