Killer Seduction

Killer Seduction

by Avery Flynn

NOOK Book(eBook)

$3.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Killer Seduction 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 16 reviews.
Majorly_Delicious More than 1 year ago
Let me start off by saying I adore Avery Flynn. Her books are always sexy hot and the heroine always has a ton of spunk which can be refreshing from romance novels overrun with damsels in distress! Seriously guys, add her to your fave author's, I promise you won't be sorry. This book is the fourth installment of her Designed for Murder series but can be read as a standalone. If you have read up on this book don't let the fact that it is set in a world of LARPing (Live Action Role Playing) scare you off. I myself am not into gaming but found the book grabbing my attention from the beginning and not letting go until I was done with the book. Mika is a textile designer and a Magic Battledome gamer that makes costumes for her friends to use in LARPing but recently someone has been targeting her friends and stealing their costumes. Set on making sure none of her friends get seriously hurt and to determine why someone wants her costumes she hires Maltese Security. Carlos works for Maltese Security and is a geek and ex LARPer. After a gaming incident hit to close to home Carlos left the world of gaming behind but his next case is Mika and it is about to throw him back into the gaming world. The storyline is full of mystery and suspense that will leave you guessing till the end, but don't worry you will have smoking hot scenes between these two to help you "kill" the time until the truth is exposed (pun intended :) ) I received an eARC of this book from the publisher for my honest review and opinion. All ratings and opinions stated are my own.
Grandma_Tami More than 1 year ago
4.5 Really love this series ,Carlos & Mika work to find out who is mugging members of Mika LARPers group an stealing their outfits and why , as they face danger and their growing feelings for each other they figure out whats really important in life, each other . I really enjoy how Avery gets from point to point . There is enough intrigue and romance for all . I like that there is reference to the other people in the series in each book so you kind of get to keep posted on everyone :D Thank You Avery for another great book keep them coming and we'll keep reading them
kgagnon More than 1 year ago
4.5 Sexy Nerd Stars! This was a fun, quick, exciting read about murder, romance and LARPing! I knew nothing about the world of LARPing (Live Action Role Playing), and I found it fascinating. This story is about two very adorable LARPing geeks who had a one night stand not knowing they have that in common. Mika is totally absorbed in this world and designs the costumes for her group that are being stolen. When the police are no help, Mika seeks the help of Maltese Security to find out why she and her friends are being targeted. Carlos is a retired master of this world and the game of Magic Battledome. He is trying to prove himself as a serious security specialist and isn't eager to be dragged back into it. Carlos's boss forces him back into the game posing as Mika's boyfriend to uncover the culprit who is behind the crimes. When trying to pretend they are in a relationship, and trying to fight their existing smoldering chemistry at the same time, what could ever go wrong? Will Carlos and Mika be able to work together to solve the case before anyone else gets hurt? This is a suspenseful, sexy story with fun quirky characters that Ms. Flynn is a master at creating. I love her books and can't wait for more!
MELHUTCHINSON More than 1 year ago
I can honestly say that I have never read a book by Avery Flynn that I was disappointed in. This one is now different. I thought that Avery did a very good job of introducing us to the world of LARPing. I was not sure about it at first, but Avery incorporated it right into the story line and made it feel like it belonged in this story. The characters were very well developed and the story flowed smoothly for a very pleasurable read. There was plenty of hot romance mixed in with the suspense to provide a great balance! Mika is a woman that is in the textile design business. Along with Mika's love of LARPing, she gets involved in a drug case that leaves everyone wondering why people are being killed for these costumes that Mika designs. Mika is on edge about the whole situation and knows that she could easily become the next victim in this whole scandal if they can not figure out what is going on. When the detectives are sent in to try and help her out, she never thought that one of them would be Carlos, her one night stand from the night before. Carlos has a hard time focusing on the case because he knows what all Mika is capable of in the bedroom. Carlos know that he can't let himself get side tracked though because he has just come off of a case that ended bad for him when he lost track of what he was supposed to be doing. Carlos is determined to help Mika figure this case out, but when things continue to heat up for them, will they be able to stay focused on their target before one of them get killed? This was a great suspenseful read that kept you turning the pages to find out what was going to happen to Mika and Carlos. Will these two get their HEA? You need to read this one to find out! Thanks Avery for another great read for your readers and I can't wait for more from you very soon!!!
missalicia2013 More than 1 year ago
I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review... Hot Latin love, Gamer/Role player, and unusual crimes. I was hooked from the start. I'm a geek what can I say finally a romance novel for me!!! Carlos works for a security firm but he used to be a cop. His last assignment went bad in his mind. He had to go undercover in the gaming world and became quite well known. Ever since the assignment went bad he hung up his keyboard and hasn't played. Mika is into LARPing and her group is getting assaulted on a regular basis. The attacks are getting more severe. Mika has reached out to the local PD but they are not really paying attention. So she has contacted Maltese Security for help. Mika didn't realize the guy she took home from the bar the night before was on her case. Oops. It made for easy introductions at the office the next day. As the case heats up so does Mika and Carlos, can they solve it before someone gets seriously hurt?
