Monday's Lie

Monday's Lie

by Jamie Mason

NOOK Book(eBook)

$11.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Monday's Lie 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
MargieS1 More than 1 year ago
Given To Me For An Honest Review Monday's Lie by Jamie Mason is a must read.  It will grab and hold you from page one then the pages will turn and turn and turn some more  until the last page. The twists and turns keep you on your toes and you will wonder if you really read what you read. Dee had a very different upbringing than most children.  Her mother was a spy and taught the kids the basics.  Dee wanted a different life so she married  her college boyfriend.  Years later the marriage is basically over. Patrick doesn't want a divorce, he wants Dee dead. Will Dee discover  what Parick is planning before it's too late?  Will the ending be what you expect? This book is a real must read.  You will not regret buying  it, reading it and loving what you read. I gave it 5 stars but it clearly deserves many more than that. It would make a great gift and would  look good on your bookshelf.  I highly recommend it for everyone.  I look for more of those great ones from Jamie Mason.
reececo331 More than 1 year ago
Monday's Lie  by Jamie Mason A young woman is facing danger but her mother had trained her to handle everything with knowledge and foresight. Dee Aldrich wants to live a normal life, but it seems that things are just off the mark. She has been married fifteen years. No matter how assured she is that her life is normal she cannot bring herself to bear her husband children. She has always felt something was off but she could never put her finger on it. Everything seems to come to a head on Monday, or at least that is how her minds organize events by days of the week. She can remember so many things; she observes many things more than most people. Her mother played games, taught her children to pay attention, to find differences and to protect them. Despite how much she knows she does not know everything about her mysterious exotic mother.   This book looks into the legacy of family, and how a young woman learns the extraordinary influence her mother had on her life. All that she was trained for, all that she knows protect her in this dynamic time. She is lost in the memories of her mother, and her childhood where she draws her strength. Its a look at how we see our self, and how the world sees us. 
RochelleRosesandThorns More than 1 year ago
Monday’s Lie is suspenseful, but it’s more introspective than Ms. Mason's first book, and not funny, which I was hoping for. It juxtaposes Dee’s childhood with her mother against her present with her husband and brother (who is her best friend). After all, who else can understand her, but the man who grew up playing spy games with their mother, Annette? As Dee grew older, she realized Annette was not just an operative, but a very well-regarded one. Had I not expected a book with both suspense and laugh-out-loud humor, this would have been a great book. It did have some rather humorous parts as Dee came to the conclusion she was being pursued and used her mother’s spy-craft to turn the tables on her pursuer. It did suck me in and keep me burning through the pages.
RobertDowns More than 1 year ago
I'm developing a slight infatuation for a woman named Jamie Mason. And, no, you can't have her, I saw her first. This might be the best novel I've read this year, and every last one of you bastards should go out and read it for yourselves. Why? You might ask. Well, if you're not just going to take me at my word and stop at third, then let's delve a little deeper, shall we. Each word felt as though it was handcrafted and mulled over for hours. If that's the case, then I'm probably going to cry a little, because that means I'm going to have to wait ten years until her next masterpiece, and in the meantime the market is going to be flooded with plenty of crap, unless she started her novel writing days at puberty, and in that case, I may only have to wait a couple more years while she gives her next work a bit more polish and shine and then ceremoniously flings it upon the world with much pomp and circumstance and even a few trumpets and trombones. And if that's indeed the case, I shall cry a little less. That's not enough, you say. You're all a bunch of heathens. Okay, there's more. She totally reinvented herself from her debut novel to this one. It's an entirely different tale filled with entirely different characters in an entirely different setting, and it ratcheted up the suspense with such subtlety and ease that I'd need a Venn diagram to plot it all out, and frankly, I just don't have the time for plot charts and graphs. But if that's your thing, then have at it, sister, I won't stop you. There is no sophomoric slump. No second novel blues. Instead, she's painted a world filled with orange and red. MONDAY'S LIE is better than her first by a country mile, and with THREE GRAVES FULL, she really showcased her writing chops, and offered up plenty of talent. But this time she took it to a whole nother level. She proved she's a novel slinging badass in her DKNY jeans. Ms. Mason, you have fair warning that I am now going to stalk your pretty ass. Not the kind that leads to being led away in handcuffs, but the kind that turns me into a lifelong, loyal reader, or as Stephen King says, "Constant reader." Where I shall pronounce from the mountaintop at all who I deem worthy to go out and procure a small piece of Jamie Mason for themselves at your nearest bookstore or online establishment. Trust me, you'll thank me later. I received this ARC for free at Bouchercon. Robert Downs Author of Falling Immortality and Graceful Immortality
