A Map of the Dark

A Map of the Dark

by Karen Ellis

Paperback(Reprint)

$15.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details

Overview

A race-against-time thriller for fans of Tana French and Megan Abbott: To save a missing girl, FBI Agent Elsa Myers may have to lose herself.

Even as her father lies dying in a hospital north of New York City, FBI Agent Elsa Myers can't ignore a call for help. A teenage girl has disappeared from Forest Hills, Queens, and during the critical first hours of the case, a series of false leads obscures the fact that she did not go willingly.

As the hours tick by, the hunt for the girl deepens into a search for a man who may have been killing for years. Elsa's carefully compartmentalized world begins to collapse around her. She can find missing people, but she knows too well how it feels to be lost.

Everything she has buried — her fraught relationship with her sister and niece, her self-destructive past, her mother's death — threatens to resurface, with devastating consequences. Can our most painful childhood secrets be forgotten? Or will they always find their way back into our adult lives? These questions lie at the heart of A Map of the Dark, a riveting portrait of a woman haunted by her family legacy, and a race-against-time thriller.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780316505680
Publisher: Little, Brown and Company
Publication date: 11/20/2018
Series: Searchers Series , #1
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 320
Sales rank: 1,269,567
Product dimensions: 5.40(w) x 8.20(h) x 0.90(d)

About the Author

Novelist Karen Ellis lives in Brooklyn, New York, with her family. She is a member of Mystery Writers of America and International Thriller Writers.

What People are Saying About This

USA Today bestselling author of WHAT REMAINS OF ME - Alison Gaylin

"One of the most compelling psychological thrillers I've read in a long time, A MAP OF THE DARK grabs you from the very first page and does not loosen its grip.

I read this book in a day—I simply could not put it down—but I will be thinking about it for much longer."

bestselling author of BLUE MOON - Wendy Corsi Staub

"Deftly plotted and packed with blind curves, A Map of the Dark careens into dangerous territory, where Karen Ellis entwines complex storylines with breakneck precision.

A must-read for fans of taut, unpredictable psychological suspense."

Customer Reviews