Nicolerko More than 1 year ago
Right off the bat I like this book because both Mika and Carlos are nerds, but sexy as hell. Things get VERY steamy between these two. A bet Carlos lost turns into one hell of a night, but the dawning of a new day sheds a whole new light on Carlos and Mika. Mika is part of the life Carlos has put in his past for good reasons, but Mika is beyond tempting. Mika has hired the security company Carlos works for to help find the mugger who has been targeting her court. Now Carlos is thrown back into the world of the Battledome. They find out way more then they could imagine about the case, but can Carlos keep Mika save when she becomes the next target. I have to say I didn't figure out who was behind it all. This book caused a book hangover because I just had to find out who the bad guys were. The scene at the end with Carlos in the hospital was fantastic. It was one of my favorite parts of the book.
Linda__ More than 1 year ago
This is a very hot and sexy story that I enjoyed. In it, Mika is a textile designer that ends up in the middle of mystery and seeks out a security company when the police don't seem to take her seriously. The investigator assigned to her case is none other than the guy she had a one night stand with. They seem to have a push/pull relationship that just didn't feel quite real to me. Lots of repetitive hot sex that didn't seem to move the story forward. What was interesting to me was it being set in the world of LARP. While I was familiar with the term, I didn't know much about it. The author was able to depict the LARPing world in a way that made sense. While I doubt I'll every truly understand it, she made me care about it because of Mika. If you are looking for a sexy romantic suspense, this is a good choice
Angelized_1st More than 1 year ago
Author Avery Flynn solidified herself as one of my favorite romance authors with her retreat novel, Dodging Temptation, and I find myself under her thrall yet again with the latest entry in her Killer Style series, Designed for Murder. Like Dodging Temptation, Flynn brings together a multicultural cast of characters for a fun mystery/suspense yarn surrounding the world of LARPing (Live Action Role Playing). As a geek with a fashion design degree, this story was made for me, and I hung on every last word. This was the first book I’ve read in the Killer Style series, but Flynn did an excellent job of making Designed for Murder read as a stand alone novel. Through strategically placed dialogue, Flynn fills in the background surrounding Maltese Security for first-time readers without boring long-time Killer Style fans. I really enjoyed the push-and-pull of Carlos and Mika’s relationship. They both have a lot of baggage, and it was fun watching them inevitably fall for one another. As for the mystery surrounding the stolen costumes, I thought that was very well-written. Flynn takes newbies into the world of LARPing, and explains it in a way that even those most opposed to the pastime will find it interesting. Not only does she describe people of all different races and creeds coming together in good fun, but she also shows how people from every walk of life can find some common ground. I would recommend Designed for Murder to anyone who loves a little bit of mystery with their romance. All aspects of the story are well-developed, and both Carlos and Mika are likable characters you want to root for. The mystery kept me on the edge of my seat by its lack of predictability. Even though Carlos and Mika essentially suffer from the dreaded “love at first sight” romance phenomena, there are enough hurdles in their way to make their relationship fun to read, and there’s tons of sizzle between them. I received this book for free from publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.
Rhondaz More than 1 year ago
Designed for Murder by Avery Flynn is like being a player in the game of LARP in Magic Dome. Such a hot fun book, I absolutely loved this story. This is a fast paced romantic suspense thriller. It had me guessing all the way through and on the edge of my seat. Carlos and Mika are so hot and sexy together they heat the book up. This is my first book in this series and it can be read as a standalone. This is a must read for anyone is is an Avery Flynn reader or if you are looking for a book to get lost in. Absolutely worth all five stars. I was given an ARC of this book by publisher via NetGalley, for my honest review.
