Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
A Taste of Magic

A Taste of Magic

by J. Elle
A Taste of Magic

A Taste of Magic

by J. Elle

Hardcover

$14.99 $16.99 Save 12% Current price is $14.99, Original price is $16.99. You Save 12%.
Available for Pre-Order. This item will be available on August 30, 2022

Overview

Notes From Your Bookseller

J. Elle’s whimsical middle grade debut about a 12-year-old girl who enters a baking contest to save her inner-city magic school is a sweet contemporary fantasy perfect for fans of Amari and the Night Brothers. Young readers will eat this charming tale right up.

“An enchanting adventure that will leave readers hungry for more.” – Kwame Mbalia, #1 New York Times bestselling author

New York Times bestselling author J. Elle makes her middle grade debut in this magical new series about a Black girl who learns she's a witch and must save her inner-city magic school from closing, perfect for fans of Wendy Mass.


Kyana Turner has just found out the family secret—she’s a witch! This means mandatory lessons every Saturday at Park Row Magick Academy, the magic school hidden in the back of her local beauty shop. Learning spells, discovering charms and potion recipes, and getting a wand made to match her hair's curl pattern, Kyana feels like she's a part of something really special. The hardest part will be keeping her magic a secret from non-Magick folks, including her BFF, Nae.

But when the school loses funding, the students must either pay a hefty tuition at the academy across town or have their magic stripped . . . permanently. Determined not to let that happen, Kyana comes up with a plan to win a huge cash prize in a baking competition. After all, she’s learned how to make the best desserts from her memaw. But as Kyana struggles to keep up with magic and regular school, prepare for the competition, and keep her magic secret, she wonders if it's possible to save her friendships, too. And what will she do when, in the first round of competition, a forbidden dollop of whisks into her cupcakes?

J. Elle's debut middle grade fantasy is full of humor, heart, and mouthwatering desserts.



Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781547606719
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA
Publication date: 08/30/2022
Pages: 304
Sales rank: 94,656
Product dimensions: 5.85(w) x 8.55(h) x 1.40(d)
Age Range: 8 - 11 Years

About the Author

J. Elle is the New York Times bestselling author of the YA novels Wings of Ebony and Ashes of Gold and is an advocate for marginalized voices in both publishing and her community. Born in Houston, Texas, J. is a first-generation college student with a Bachelor of Journalism and Master of Arts in Educational Administration and Human Development. Her passion for empowering youth dates back before writing to her first career in education. She's worked as a Preschool Director, Middle School Teacher, and High School Creative Writing Mentor. In her spare time you'll find her volunteering at an alternative school, providing feedback for aspiring writers, loving on her three littles, or cooking up some dish true to her Texas and Louisiana roots.
authorjelle.com
@AuthorJ_Elle

Customer Reviews