Grave Consequences (The Grand Tour Series Book #2)

Grave Consequences (The Grand Tour Series Book #2)

by Lisa T. Bergren

NOOK Book(eBook)

$10.49 $14.99 Save 30% Current price is $10.49, Original price is $14.99. You Save 30%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Grave Consequences 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 29 reviews.
pagese More than 1 year ago
I have mixed emotions when it comes to this book. On one hand I like the characters overall and I really love their Grand Tour journey. On the other hand, I felt this book was really pulled down with Cora's indecisiveness and her naivety. I was a little put off by Cora and her ability to string both men along. Maybe it's the fact that she's never really been courted and the idea that now two men are vying for her affections is appealing to her. There were times I think she was just enjoying the attention lavished on her. Ass in the fact that both men are from so different backgrounds, that I think it was hard for her to know which one might be better suited to her. She has to find her own place in this new world she has found herself in. I also thought she was really naive when it came to several things. First, did she really think that she would be able to go on this trip and then just go back to her old life? Despite her instance that nothing has changed, I guarantee that she has grown accustomed to certain aspects of being wealthy. And there were times I could not believe her thought process when it came to Will. For being so prime and proper all the time, she really didn't seem to care what his position was in the whole matter. There was a whole lot more at stake for him. Despite these drawbacks, I still enjoyed the book. The story takes a journey throughout countries at a time that I'm just not a familiar with. I think it shows a slightly different perspective plus at times shows how different life was in Europe than America at the time (especially in Cora's case). I also find some of the women's equal rights discussions interesting. Cora's never believed in a man's vs women's world and that's certainly not about to change. But her new family definitely has different views on that. Add it some intense events scattered throughout the story, and there was never a moment that I wanted to put the book away for awhile. I just kept reading. And, its a long one at almost 450 pages. I'm looking forward to see how the story ends!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a great book. There are so many nail biting and exciting parts going on that you want to and feel like you have to keep reading. I cannot wait for the next book to come out and see how this wonderful series ends. I love the way the characters in the book seek the Lord in their times of difficulties and look to Him for the answers to life.Wilani
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MFurumasu More than 1 year ago
I love this story of Cora and all the adventures she has! It's fun to read about all the places she goes to... places I'd love to see. It's also wonderful to see how she stays true to who she is and not become someone totally different just because she has money. She has changed somewhat, but yet she still holds true to her values and convictions! I also love how she's instilling values into her new siblings. I LOVE the feelings she's discovering with Will. I can't wait for the next book to come out!
GHott More than 1 year ago
Hott Synopsis: Cora has made her choice. She loves Will but does she love him enough to let him go? Cora’s fear is that her father will destroy all of Will’s prospects if she choses him and not the rich and fantastic Pierre. Can she now chose a life of poverty when she has the change to become a princess? Hott Review: What I liked: Oh my goodness!! I could not put this book down! I felt like I was living it! I couldn’t help but live through this experience and the fun and the horror with Cora. I can’t WAIT to read the finale! What I didn’t like: There are times when perspective switches and it feels awkward for a few paragraphs. More… Author: Lisa Tawn Bergren Source: Kindle Free Read 10/7/13 Grade: A Ages: 16+ Steam: YA Setting: Europe 1913 Series: Grand Tour #2
book4children More than 1 year ago