xrayer0 More than 1 year ago
Another great read in the Killer Style series. This can be read as a standalone. What happens when two nerds who love live-action role-playing meet. One is actively involved in LARP and the other has given it up from a tragedy in the past. What will one night hurt and what a steamy night it was. The next day Mika is sitting in the conference room at Maltese Security and they feel Carlos is the man who can help her with her problem. What does the future hold for these two. Steamy, panty melting sex is plenty in this story. Mika and Carlos may seem nerdy but they spice things up immediately. What seems like simple muggings turn into so much more. As the investigation continues Mika and Carlos are involved into something more dangerous. Can Carlos leave his past behind and protect the women he is falling for or does he need to walk away. Ms. Flynn did it again. A steamy and angsty story filled with so many twitst and turns that make you keep turning the pages to see what happens. An alpha, sexy male and a snarky, strong, female make the characters in this story. I also love how Ms. Flynn throws in some moments that have you laughing so hard they leave you with tears streaming down your face. I received a gift copy in exchange for an honest review.
mamalovestoread22 More than 1 year ago
When Carlos Castillo is forced to return to the world of Magic Battledome he is left to not only face his demons, but also make a return to a place he hoped he never have to see again. And if the situation isn't already uncomfortable enough for him, he has to make his return alongside his most recent partner from a heated one night stand. And the idea of playing Mika Ito's boyfriend has him beyond nervous... Mika Ito is beyond furious and desperate to catch the person who is stealing her costume designs, and knowing she can't catch them on her own she turns to the Maltese Security. She is hoping they can help her catch the thief's and restore her friends safety, and she has the perfect plan to catch them, all she needs is a help of one of their investigators. Never expecting her new "partner" to be her bed partner from the one night stand she had the night before.. After reading the description for this read I knew it would be a refreshing change of pace for me, and would require me to step a little out of my of comfort zone, but knowing that Ms. Flynn was at the helm, I had no doubt I'd enjoy it. She is one of my "go-to" authors and I can always count on her to provide me with a exceptional literary escape. If you like your romance stories with a mystery twist then I suggest you give Ms. Flynn's book a try, they are sure to satisfy all of your reading needs and then some! ARC requested through NetGalley, and kindly provided by Entangled Publishing in exchange for a honest and unbiased review.
Bette313 More than 1 year ago
I must say that until reading this book I had never heard of live action role playing (LARP). I can't say I completely understand the appeal but I at least understand the concept now, so for me this one was a bit educational! On top of learning something new, I got a fun, sexy romance with a ton of suspense and action thrown in. There's great chemistry between Carlos and Miko which has the pages sizzling! Even if your as naive as I was about the LARP world, you will still enjoy this one. I highly recommend it.
Theresakerch-28 More than 1 year ago
Hot Design Mika is a textile designer and designs costumes for LARP in Magic battle dome. There have been a run of muggings on her costumes and she can't figure out why. When the police won't listen take her seriously she goes to Maltese Security, and Carlos Castillo is put on her case, who happens to be the man she had a one night stand with. Will they be able to figure out what is going on with the costumes and muggings. Is there more to the one night stand. Mika and Carlos are hot together. This book has intrigue and suspense. Avery Flynn has another hit.
teetee1968 More than 1 year ago
I do enjoy this series so much! And I fell in love with Carlos when he was "just" the computer guy of the Maltese Security Team. I enjoy seeing the more Alpha side of him, of course! He & Mika make a great pair. And though I'm so not a Live Role Playing person, I love that Carlos seems to embrace his love of it and that he & Mika have that connection! The chemistry is off the charts with these two! Great book!
Csk513 More than 1 year ago
ARC generously provided in exchange for an honest review. Another great book in the Killer Style series! We FINALLY get Carlos' story after his situation in Tony and Sylvie's book that threw his whole life into a huge spin. And he's nerdtastic. I love a good guy who makes mistakes. Dumb ones too. He's definitely alpha with a twist! And his parting "shot" in the last chapter had me in stitches! Mika was a pretty great heroine too. I would have loved to see her fashion sense in action a bit more, but I understand word crunch and limitations that might be given to produce a novel. Overall, I think they had great chemistry and I can't believe someone pulled off a great romance that included LARPing!!! Great job Flynn. Great job!
MoniqueD More than 1 year ago
If you are a fan of Avery Flynn's, don't even bother reading the review, get this book right away! If you have never read any of her books, now is the time to start. Astounding! Picture this: Avery Flynn and her best book ever. Absolutely terrific! It's very sexy, the story is captivating, I learned a lot about gaming and textile design, it is a lot of fun! Ms. Flynn's dialogues are just about the best she's ever written, there's non-stop action, but most of all: Mika! I thought Drea was Avery Flynn's best character ever, but boy was I wrong! Mika is strong, sexy, doesn't take any BS from anyone; she is IT! The chemistry between Carlos and Mika is on par with volcanic eruptions! I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.