The Reluctant Lord
The Reluctant Lord

The Reluctant Lord

by Michelle M. Pillow

$4.99

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Reluctant Lord (Dragon Lords) 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 7 reviews.
Anonymous 5 months ago
I enjoyed these two more than I thought that I would. A good read...................................................................................................................
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I received an eARC in exchange for an honest review. I loved this book and I loved Vlad and Clara so different yet so perfect for each other. Vlad is a strong sexy dragon shifter who found his soul mate in a very unexpected way. Clara is a beautiful, serene diplomatic and incredibly aristocratic trained to be the perfect daughter her whole life. When these two meet everything changes, this book is well worth reading and remembering. I was totally captivated from page one and totally engrossed in the book all the way through to the very last page. I highly recommend this book this author and this series to everyone who loves paranormal romances. I know you will love it as much as I did. Be sure to pick up a copy you will be very very glad that you did.
blaise_zillah More than 1 year ago
another great installment to the series, Clara's world traditions were something different to see and to see her adapt in her new situation with Vlad's help. Vlad trusted that the gods made the right choice for him even if she wasn't what he expected and he is a great guy too.
kelcor More than 1 year ago
This is the seventh book of the Dragon Lords series.  This book is such a touching book about Clara and Vlad and the things they must overcome to find love and happiness.     Lady Clara is a noblewoman of the Redding.  She is the youngest daughter and is the only one that is not wed.  She really doesn't want to marry after seeing how the marriages her nineteen older sisters are.  The problem is that her pregnant sisters will remain in statis until she marries because of the inheritance laws.  Her parents decide to send her to Qurilixian to participate in their annual Breeding Festival.  The only stipulation is that she is must marry a nobleman.    Lord Vladan, Ealdorman Honorary of the Draig, is the only one of his brothers to be excited about attending the Breeding Festival.  It's the first time he is able to participate and stand in the receiving line to have a chance at meeting his bride.  Before the Festival starts, the King and Queen call the four princes along with he and his brothers to the castle to ask them to meet Lady Clara prior to the beginning of the Festival to see she is she is destined to be one of their brides.  Each of them proceed through the tent to meet her.  They are all taken back by her appearance since she has a cone-shaped wig and a extensive and heavy dress.   That doesn't matter to Vlad because his crystal starts to glow once he sees her.  Clara is very confused about the whole process.  She doesn't understand how none of the princes or the most of the King's nephew can walk in and then just walk out again.  How do they know if they are compatible if they don't talk to her.  She is still very confused when she meets Vlad and finds out that he will be her husband.    Vlad has a hard time getting to know Clara since she tries to avoid touching him or anyone else.  He doesn't realize that it is part of her customs to avoid touch since most on her planet are empaths.  Both are in for a surprise when they travel to Vlad's home and Clara awakens  with a herd of ceffyls surrounding her.    Clara and Vlad have some tough trials to get through that brings them closer to one another.  They find love and acceptance with each other that they didn't know they were looking for.    This is a wonderfully written book and a great continuation of the series.  I love how two people from such different backgrounds are able to find such love with each other.  It's more than Clara ever expected in her marriage.  I can't wait to find out what happens with the last brother.  
Robin_Manor More than 1 year ago
4.0 out of 5 stars Dragon Lords Book 7, April 22, 2015 Edit Review Delete Review Verified Purchase(What's this?) This review is from: The Reluctant Lord (Dragon Lords Book 7) (Kindle Edition) I am a big fan of The Dragon Lord Series by Michelle Pillow. This is the seventh book in the series that focuses on the princes cousins, the High Duke and his brothers. This story is about Vlad, who was adopted by the Duke and his wife and while he is as much a part of the family as the other brothers. His modest background though, makes him more loving of adventure and the outdoors than attending formal functions. Finally of age to attend his first Breeding Festival, Vlad's brothers find themselves jealous when his crystal glows for the daughter of an important nobleman, Lady Clara of the Redding, before he even has to go to the ceremony. The brothers' initial envy quickly disappears when they meet Clara, a woman who is nothing like they've ever encountered. With skin painted white, a huge white wig, clothing like they've never seen before and behavior that is strangely unemotional and removed the brothers don't know quite what to make of her. As with all the other books in the series I loved the adventure, excitement,intrigue and suspense (there is a very real threat to the entire planet that Clara and Vlad must encounter), and scifi/paranormal romance. The world building is imaginative and continues to draw you in to the people and planet of Quirllixen. I loved Hunky, adorable slightly wild Vlad, the books hero. Adopted after his parents were killed in a mining accident, he is considered "reluctant" as he is more comfortable running through the forest in his Draig form than taking on his role as a nobleman. At his core he is a passionate, wild and emotional man, how then has his Crystal glowed for this strange, refined, and reserved woman who has rarely ever been touched. Clara's world is reminiscent of 18th century Europe complete with white powdered wigs, huge formal gowns, skin covered in white makeup and an extreme lack of physical touching even among parents and their children. In addition there are many strange rules about everything including the order in which the twenty some odd siblings marry and who may have children first. Apparently Clara must have a child before her sisters are allowed to. They live in a repressed, cold society filled with countless extreme and weird rules. I enjoyed the story of how Clara and Vlad both change and open to the world around them and each other. Of all the brides in this series I found Clara and the Reddy civilization annoying and absurd. Being thrown into the 18th century seemed a bit odd and out of place, even with this being science fiction novel. That being said, Clara turns out to be a most wonderful, passionate and talented heroine and goes through the most changes than any of the other women in the series. She truly does win your heart at the end as well as Vlad's. Clara's mental abilities to communicate with animals,heal others, destroy invading enemy creatures, her bravery, strength and underlying passion win you over. The story keeps you engrossed from first page to the last. This is a great addition to the series. It is highly recommended the books be read in order. They are all amazing and it is best way to get the most out of the sexy Draig men andtheir chosen mates, and their stories that are interwoven throughout the series.
shannashedevil More than 1 year ago
Great story! I loved Lady Clara's powers and her home world- I hope Michelle delves into this world a little more.
cherigCG More than 1 year ago
I really loved this one too. These cousins are bad (I love it) This is book 7 and another winner. Lady Clara has been groomed as the consummate Lady. Perfectly groomed, perfect manners (rather cold) and gorgeous. Vladan is an outdoors man who knows the gods will give him a woman who loves camping and hiking and ... Clara likes to look out her viewer--does that count? Get to watch her develop into one of my favorite brides. The one thing they do have in common is compatibility in the bedroom (or wherever) Her response gives us a clue into some secrets she holds. So as not to spoil a great read--watch their relationship develop. See how important she becomes not just as a bride. Character growth is exciting in a book and this one has it for sure. Can't wait to see how the final cousin finds his wife and her story--please make Merec's story next Michelle Pillow. I was provided an ARC for an honest review.