The Grand Tour continues in this sequel to Glamorous Illusions. Cora moves forward with her relationships and self-discovery while Will deals with struggles of his own. Cora is an interesting character. She is stubborn and headstrong, almost to a fault. She pushes herself and others, which isn't always a bad thing. Her father has her in a metaphorical choke hold that's getting tighter each day, and it's her stubbornness and fierce independence that eventually come to her aid. I liked the way all the characters were challenged throughout the book. They all changed in some way or another. Except maybe Felix. But even Hugh became more human. I actually almost liked him by the end. I also liked the way Cora faced many different dangers. Some came from other people or her environment, some came from herself, and some came from her new family and friends. It was interesting to see the characters developed further and to start understanding more of their backgrounds and experiences. I love this series. I can't wait to start on the final book, Glittering Promises, and see where it takes me. Content: clean
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read-by-Glowlight More than 1 year ago
Romance, danger, travel through Europe, and people who live in a magnificent, historic castle…Lisa T. Bergren sets the stage for intrigue in her second novel of “The Grand Tour Series,” Grave Consequences. Bergren opens the narrative with two strong, contrasting emotions. Cora, along with her half-siblings and wealthy friends, are traveling by rail to Provence, France. As the train is leaving the platform, a wealthy French lord, Pierre de Richelieu, rushes to her window with a red rose. Then he kisses his fingers and places them against the glass. “That might have been the most romantic thing I’ve ever seen,” says her companion Lil. But fantasies of love are cut short as Cora notices a suspicious man several rows up spying on her. The danger of being kidnapped is all too real. Like all good romances, the hero and heroine need to find their way to one another. The pathway becomes even more complicated when there are two attractive suitors. Both charming Pierre and the grounded tour guide Will are vying for lovely Cora’s affections, pulling her in opposite directions. In the meantime, our heroine if facing personal challenges as she has discovered that she is the illegitimate daughter of a copper baron who intends to control her future. Lisa Bergren’s writing is rich with historic detail and vivid scenes. For example: “It was exhilarating, being here, so near the top of the mountains, on top of this ice set in place by the hand of God thousands of years ago…. Along the two miles we walked, we saw cirques—rounded carvings in stone and ice, like massive, natural amphitheaters. We saw ridges hewn into razor-sharp tips, and valleys in sweeping, rounded rivers still filled with the last vestiges of glacial meltings.” I admire authors who challenge readers while entertaining them with a good story. In Grave Consequences, Cora observes, “As with so much else that was right and true in life, we got lost in the particulars and lost sight of what was right and true in the first place—we concentrated on the things that divided us rather than the things that unified us. Love. Grace. Peace.” Later, she asks, “Would this journey leave me lost rather than found?” What a profound question for each of us to ask ourselves as we take our own journeys through life. Personally, I would have liked to see a two-page recap of the first book for those who haven’t read it as well as for those who read it but would appreciate a reminder of the characters and plot. I recommend this book for readers who enjoy inspirational fiction and clean romance with an underlying spiritual message. Fortunately, readers won’t have to wait long for the third book in the series, Glittering Promises, to be released this fall.
gjo50 More than 1 year ago
Second in Series Adds Depth I really enjoyed the first book in this series, but I thought that this book changed some adding depth to the characters and broadening the story. Few of us today realize the constraints that people and especially women lived their lives before WWI. All the members of the traveling party grow due to their experiences, as was the intention of the parents that sent them. The scenery and activities are beautiful and interesting, with enough action to keep the reader connected to the story. I thought this book was better than the first, and would recommend it to anyone who enjoys historical romantic fiction without the romance element hitting the unbelievable level.
