Bad Karma

Bad Karma

by Douglas Clegg

Paperback

$15.50
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Wednesday, October 24  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.

Overview

Bad Karma by Douglas Clegg

"I'm coming for you. You will never escape me."
She's the most dangerous inmate in the hospital for the criminally insane...and she just broke out. Get the series: Red Angel(#2) and Night Cage (#3).

When Trey Campbell takes his family to Catalina Island, his escaped patient leaves a trail of bodies behind as she hunts for her one true love - from a previous life.

A gripping psychological thriller full of page-turning suspense and mind-bending horror for fans of James Patterson, Gillian Flynn, and Robert Bryndza.

364 pages. Read all the books in the Criminally Insane series.

"Clegg's stories can chill the spine so effectively that the reader should keep paramedics on standby." - Dean Koontz, New York Times bestselling author

*"A sleek, smooth, and constantly surprising page-turner..." - Ed Gorman, bestselling author of The Marilyn Tapes and The Poker Club.

"Douglas Clegg knows exactly what scares us, and he knows just how to twist those fears into hair-raising chills..." - Tess Gerritsen, New York Times bestselling author.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781944668181
Publisher: Alkemara Press
Publication date: 06/28/2017
Pages: 364
Product dimensions: 5.25(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.81(d)

About the Author

Douglas Clegg is the bestselling and award-winning author of more than thirty books including The Hour Before Dark, Neverland, and Nightmare House. He lives near the coast of New England and is at work on his next novel.

Date of Birth:

April 1, 1958

Place of Birth:

Alexandria, Virginia

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Bad Karma: Criminally Insane Series, Book 1 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 39 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wow. It's been a while since I've read a book with such beautifully horrific disgusting imagery. Seriously, the author gives Clive Barker a run for his money when it comes to face peeling, eyeball smearing good times. If you like the splatter-gore of the 1980s, mixed with a bit of a mystery, then read this book. If you are a good, church-goin', simple person who doesn't care for explicit violence, also read this book so you can change your boring life choices! I look forward to trying his other books, hoping to find his writing in a more traditional horror novel, without the typical thriller trappings. Great, fun, cringe-worthy, eye smearing good time!
blutabu More than 1 year ago
This was a very scary read. I would compare Agnes to Gretchen Lowell another beyond crazy killer. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves a hair raising story. This was my first Douglas Clegg book and I just bought my second. I can't wait to read it. I hope it is another wild ride!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was an easy, enjoyable read. I love serial killer stories and this one didn't disappoint. I am, however, thankful Darden is not real as I live a short distance from Patton, the real hospital for the criminally insane also mentioned here. I am all too familiar with other settings of the book as well, which definitely let me visualize scenes very clearly!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent book to sit back and lose yourself in!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Although this book plays with our fears, I found I had to finish the story to ensure myself that the good guys always prevail .
Anonymous 11 hours ago
I've never read anything like this. I remember being told by a fireman that during training they had been instructed that during a fire in a mental hospital they were instructed to never make the mistake of trying to get patients in the criminally insane wing out. They would kill you in the process and I suppose that would be true. There's just no way to help a mind that lives to kill. Mr. Clegg you had me wishing that was not true. A lot of blood in this book, so readers if you can't handle that then don't read this book. Not a lot of cussing though and that was refreshing. The children would definitely need years of counseling after living through that. Will read more of your work as studying the human mind is a necessity to live in this world. ???
Anonymous 11 days ago
Dean Koontz never wrote such trash. Only read a bit. Gag.
Anonymous 4 months ago
Anonymous 4 months ago
Suspenseful from beginning to end. I couldn't put it down.
Anonymous 8 months ago
Please remove and can you please put novel books on here please i do not like books like this please remove it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book and the entire Criminally Insane series are amazing! I am trying to find something that is as fast paced, suspenseful and frighteningly descriptive. This book was a serious page turner that definitely had me at the edge of my seat and left me wanting more!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
All I can say is OMG . Beast book I have read in a long time. I have never read a book that I couldnt tell you about other than its a good kind of crazy book. The gore is there but its not as sick as one would tank it draws you in to the point that you don't ever want to put it down. You need a open mind to read this book . You can figger out who the bad one is early in but it dosent make a diffrence because you need that to know were the book is going.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
With our health care system this very scary story could easily become a reality!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very cool reading
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Could't put it down!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A must read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read as much as I could stand then skipped to the end. Its like the author is ADHD on redbull. Skipping from one scene to the other. He had gruesome down pat but that's the best I can say about him.
insanepoet65 More than 1 year ago
TITLE: Bad Karma (Book 1 Criminally Insane Series) AUTHOR: Douglas Clegg GENRE: Horror/Thriller PAGES: 246 This book….oh my God, this book! I read it over the weekend, and could have knocked it out in one night, and finished the last 150 pages just last night. Yes, it moves that fast! The main story deals with a Trey, a man who works as a psychiatric technician at Darden State Hospital for the Criminally Insane. He is on vacation with his wife and two kids, contemplating resigning from the job. Then he gets a message to call work, and finds out that all hell has broken loose concerning a patient that Trey know all too well, Agnes Hatcher, A.K.A. The Gorgon. Agnes Hatcher is beautiful, brilliant, very deadly, and obsessed with Trey. She believes that they are destined to be together, that Trey has the soul of one of her former lovers (and mentor whose identity will knock your socks off) he just needs to realize it. Agnes will also kill to prove her love for Trey, and she will kill anyone that gets in her way. Being a former psych tech, this book spoke to me on a lot of levels and addressed one of my personal main fears. Either Mr. Clegg was a former PT, or he knows one because everything was spot on! I cannot recommend this book enough. Seriously, if you want a great quick read that grabs you by the throat and does not let go until well after you are finished, get this book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great and quick read. Very enjoyable.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
BAD KARMA by Douglass Clegg has a decent story line as far as psycho serial killer stories go. It's a quick read, with about 130 pages. It started off excellent, then the many grammatical errors started appearing. This is common for Clegg's books. He needs an EDITOR!! About half way through the story becomes predictable. I became so irritated with the stupidity of the main character that I was yelling to myself, OH NO! COME ON! Not bad, but not good either. I almost didn't finish it. The violence is not for the faint of heart.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I just finished reading this and I can't say enough how good it is. No typos (which always jar me out of a story, no matter how good) but relatable, believable, real characters. A short few hours' read that is more satisfying than months worth of movies. A unique and intrigueing plot that mostly surprises, this is well-written and the end leaves just enough up in the air to make the reader draw her own conclusions as to certain concepts of the story, while tying up all the necessary bits. I am eager to read more of his work!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great thriller and plot