A Simple Favor

A Simple Favor

by Darcey Bell

NOOK Book(eBook)

$10.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

A Simple Favor by Darcey Bell

Soon to be a major motion picture from Lionsgate starring Anna Kendrick, Blake Lively and Henry Golding, and directed by Paul Feig

"Riveting and brilliantly structured, A Simple Favor is an edge-of-your seat domestic thriller about a missing wife and mother that relies on a rotating cast of unreliable narrators to ingeniously examine the cost of competitive mom-friends, the toll of ordinary marital discontent and the fallacy of the picture-perfect, suburban family."—Kimberly McCreight, New York Times bestselling author

She’s your best friend.

She knows all your secrets.

That’s why she’s so dangerous.

A single mother's life is turned upside down when her best friend vanishes in this chilling debut thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train.

It starts with a simple favor—an ordinary kindness mothers do for one another. When her best friend, Emily, asks Stephanie to pick up her son Nicky after school, she happily says yes. Nicky and her son, Miles, are classmates and best friends, and the five-year-olds love being together—just like she and Emily. A widow and stay-at-home mommy blogger living in woodsy suburban Connecticut, Stephanie was lonely until she met Emily, a sophisticated PR executive whose job in Manhattan demands so much of her time.

But Emily doesn’t come back. She doesn’t answer calls or return texts. Stephanie knows something is terribly wrong—Emily would never leave Nicky, no matter what the police say. Terrified, she reaches out to her blog readers for help. She also reaches out to Emily’s husband, the handsome, reticent Sean, offering emotional support. It’s the least she can do for her best friend. Then, she and Sean receive shocking news. Emily is dead. The nightmare of her disappearance is over.

Or is it? Because soon, Stephanie will begin to see that nothing—not friendship, love, or even an ordinary favor—is as simple as it seems.

A Simple Favor is a remarkable tale of psychological suspense—a clever and twisting free-fall of a ride filled with betrayals and reversals, twists and turns, secrets and revelations, love and loyalty, murder and revenge. Darcey Bell masterfully ratchets up the tension in a taut, unsettling, and completely absorbing story that holds you in its grip until the final page.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062497796
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 03/21/2017
Sold by: HARPERCOLLINS
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 304
Sales rank: 221
File size: 1 MB

About the Author

Darcey Bell was born in 1981 and raised on a dairy farm in western Iowa. She is a preschool teacher in Chicago. A Simple Favor is her first novel.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

A Simple Favor 3.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 30 reviews.
Anonymous 8 months ago
The plot was too obvious from the beginning. The attempts at satire just made the characters too unbelievable.
Anonymous 8 months ago
I did not like the ending. Story is getting interesting and very quickly it end. Author could have done better job with the ending.
Anonymous 3 months ago
Characters lack depth. It seems it tries too hard to remain interesting after apretty good setup. Nothing to set it apart. It has aspects of many other stories...mostly movies...from the past. I guess it's derivative
Anonymous 8 days ago
I was so excited to read this book but I was highly disappointed. Don’t waste your time or money.
Anonymous 3 months ago
A little too similar to Gone Girl
Anonymous 1 days ago
While the basic plot started out intriguing, the characters were all idiots and the ending was just plain awful! I cannot imagine why anyone thought it good enough to turn into a movie. I won't be wasting my money to see it.
Anonymous 2 days ago
Many unexpected twists
Anonymous 10 days ago
Great read, but ending anticlimactic. Somewhat disappointing.
Anonymous 13 days ago
Great read!
Anonymous 16 days ago
One of the rare instances where the book is not better than the movie...
Anonymous 16 days ago
Lots of twists to keep you guessing. I didn’t want to put it down.
Anonymous 23 days ago
Ending needs work... It was anticlimactic.
Anonymous 23 days ago
My husband and I went to see the movie (didn't know there was a book or else I would've read the book first). I have to say that I enjoyed the movie immensely compared to the book. This was not worth $10 when the ending was more like an end of a chapter. It was an ok read and I gave it 3 stars just because it had some suspense and I liked the characters.
Anonymous 27 days ago
The book was great! All the twists and turns were totally unexpected. I highly recommend this book.
Ayana Harvey 3 months ago
Trash! A “Gone Girl” basement bargain knockoff My apologies if this seems too harsh but it’s exactly what came to mind shortly after reading “A Simple Favor”. And to think that I was so excited to read this book. A movie based on the book is coming out soon. It is well-known fact that the book is usually better than the movie. If this is the case, the movie is going to be complete trash as well. By the way, how was this book even able to make the cut for a movie? Simply put, the plot lines, backgrounds of the main characters and “twists” are just absurd. To be fair, “A Simple Favor” is comprised of the “ingredients” that make for a juicy book, such as destructive secrets, contrived marriages, fake deaths, suicides, murder-suicides, tantalizing trysts, psychological issues, incest, drug addictions, the “who done it” effects, etcetera, etcetera. The author, Darcey Bell, seems to have put all of those “ingredients” in this one book; making it “junky”, convoluted, predictable and unbelievable. It would be fair to have just dealt with the guilt of judging the book too soon and “tapping out” early, but was too intrigued to do so. Unfortunately, it would not be the writing that would piqued interest but curiosity. What else could Darcey Bell possibly add to this story?? How did she envision ending this collage of themes and genres?? Like the saying “curiosity killed the cat”, hope was a casualty of the ending. I started to feel badly for Darcey due to the amount of negative reviews she received; including my own. Then I remembered that she was able to convert this book into a movie! Not just some low-budget Saturday afternoon special, but one backed by a major studio and includes A-List actors!! So, to hell with feeling remorseful for Ms. Bell! She and “A Simple Favor” got over big time! Watching the movie trailer, it seems like the movie will be a complete rewrite; giving the project a chance at redemption. Let’s hope for Darcey’s sake (and those backing this in Hollywood) that it is indeed true. You might want to do yourself a favor and find something else to read. You’re Welcome
Anonymous 4 months ago
Anonymous 4 months ago
Anonymous 4 months ago
Anonymous 4 months ago
Anonymous 4 months ago
Anonymous 4 months ago
Anonymous 4 months ago
Great read, I couldn’t put it down!
Anonymous 4 months ago
Anonymous 5 months ago
Couldn't put it down.
Anonymous 7 months ago
Loved this book!!