dgottreu More than 1 year ago
Grave Consequences by Lisa T. Bergren was a great story about the continuing travels of the Kensington’s and Morgan’s. It is still the summer of 1913 and the Kensington and Morgan siblings are continuing their Grand Tour in spite of the attempted kidnappings and other problems they faced during the first half of the tour. Cora’s journey of a lifetime is also giving her a chance to get to know herself, to realize what she truly believes about God, and to discover what she really wants out of life. Cora is also still trying to decide if it is Will or Pierre that she truly loves and this indecision seems to put a lot of plans in danger. As the group travels through Austria, France, and Italy, they realize that the man attempting to kidnap Cora is still following them. The two fathers have joined the group for the travels through Italy. It is in Italy that the kidnapper makes his final move which leads to a lot of suspense. It is somewhat of a surprise when the identify of the person who hired the kidnapper is revealed. I had a feeling that the person was involved but was still surprised at how and why he was involved. Just as in the first book, the author again did an excellent job developing the characters and bringing them to life. The plot had several twists and turns and the suspense just kept building with each chapter. Just as I had everything all figured out, something else would happen and I was again left wondering. With Will now the bear of the group, the lectures about what they were seeing were more interesting for the group. As he was describing all the things they were seeing, I was seeing them in my mind right along with the group. The dialogue and interactions of all the characters were also very well developed. The author’s extensive research was evident throughout the book. I recommend this book just as highly as I did the first in the series. Actually this book just might be a little more exciting, at least for Cora but that excitement is tempered with a good bit of fear. There also seems to be more interaction between Cora and Will which I really enjoyed. I received a complimentary copy of this book from David C. Cook at Net Galley in exchange for an honest review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
l_manning More than 1 year ago
In the sequel to Glamorous Illusions, we rejoin Cora Diehl Kensington on her grand tour of Europe with her newly discovered half-siblings. While things are going better for Cora with her family, things are only becoming more difficult in her romantic life. She's being aggressively pursued by a dashing Frenchman, Pierre. However, Cora's heart seems to be drifting toward their young tour leader Will. All the while Cora and company are still being chased by the people that kidnapped Cora and her sister in France. With new friends and some twists and turns, Cora must navigate Europe and her new social status. Cora's not sure though that she will be able to get everything she wants.  I found the first book very interesting, so I was excited to read the sequel. It was definitely a lot of fun. Cora's world is becoming increasing more difficult to navigate through, and you can't help but feel for her. She so wants to be able to live her life as she chooses, but this is looking less and less likely. Her newly discovered biological father has much bigger plans for her, and everyone around her is sure to tell her that Wallace Kensington always gets his way. While this doesn't sit well with Cora, she soon discovers there is a lot of truth in this. Cora is being pursued by the French Lord Pierre, but it doesn't take her long to realize her heart actually belongs to Will. Circumstances quickly change though, and it seems like Cora and Will will have a difficult road ahead if they want to be with each other. Like any good middle book, this one leaves you with a lot more questions than answers. To be honest, I'm not sure how Cora is going to get any of the things she truly desires. That makes things more exciting though. This book manages to move the story along at a fairly good pace while really setting up the next book. I could have done with maybe a little less of the back and forth between Cora and Will on their feelings for each other, particularly when they had already confessed those feelings for each other. That didn't make a lot of sense to me. Overall though, that's a minor point. This book is able to make you feel like you are there in the time and the place exploring with Cora. I look forward to the next book. I really want to know how it all turns out.  Book provided for review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
rosia_lady More than 1 year ago
I read this book and it was incredible. Cora continues her journey on the Grand Tour in Europe along with her siblings. During this beautiful trip, she learns how to win the heart of her relatives and she also finds out that she loves Will, the young tour guide. In the second book of this beautiful Grand Tour series, the author analyze more deep Cora's choices and her character. Cora learns how to be more mature and how to become more stronger. She has to choose between Will, a poor tour guide and Pierre a rich, handsome French man. During this beautiful tour, Cora and her siblings will encounter many dangers. A mysterious man, named Art will join the group and the kidnappers from the first book, will not cease to pursue them. I love the way, the characters evolved during the story, how they could see clear in their mind what they truly are and want. This book is a journey through the beautiful cities of Europe and also a journey of hearts. You will forget that you read because you will be transported right in the middle of this beautiful story. The words of this book are like vivid image. This novel is amazing. I received this book as an e-book copy for an honest review from the publisher.
BeckieI More than 1 year ago
This 2nd book in the Grand Tour Series was even better than the first!  I couldn't put it down.  And when I had to, I was wondering what was happening to the characters! Lisa Bergren wrote this story so well that I truly felt like I was travelling right along with Cora Kensington & her half siblings! Can't wait for the next book in the series!  Write fast!!
