$17.45 $17.95 Save 3% Current price is $17.45, Original price is $17.95. You Save 3%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, November 21

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780811218207
Publisher: New Directions Publishing Corporation
Publication date: 02/27/2009
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 352
Sales rank: 501,532
Product dimensions: 5.10(w) x 7.90(h) x 0.90(d)

About the Author

F. Scott Fitzgerald (1896–1941) was one of the literary titans of the 20th century. A member of the “Lost Generation” of the 1920s, Fitzgerald’s writings best captured what he termed “The Jazz Age,” a period of declining traditional American values, prohibition and speakeasies, and great leaps in modernist trends.

Date of Birth:

September 24, 1896

Date of Death:

December 21, 1940

Place of Birth:

St. Paul, Minnesota


Princeton University

What People are Saying About This

E. M. Cioran

The Crack-Up is a novelist's "season in hell" — by which we have no intention of minimizing the scope of a testimony in itself overwhelming. A novelist who wants to be nothing but a novelist undergoes a crisis that for a certain time projects him outside the lies of literature. He wakens to certain truths that devastate his awareness, the repose of his spirit — a rare event in the world of letters where sleep is de riguer, an event that in the case that concerns us has no always been grasped in its true signification.
(E.M. Cioran, from Anathemas and Admirations)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Crack-up 3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Honest and beautifully written. A critical, introspective look at one of America's greatest authors.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I purchased this book under the impression that is was the same as the published book, containing "previously unpublished letters, notes, and also three essays written for and published first in the Esquire magazine during 1936,' as it states in the synposis of this product. However, this product is simply the 3 essays. It explains the low price, but I was disappointed as the synposis clearly leads one to expect the full collection.