CynthiaL More than 1 year ago
What a terrific book! Twists & turns that I NEVER saw coming. I'm adding Jamie Mason to my "must read" list of authors!
Plum_Report 4 months ago
A woman's story about being raised by her mother, a suspected spy, and how she must use the skills her mother subconsciously taught her to figure out what her husband is up to. It's Dee's story about remembering a woman as her mother and as a stranger, all while figuring out who has been watching her and why her husband is acting so weird. This story is clever and fresh; a take on how children are observant and aware and absorb knowledge like a sponge, storing it away for future use. That's exactly what Dee does. She never realized that everything her mother taught her with silly memory games and counting step games would one day save her life.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Too much rambling. Ok story like but it went on and on. A little over 200 pages. I was unimpressed
feather_lashes More than 1 year ago
Monday's Lie is a standalone thriller written by Jamie Mason. One thing that caught my eye while reading the synopsis for this book was Ms. Mason's reported delivery of "Hitchcockian menace". I grew up watching VHS recordings of Hitchcock movies weekly, if not daily. My mother loved his work, and I soon learned to appreciate his dark suspense as well. So when I saw his style referenced, I knew I had to read this book. I agree that Monday's Lie did carry a bit of a Hitchcock tone, but it manages to remain its very own style which I enjoyed. The female lead: Dee Aldrich grew up with a mother whose line of work closely resembled a 007 operative. I imagine all the real-life secret agents out there have a family somewhere, right? For Dee and her brother, chores and other daily tasks always included some kind of fun but subliminal lesson in observation, awareness, investigation, strategy, etc. I bet Dee had no idea that her mom's parenting style would come in handy one day. Monday's Lie spends the majority of its time with an emphasis on Dee remembering her mother and allowing the reader to view how her mother's parenting style and work impacted Dee throughout her life. Now, at present-day, Dee finds herself in a concerning situation that causes her to pause and question those around her. What is true? What is a lie? Are the people in her life really what she thinks them to be? Fortunately, Dee's spy school memories are resurfacing right when she needs them most. I thought Jamie Mason's writing was stunning in this novel. I immediately fell in love with the beauty of it and I began marking relevant quotes right away. I do want to note though that although Monday's Lie is marketed as a thriller, it spends about eighty percent of the book building up to the “thrilling” climax. In my opinion, it's more literary fiction meets quiet mystery until that point. But at the eighty percent mark...OMG, hold onto your seat!!! Overall, I very much enjoyed Monday's Lie. Like I said, the writing won me over, even in the midst of my ongoing questioning about the advertised genre and my wondering when Dee would figure out the main mystery (I was all but yelling at the book!). But if anything, that eighty percent mark made it all worth it. If you enjoy any of the genres mentioned in this review, then consider picking up this novel. My favorite quote: "But a story is a house, a home for something that happened. The truth lives there forever, along with its cousins, the half-truths, and also with everyone's servants, the lies. And no house has only one door. There's always another way in.”
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the first book i have purchased on my nook that was not worth reading or the money i payed for it! My advice is pick another book because this one just drags on and on...... big waste of time!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm talking about Feb.17-2015.I'm sure you had to have known this when you wrote it that it would have people thinking what the F was that or you wouldn't have mentioned the bit about stalking.I must say l wouldn't be surprised if you have those intentions.I find you really creepy yet intriging.I have not bought the book and don't know if I will.There are only 3,well let me make that 2 because l don't know if I would call yours a review or not.Boy,what a way to start my day!!I know your ego must be off the charts right now.I don't think I've ever did a review about a reviewer.You sure blew me away!!