CharityU-Austenite More than 1 year ago
Hooray! This second book in the Grand Tour series by Bergren did most certainly not disappoint in the least! It was absolutely riveting…I couldn’t stop reading. The story moves along quickly and smoothly through several fascinating European locations, following the travels and yes, drama, of Cora and her companions. It’s full of well-thought-out plot twists and turns that you most certainly will not suspect. Between those enthralling locations (can I go?! Please?!), gripping suspense (you won’t be able to put it down either…), and unexpected surprises, this book come together as a must-have for any Bergren fan. Just make sure you read “Glamorous Illusions,” book one, first…it’s crucial to understanding this one. Be warned – it doesn’t end with everything neatly wrapped up! There’s still a dose of mystery (and we have to wait HOW LONG for “Glittering Promises”?!). Overall, it was an amazing book and I did love it. **Litfuse Publicity Group supplied me with this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not required to post a positive review, nor was I paid in any way other than the book.**
CaraPutman More than 1 year ago
Grave Consequences is a book that will sweep you into the world of the uber-rich during the Gilded Age. I felt like I became the silent member of a group of Americans on their Grand Tour of Europe. The book is a sweeping continuation of the series and one that left me dying for the next installment...enough so I've been tempted to drive to Colorado and beg the author for an early copy.
iblog4books More than 1 year ago
The first book in the Grand Tour series made my "best of" list for 2012, so I was really looking forward to reading Grave Consequences to see how the story continued. I was excited to pick up where Book 1 left off (so you'll definitely want/need to read them in order) and continue on their Grand Tour. One of the best parts of this book to me was the journey through France, Switzerland, Austria, and Italy. Lisa's descriptions of these incredible places have definitely given me a bit of travel fever! Now if only I could figure out how to travel back in time 100 years to see it as Cora did! Cora really began to come into her own in this book. It felt like she was more comfortable with herself and with her new siblings and their friends. A few times, I saw that she was really struggling with what her life would be like after the Grand Tour was over and she returned home. The love triangle that she finds herself in was definitely interesting. I really liked one of the two guys (though the other one is a great guy too), but I'm not sure that she's going to choose him in the end. Grave Consequences was full of suspense and intrigue as the traveling party is still being followed and harassed by strange men. As bad things continued to happen, I loved seeing how the different characters responded. It made for an interesting adventure! The only drawback is that we'll have to wait until this fall to read the conclusion to this incredible series. I can't wait to find out who Cora falls in love with and how their story ends (or begins :)! [5 stars] I received a free copy of this book from David C. Cook & Litfuse Publicity in exchange for my fair and honest review.
ShooflyMama More than 1 year ago
I couldn't wait for this second book to come out, and as usual Lisa did not disappoint. This book picked up where Grand Illusions left off, and I had no problems picking up the story line.  I enjoyed watching the relationships grow and change between Cora and her siblings as well as the other members of the Tour. Without giving anything away I can say that I felt that both Cora and Will had to do some serious soul searching in this book. I learned much about the history of Europe as the group traveled around, and the intrigue and suspense had me unable to put the book down several times. Just when I thought I knew what was going to happen there was another twist and the plotline took another turn. Each of the characters matured during this part of the journey as well. I now can't wait for the final book in this series to come out. Lisa has done extensive research and the story lines as well as the historical and geographical content are all done wonderfully. I highly recommend this book.  *I received this book for free for my review. I was not required to give a positive review, only my honest opinion - which I've done. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own.*
Bookishqueen More than 1 year ago
This book drew my emotions through the wringer. So often I felt the pain and betrayel as though I really was Cora. You know an author is amazing when the reader feels personally involved in the story. So many times I wanted to jump inside the book and help Cora wade through the backstabing, manipulation, and confusion. And the romance! So sweet and yet heartbreaking. To know that you love one man while everyone tells you that you are never meant to be. Then for them to thrust a Prince Charming at you instead. Sometimes I think I far more upset about it than Cora was. I can not wait for the next book (coming out in October) in order to exsperience more of Cora's adventures.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another heart wrenching tale from Lisa T Bergren!  Full of ups and downs, it was truly hard to put down. A young woman, born in a small town in montana, continues on her "Grand Tour" of europe with her newly found half-siblings and the Morgans, Longtime family friends of her fathers. Deaths, Attempted kidnappings, a forbidden love and a forced courting are many of the twists and turns in Lisa T Bergren's newest Chapter in this wonderful series!.   Lisa has a way of writing that just sucks the reader into the story. The places she describes and the way she does it makes you feel like your right there in Paris and Venezia.  I cannot wait for the next book in this series!  Disclosure: I received a free copy of this book from the author/Litfuse Publicity Group/David C. Cook Publishing for review.
