Amber Wolf

Amber Wolf

by Ursula Wong

NOOK Book(eBook)

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
LendMe® See Details
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now


Amber Wolf by Ursula Wong

Destitute after her mother is raped and murdered by Russian soldiers, young Ludmelia Kudirka joins the farmers who traded pitchforks for guns to fight the Soviet army in 1944. Rich with scenes and legends of Lithuania, Amber Wolf tells the little-known tale of a people struggling for their freedom against great odds. In this WW II thriller, Ursula Wong gells the turmoil of war into the saga of a family torn apart by the Soviet occupation.

"Amber Wolf is a trek into territory that, seventy years after the dramatic events enacted there, still remains largely unexplored. Ursula Wong, using new source material and careful research, has crafted a harrowing, heroic, and at times poetic, tale of people caught up in the cataclysms of war. "
-David Daniel, author of The Skelly Man and The Marble Kite

"Amber Wolf is a compelling story of bold resistance in the face of insurmountable odds. Wong skillfully paints a portrait of the hidden and mostly forgotten people who struggled to survive behind the front lines of the cataclysm of World War II."
-Guntis Goncarovs, author of Telmenu Saimnieks – The Lord of Telmeni and Convergence of Valor

Product Details

BN ID: 2940153100821
Publisher: Ursula Wong
Publication date: 06/25/2016
Sold by: Smashwords
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 1,130,691
File size: 333 KB

About the Author

Ursula is a retired engineer who writes gripping stories about strong women struggling against impossible odds to achieve their dreams. Her work has appeared in Everyday Fiction, Spinetingler Magazine, and the popular Insanity Tales anthologies. Her award-winning novel, Purple Trees, exposes a stark side of rural New England life in the experiences of a young woman who struggles for normalcy despite a vicious and hidden past. After losing her parents, Lily Phelps grows up fast to find work and build a future, but her secrets threaten every one she loves, and even her very life. Ursula taps her Eastern European heritage in her WW II novel, Amber Wolf. Destitute after her parents are taken by Russian soldiers, young Ludmelia Kudirka joins the farmers fighting for freedom in a David-and-Goliath struggle against the mighty Soviet war machine. For more about Ursula and her prize-winning flash fiction stories, visit her Reaching Readers Blog on

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews