Anthrology: No Hit Wonders (1985-1991)

Anthrology: No Hit Wonders (1985-1991)

by AnthraxAnthrax


$22.53 $23.99 Save 6% Current price is $22.53, Original price is $23.99. You Save 6%.


Obviously, Anthrax's Anthrology: No Hit Wonders 1985-1991 isn't comprehensive. It draws exclusively from the Joey Belladonna era and ignores John Bush, not to mention Dan Lilker, meaning it's flawed like the five other band retrospectives out there. Still, the lineup of Belladonna, Ian, Benante, Bello, and Spitz marks the creative zenith when Anthrax helped mold thrash/speed metal and willed rap-rock into its frustrated existence. ("Bring the Noise" birthed Limp Bizkit, but you can't blame Anthrax and Public Enemy for that.) Anthrology is released in conjunction with a reunion of that lineup, as well as a series of live dates and the obligatory live album/DVD chronicle. The two-disc, 30-song set is fully remastered and includes a considerable amount of material from each of four records Anthrax released during the era. It's kicked off with 1985's Spreading the Disease -- "A.I.R.," "Lone Justice," "Madhouse," "Enemy," "Armed and Dangerous," "Medusa," and "Gung Ho." Then it's the classic Among the Living material, from the title track and "Caught in a Mosh" to the Judge Dredd tribute "I Am the Law" and the righteous "Indians." Disc one ends with the uncensored version of rap-metal progenitor "I'm the Man," still hilarious and pretty damn bold after all these years. Anthrology's second disc includes two versions of State of Euphoria's "Antisocial" -- in English and French -- as well as "Make Me Laugh" and "Be All, End All." Persistence of Time is represented by "Time," "Belly of the Beast," "Keep It in the Family," and Anthrax's frenzied, elastic Joe Jackson cover, "Got the Time," among a few others. The set culminates in the PE collaboration "Bring the Noise," the influential song that first appeared on Attack of the Killer B's in 1991, when Fred Durst was still a tattoo artist in Jacksonville, FL.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/20/2005
Label: Island
UPC: 0602498832639
catalogNumber: 000499602

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Anthrax   Primary Artist
Joey Belladonna   Vocals,Group Member
Frank Bello   Bass,Bass Guitar,Group Member
Charlie Benante   Drums,Group Member
Chuck D   Rap
Flavor Flav   Rap
Scott Ian   Guitar,Group Member
Dan Spitz   Guitar,Group Member

Technical Credits

Anthrax   Composer,Audio Production
Joe Jackson   Composer
Ozzy Osbourne   Composer
Joey Belladonna   Composer
Frank Bello   Composer
Charlie Benante   Composer
Geezer Butler   Composer
Carl Canedy   Producer,Audio Production
Mark Dodson   Producer,Engineer,Audio Production
Paul Hamingson   Producer,Audio Production
Scott Ian   Composer
Tony Iommi   Composer
Eddie Kramer   Producer,Audio Production
Dan Lilker   Composer
Alex Perialas   Engineer
Hank Shocklee   Composer
Dan Spitz   Composer
Neil Turbin   Composer
Jon Zazula   Composer,Executive Producer
Eric Sadler   Composer
Carlton Ridenhour   Composer
Charlie B.   Art Direction
Norbert Krief   Composer
Marsha Zazula   Executive Producer
John Rooney   Composer
Scott Schinder   Essay

Customer Reviews