Asian American Novelists

Asian American Novelists

by Emmanuel S. Nelson
Pub. Date:
ABC-CLIO, Incorporated


Current price is , Original price is $75.0. You
Select a Purchase Option
  • purchase options
  • purchase options


Asian American Novelists

As a distinct area of literary study, Asian American literature now enjoys a level of critical recognition that was unimaginable when academic interest in the field began modestly some 25 years ago. Part of this recognition stems from the increasing contributions of Asian American novelists, whose works continue to capture growing levels of popular attention. By the early 1970s, anthologies of creative writing by Asian Americans began to appear, and there are now almost two dozen of them. Since then, numerous Asian American writers, such as Amy Tan, Michael Ondaatje, and Bharati Mukherjee, have gained considerable critical and commercial success.

The publication of this reference work reflects the new academic status of Asian American literature. Included are alphabetically arranged entries for 70 Asian American novelists. Since the historical and current experiences of Asians in Canada and the United States are substantially similar, the volume covers authors from both countries. While the majority of the writers profiled in the volume have East Asian backgrounds, some have South Asian or West Asian origins. Each entry is written by an expert contributor and provides a short biography, a discussion of major works and themes, a summary of the novelist's critical reception, and separate bibliographies of primary and secondary sources. The volume concludes with a selected, general bibliography.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780313309113
Publisher: ABC-CLIO, Incorporated
Publication date: 02/28/2000
Pages: 440
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 1.13(d)
Lexile: 1370L (what's this?)
Age Range: 13 - 17 Years

About the Author

EMMANUEL S. NELSON is Professor of English at the State University of New York College at Cortland. He is the author of more than 30 articles, and his previous books include Contemporary African American Novelists: A Bio-Bibliographical Critical Sourcebook (1999), Contemporary Gay American Novelists: A Bio-Bibliographical Critical Sourcebook (1993), Writers of the Indian Diaspora: A Bio-Bibliographical Critical Sourcebook (1993), and Reworlding: The Literature of the Indian Diaspora (1992), all available from Greenwood Press.

Table of Contents

Meena Alexander by Brunda Moka-Dias

Himani Banerji by Geoffrey Kain

Susham Bedi by Brunda Moka-Dias

William Peter Blatty by Rhonda Brock-Servais

Vance Bourjaily by Ymitri Jayasundera

Cecilia Manguerra Brainard by Eleanor Ty

Theresa Hak Kyung Cha by Yi-Chun Tricia Lin

Diana Chang by Carol Roh-Spaulding

Evelina Chao by Wentong Ma

Frank Chin by Guiyou Huang

Sook Nyul Choi by Mara Scanlon

Denise Chong by Nikolas Huot

Louis Hing Chu by Shunzhu Wang

Richard Crasta (also Avatar Prabhu) by Barry Fruchter

Kiran Desai by Sarala Krishnamurthy

Chitra Baanerjee Divakaruni by Brunda Moka-Dias

Winnifred Eaton by Lisa Botshon

Indira Ganesan by Harish Chander

Stephen Gill by Anita Mannur

Jessica Tarahata Hegerdorn by Ruby Ramraj

Chuang Hua by Hailing Xiao

Cynthia Kadohata by Su-lin Yu

Younghill Kang by James Lingston

Richard E. Kim by Jae-Nam Han

Maxine Hong Kingston by Guiyou Huang

Bharti Kirchner by Krishna Lewis

Joy Kogawa by Cynthis F. Wong

Alex Kuo by Douglas Sugano

Helena Kuo by Jean Amato

Chang-Rae Lee by Martin Kich

C.Y. Lee Luchen Li

Gus Lee by John C. Hawley

Marie G. Lee by Rhonda Brock-Servais

Sky Lee by Martin Kich

Adet Lin (also Tan Yun) by Jean Amato

Steven C. Lo by Jeff Patridge

Bette Bao Lord by Jean Amato

Anchee Min by Shunzhu Wang

Rohintan Mistry by Bindi Malieckal

Kyoko Mori by Rhonda Brock-Servais

Toshio Mori by Sarah Catlin Barnhart

Bharati Mukherjee by Jespal Kaur Singh

Milton Murayama by Seri L. Luangphinith

Kirin Narayan by Maya M. Sharma

Fae Myenne by Maya M. Sharma

Mei No by Sarah Barnhart

Hualing Nie by Hailing Xiao

Sanjay Nigam by Jaina C. Sanga

John Okada by Fu-jen Chen

Michael Ondaatje by Cynthia F. Wong

Nahid Rachlin by Maya M. Sharma

Balachandra Rajan by Uppinder Mehan

Ninotchka Rosca by Shannon T. Leonard

Patsy Sumie Saiki by Seri L. Luangphinith

Bienvenido N. Santos by Anita Mannur

Lisa Lenine See by Xian Liu

Shyam Selvadurai by Peter G. Christensen

Vikram Seth by Anthony R. Guneratne

Mai-mai Sze by Jean Amato

S. Shankar by Brunda Moka-Dias

Bapsi Sidhwa by Janet M. Powers

Lin Tai-Yi (also Anor Lin or Lin Wu-Shuang) by Jean Amato

Amy Tan by Wenying Xu

Linda Ty-Casper by Shannon T. Leonard

Holly Uyemoto by Suzanne Hotte Massa

Jade Snow Wong by Leela Kapai

Shawn Wong by Chih-Ping Chen

Lois-Ann Yamanaka by Chih-Ping Chen

Karen Tei Yamashita by Douglas Sugano

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews