Talen (Dark Protectors Series Novella)

Talen (Dark Protectors Series Novella)

by Rebecca Zanetti

NOOK Book(eBook)

$2.99

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Talen 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 16 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I don't understand how the publishing date can be 2017 when i know i've read this book before! It must have been published under a different title because i cannot find it in my library under this name and i have all Zanetti books. Took off two stars for making me pay twice.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is an awesome short story of Talen and Cara with bits about their son. I loved it and want more of Talen and Cara. I hope they have more kids of both boys and girls now that the cure is found.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved it
belllla More than 1 year ago
Talen is another book into the series. It is my first book from the series so I really don’t know a lot of facts that was described in the book. It is a short story and it seems like just a longer chapter between Cara and Talen. It is story with a lot of action, suspense and great scenes between Cara and Talon like hot and dirty. I enjoyed reading it. Great pass of the time on a lazy raining afternoon. I volunteered to review an ARC of this book for Netgelly
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Talen! Great short story to add to the collection. For those who don't follow Rebecca on Facebook this is a duplicate story that was included in the back of Wicked Burn.
ehaney578 More than 1 year ago
TALEN is a short story that takes place after the ending of the war. Cara is no longer sick and is trying to find purpose in this time of peace. She’s got plans but she’s also got an overbearing mate that refuses to let her out of his sight and would prefer she stay hidden, wrapped in cotton and tucked away safely for all time. Fortunately, Cara is not having any of that. I really enjoyed this novella. I love how strong Cara is and that she won’t back down from her mate’s demands or any threats that try to take away her independence. Cara wants her own identity and to forge her own path, which is very important to her. She’s the kind of heroine you want to be, especially if you’re mated to a foxy vampire like Talen. RAWR! This is a quick, full throttle read that will leave you wanting more! I recommend this or any books by Rebecca Zanetti. ***I read copy of the book offered to the blog by the publisher in exchange for an honest review. All conclusions reached are my own***
KindleKat64 More than 1 year ago
OMG I loved them in Fated and I love them even more now all these years later in their relationship! Talen & Cara simply rock as mates! The perfect match for each other in every single way possible. Rebecca remains one of my favorite paranormal romance writers. She just knows how to do it! The storyline is as intense as Talen & Cara's love and need for each other! Amazing! 5 stars!!
Dalitza More than 1 year ago
Action packed and sexy. I love Rebecca Zanetti and I love novellas about past characters, so I pretty much loved getting an update on one of the most popular couple in the Dark Protectors series. After decades of being sick, Cara Kayrs wants to take advantage of her newfound health and the fact that the war is now over, but her worrying vampire mate feels she’ll be exposing herself and that they still can’t be too careful. Can she convince him that she’s fine now and that after twenty-five years of being together, they should take some time to just relax? Vampires love once and forever, and for Talen Kayrs keeping his mate safe is his first and most important priority. Especially when his senses tell him that there’s still a threat to them that no one else has picked up on. Can he protect his beloved even when she’s incapable of following orders and still be able to give her the freedom she craves? Isn’t it great that we get an update on couple who’ve been together for 25 years and are still very much in love? That also means we get to see their children in action, in particular Garrett and his best friend Logan (demon), as well as lots of fast paced action sequences to go along with the all the sexy times. Talen is novella #7.9 in the Dark Protectors series by Rebecca Zanetti. It is a paranormal romantic suspense that links together the Dark Protectors and the Realm Enforcers. Told from both points of view.
Rainn2978 More than 1 year ago
This is a quick read in the Dark Protector's world about Talen and Cara Kayrs. I loved this book. Yes it is short. But if you have read the full book about Talen and Cara and how they mated then this book will give you that much appreciated snippet into their lives now that the war is over. It has the action that is always loved in these books along with the love and family! And having some much loved characters make an appearance? It's a great thing! Never a bad read with Rebecca Zanetti's books!
AFOX0 More than 1 year ago
Catching up with Cara and Talen Kayrs.. 4.5 stars! A novella to tie in the Dark Protectors and Realm Enforcers series, Ms Zanetti brings back a most endearing and beloved couple whose story started the whole thing from the first book, Fated. After twenty years together and having survived a war between vampires, demons, and shifters, Talen and Cara Kayrs are more in love than ever, and their bond stronger. Even after two children and granddaughter, and with the war being over, Talen and Cara are in an unsettled phase. Talen is used to being in protection mode. Cara is healthy and survived the deadly virus that attacked bonded mates, and she’s feeling at loose ends. She hasn’t had the chance to try out her “immortal” thing yet, still unsure what lies in the future for her which the subject brings a bit of tension between her and Talen. Cara is eager to get back to work as a scientist and help humans combat disease, bringing the advanced technology learned from the Realm. But Talen feels there is still an element of danger out there, and he’s not about to loosen his defenses when it comes to his mate. Talen’s instincts prove correct when they are attacked by demons. I really enjoyed this novella and found the resolution to the threat perfect. I love the intense and sensual chemistry between Talen and Cara, and how he reassures his mate by taking her in hand when she gets snarky and disobedient. Huh, that was fun to read. I like how the author includes a bit of immortal tidbit that, though Talen is centuries old, he doesn’t look any older than 32, and Cara looks 25. This is a great addition to the series. I received an ARC copy from Kensington Books via NetGalley and voluntarily reviewed this book.
FaeScot More than 1 year ago