Its_Time_Mamaw More than 1 year ago
In book two of THE GRAND TOUR Series, Cora Kensington and her siblings continue the grand tour on shaky ground.  They have agreed, that even in impending danger, to continue on to meet their father at the next stop in their tour.  Mr. Kensington agrees to let them go on with the tour but has decided to join the tour to make sure there is no danger lurking after his children. When a tagalong with their group betrays them Mr. Kensington puts his foot down. Cora informs him she is in charge of her own life and that she loves Will.  Her father would never welcome a tour guide to court one of his daughters.  This angers her father and gives her an ultimatum. He orders her to court and marry someone of his choosing.  She feels as if she is trapped by her fathers demands.  With worrying about her Papa's health, her dictator of a birth father and the possible loss of the man she truly loves, what does her future hold.  Let's not forget constantly looking over her shoulder for fear of her or the others she has become to love might be kidnapped or possibly killed. The author has continued right where book one, Glamorous Illusions left off, with suspense, mystery, romance, reconciliation  and danger around every corner. I devoured the history the author provided, making me feel as if I were actually on the tour.   This book was in my hands every time I left a room, it stayed with me.  My family is getting use to me getting lost in my reading especially when it is one so well written.   I want book 3, Glittering Promises now!  But we have to wait patiently until October 2013 for it's release, you may want to pre-order the book. I highly recommend this book. Disclosure: I received a free copy of this book from the author/Litfuse Publicity Group/David C. Cook Publishing for review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was a little worried when I originally picked up GLAMOROUS ILLUSIONS, the prequel to GRAVE CONSEQUENCES. I do not typically read Historicals. The ones I have tried were always so dry and boring to me, but I loved THE RIVER OF TIME SERIES by Ms. Bergren so I decided to give this a try... I was completely blown away with the first installment of THE GRAND TOUR SERIES! I LOVED it! So when GRAVE CONSEQUENCES was released I was chomping at the bit to get my hands on it. Lisa T. Bergren does not disappoint with Book 2! GRAVE CONCEQUENCES picks up the story right where GLAMOROUS ILLUSIONS leaves us. At first I wondered if I could get my mind back in line with Cora, Will, the Kensingtons, and the Morgans. However, after just a few pages of Ms. Bergren's fantastic, descriptive writing I was transported back to the early 1900s enjoying the Grand Tour. This story has everything. Mystery, adventure, excitement, "who done it", and, of course, some wonderful romance. Lovely Cora must decide where her heart truly lies. Is it the "pauper" William or the "prince" Pierre that she is in love with? I highly recommend GRAVE CONCEQUENCES to anyone who enjoys a romantic adventure. But I suggest reading Book One: GLAMOUROUS ILLUSIONS first so you can fully appreciate and understand the story.
Laura_Pol More than 1 year ago
Lisa Bergren continues to draw me in with her second novel in the Grand Tour series! I absolutely love the beautiful imagery she gives us as Cora and her siblings travel all over Europe! She is so descriptive that I have no trouble visualizing the family there! I really liked how Lisa brought a lot of suspense in this one with the kidnappers as well as the outings that sometimes went wrong. Their were many times she had me on the edge of my seat since I was unsure what was going to happen, especially when Will and Cora decide to try and draw in the kidnappers by their new plan! Their was also great romance that made me squeal with delight (I don't what to give it away so I won't say who it involves), but also make my heart break. I love Will and Pierre, but Cora will only have the one she has given her heart too! I feel bad for the man who did not claim her heart because he is so wonderful! My favorite part of the entire novel was the ending when Cora takes a stand against her father! She was so bold and I love how she pushed to make her own decisions instead of someone making them for her! I am greatly looking forward to Glittering Promises to see how the rest of the tour will be and how Cora taking a stand will effect Vivian as well the others! I am also looking forward to Cora's growing romance with that certain someone! Great novel overall! I received this for free by NetGalley in exchange for a honest review!