A Map of the Dark

A Map of the Dark

by Karen Ellis

NOOK Book(eBook)

$13.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

A Map of the Dark by Karen Ellis

To save a missing girl, FBI Agent Elsa Myers may have to lose herself...
"I absolutely love when I find a new mystery series to follow and enjoy!... I just couldn't stop reading... I loved the characters and want more! 4 out of 5 stars." Booked on a Feeling
Even as her father lies dying in a hospital north of New York City, FBI Agent Elsa Myers can't ignore a call for help. A teenage girl has disappeared from Forest Hills, Queens, and during the critical first hours of the case, a series of false leads obscures the fact that she did not go willingly.
As the hours tick by, and the search becomes a hunt for a man who may have been killing for years, Elsa's carefully compartmentalized world collapses around her. She finds missing people, but she knows too well how it feels to be lost. Everything she has buried--her fraught relationship with her sister and niece, her self-destructive past, her mother's death--threatens to resurface, with devastating consequences.
Can our most painful childhood secrets be forgotten? Or will they always find their way back into our adult lives? These questions lie at the heart of A Map of the Dark, a riveting portrait of a woman haunted by her family legacy, and a race-against-time thriller. Perfect for fans of Tana French, Megan Abbott, and Lisa Gardner.
What readers are saying about A Map of the Dark:
"This book was so good on so many levels.... Fantastic read, highly recommended." For The Love Of Books
"Loved this! A Map of the Dark has a super lead character who harnesses her own demons in order to help solve the case of three missing girls. I couldn't get up from my chair until I'd read it all!" Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars
"Sometimes you find, amidst all the 'new and wonderful series' a book that marks the start of a series you think you will really like. This is such a book... It even brought a tear to my eyes. And it is not every day that I read a book that has this effect on me." Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars
"Wow, this was such a fast paced read... A Map of the Dark is an exciting start to a new series which I will certainly be keeping an eye on." Hooked From Page One

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780316505673
Publisher: Little, Brown and Company
Publication date: 01/02/2018
Series: Searchers , #1
Sold by: Hachette Digital, Inc.
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 291,684
File size: 1 MB

About the Author

Novelist Karen Ellis lives in Brooklyn, New York, with her family. She is a member of Mystery Writers of America and International Thriller Writers.

What People are Saying About This

USA Today bestselling author of WHAT REMAINS OF ME - Alison Gaylin

"One of the most compelling psychological thrillers I've read in a long time, A MAP OF THE DARK grabs you from the very first page and does not loosen its grip.

I read this book in a day—I simply could not put it down—but I will be thinking about it for much longer."

bestselling author of BLUE MOON - Wendy Corsi Staub

"Deftly plotted and packed with blind curves, A Map of the Dark careens into dangerous territory, where Karen Ellis entwines complex storylines with breakneck precision.

A must-read for fans of taut, unpredictable psychological suspense."

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

A Map of the Dark 2.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
Haziegaze More than 1 year ago
Hmm, this is a toughie for me. I enjoy reading Karen Ellis' books and love her characters but I admit that I struggled to get into this one. I can only think this is because there is a lot of background information on the main character Elsa and although very important as it explains the motivations pushing her and the daily struggle she has with her inner demons, it did interrupt the flow of the story for me. Having said that, when another in the series comes out, I would give it a go as I think now we have the history out of the way, the story will come to the fore with the intrigue, twists and excitement Karen Ellis is adept at creating. Thanks to the publisher, Hodder & Stoughton, and NetGalley for my copy in return for an honest review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Pretty good. Worth the couple of hour's read. I will check for future books from this author
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Too many things going on. The author gave the main character so many flawsthat she is more of a caricature. The subject(s) addressed in this book are serious, but the author did a poor job of presenting them. The book is predictable and boring.
CrazyCat_Alex More than 1 year ago
A quick read with very well developed and likable lead characters. Elsa and her partner, Lex, make a great team and I can’t wait to see what comes next for them. I chose to read this book and all opinions in this review are my own and completely unbiased. Thanks to NetGalley and Hodder & Stoughton!