I was delighted to be given a NetGalley ARC of this story. It's really short but should make fans of the series happy as it gives another look into Cara and Talen's story. I also love that it's a cross-over story with her spin-off series Realm Enforcers. You get a window into both of these series and favorite characters. The war may be over but peace is not for these creatures. It seems trouble follows them wherever they go. Cara is now healed and searching for ways to make her immortality have meaning besides being Talen's mate and mother to their 2 children. Their little grand-daughter almost steals the book but the action does that instead. And oh boy, to these two burn up the sheets! Well they would if they ever made it to a bed that is. Thanks so much Kensington and Rebecca for giving me a free copy of this book for a review. Loved it. Now I've got to binge read the whole series in order!
MBurton More than 1 year ago
Talen & Cara's 2nd story: I loved getting an update on Talen and Cara. They were our first couple in the series and one of my favorites, so it was fun seeing them again after the war is over. I think it's funny that the author stirred up trouble even in their time of peace that brought several of the characters from previous books back for this short novella. I love theses characters and really hope Rebecca Zanetti has more in store for all of them. Fantastic read! Overall series review: Fun, fast paced PNR series. Great storyline, characters and suspense. Insta-love, mates for life, possessive Alphas and grotesque evil foes. There are Vampires, Shifters, witches, Demons and more. This is a continued storyline focusing on a different couple per book. ARC provided by NetGalley.
Sandy-thereadingcafe More than 1 year ago
NOTE: TALEN was originally released as a bonus novella in Rebecca’s WICKED BURN (Realm Enforcers #3). If you have not read book seven of the Dark Protectors series-MARKED-there may be some spoilers in TALEN and my review. REVIEW: 4.5 stars---TALEN by Rebecca Zanetti is installment 7.9 in the author’s DARK PROTECTORS paranormal romance series and revisits the original Dark Protectors couple Talen and Cara Kayrs. TALEN can be read as a stand alone but for cohesion and backstory I recommend reading the series in order as the story line picks up following the events of book seven-MARKED: SOME BACKGROUND: The Kayrs family rules not only the vampire nation, but also the Realm, which is a coalition of vampires, shifters, and witches. Years ago, an evil vampire race called the Kurjans declared war on the Realm by creating a deadly virus that infects vampire mates. The virus attacks chromosomal pairs and takes mates from immortal to human, potentially leading to death. Told from dual third person perspectives (Talen and Cara) TALEN revisits vampire warrior Talen Kayrs, and his mate of twenty five years Cara Paulsen-Kayrs. Now that the war is over, another danger threatens our leading couple. With the cure for the virus found, Cara and Talen have been tasked with transporting some important samples to a research lab but the Demons have targeted our couple for reasons unknown. As Talen and Cara battle the demons, they are also facing the wildfires that are growing out of control. What ensues are Cara and Talen’s attempts to stay clear of the demons while Talen struggles to protect his mate-a woman who is determined to protect those she loves. TALEN is a story line that reconnects with many of Rebecca’s paranormal series and story lines characters and couples with the appearance of Logan (vampire/demon hybrid), and Cara and Talen’s son Garrett (Realm Enforcers), and their daughter Janie Kayrs (Dark Protectors/Marked): Max Petrovsky ( Dark Protectors/Tempted); and shifters Terrent and Maggie (Dark Protectors /Twisted). The seamless interconnection between series allows the readers a second look at some of our favorite characters. TALEN is a short, sexy, action packed novella. The premise is entertaining and spicy; the characters are familiar, passionate and colorful; the romance continues to be seductive and hot. TALEN is a must read for fans of Rebecca’s DARK PROTECTORS and REALM ENFORCERS series.
MusicInPrint More than 1 year ago
Quick read into Rebecca Zanetti's Dark Protectors series. This is labeled 7.75 Talen. It is a stand alone read even with the many installments prior. Talen an immortal vampire and his mate of twenty five years Cara embark on a mission to deliver the medical cure for an illness that has plagued Cara for decades. Demons are doing everything in their power not to see this accomplished. With the couples' adult sons arriving on the scene this mission has a glimmer of hope."A copy of this book was provided to me by Kensington Books and author via Netgalley with no requirements for a review. I voluntarily read and my comments here are my honest opinion."
CathyGeha More than 1 year ago
Talen by Rebecca Zanetti Dark Protectors #7.9 Realm Enforcers novella 3.? The author mentions in a note at the beginning of this novella that she wanted to write a crossover novella linking her Dark Protector and Realm Enforcer series together. After asking her Facebook street gang who they would like to hear about in a novella linked to Wicked Burn two names dominated – Talen & Cara – so this is the story she wrote. Not having rea any of the Dark Protectors series but having read all of the Realm Enforcers series I was curious to find out more about the series I have not read. So, when made available on NetGalley I requested a copy, received one, read it and now will review. I will say that Talen is a heartthrob alpha male for many in the street gang so can see why he and his mate were chosen for a novella. With peace for all humans and other it is time for a road trip to take lab samples from one location to another. Talen and Cara are in charge and plan to take a vacation to Hawaii once they drop off the cooler with the items being shared. Of course a peaceful journey is not what they get and instead there are demons on their trail that want the samples and seem willing to do just about anything to get the cooler. Friendly werewolves are called in for assistance, children of Talen and Cara’s children make an appearance (as do others in the series I have not read) and eventually the culprits are exposed and dealt with in a positive manner before the trip to Hawaii can occur. This was fun story and no doubt will be even more fun for those who have read the Dark Protectors series because they can catch up with Talen & Cara, their children and a few others while also being introduced to Rebecca’s new series – if they have not already started to read it. 4 Stars
stanhope3234 More than 1 year ago
I am in love with Talen Kryas! He has been my favorite through out the entire series. When ever I'm reading about him I picture Jason Mamoa. Sigh. The war is over and peace and serenity should be making everyone happy...but Cara and Talen are unsettled and antsy. Talen has treated Cara delicately for years because of the virus when he's longed to fully claim her. He's been holding back but Cara is about to push him passed his limit and he's about to release his true beast and Cara can't wait!