Dancing Through the Fire

Dancing Through the Fire

by Tanith Lee
Dancing Through the Fire

Dancing Through the Fire

by Tanith Lee



Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Related collections and offers

LEND ME® See Details


Life, death, love, and truth: major themes that frequently appear in Grandmaster Tanith Lee's fiction, are all represented in Dancing Through the Fire, one of the last collections she put together before her untimely death. The stories in this book have never before been collected, and four of them have never before been published. These tales will transport you from mystical lands to mystical worlds, corporeal manifestations of myth, and mythical interpretations of life, into realms you've never visited (and in some cases, could never have imagined visiting).

Among the reprinted stories are:
? "Comfort and Despair", which Publishers Weekly called "eloquent."
? "Fold," which editor Mike Allen called "surreal and haunting."
? "That Glisters Is," which, according to Voya, "leaves a disturbing aftertaste."
? "The Death of Death," which Colleen Anderson said is "rich with personality and style."

The four new stories include:
? "My Lovely," a chilling little tale of a house where people drop in.
? "Last Dancer," which tells of an annual commemoration that just may be the social ticket of the year.
? "Lora," the story of a god gazing lovingly upon one of her subjects.
? "Burn Her," which may be a semi-autobiographical telling of the life (and afterlife) of an artist.

In her obituary, the Guardian called Tanith Lee "one of the most influential revisionist and feminist voices in contemporary fantasy writing," and said her work has a "sensibility in which the relentless pursuit of personal autonomy and sensual fulfilment leads her characters to the brink of delirium, as well as to a fierce integrity that can co-habit with self-sacrificing empathy." The Village Voice called her "the Princess Royal of Fantasy," and enotes says she is "an accomplished technician and stylist. Her sophisticated presentations carry the reader along breathlessly, yet her style invites reading aloud."

Tanith Lee was born in the UK in 1947. Though she couldn't read until she was eight, she began writing at nine, and never stopped. She wrote over ninety novels and more than three hundred short stories. She wrote for television (Blake's 7) and various BBC radio plays. She won the World Fantasy Award for her novel Death's Master (1980). Endless awards followed, and she was made a Grand Master of Horror and honored with the World Fantasy Convention Lifetime Achievement Award in 2013. Tanith died peacefully at home in 2015. She was married to the artist/writer John Kaiine, who will continue to keep her work in print via numerous short story collections and much more.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940158144431
Publisher: Fantastic Books
Publication date: 06/19/2016
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: eBook
Pages: 224
File size: 363 KB

About the Author

Tanith Lee (1947¿2015) was a British writer of science fiction, horror, and fantasy. She was the author of more than 90 novels (including Wolf Tower and The Flat Earth series), 300 short stories (such as "When the Clock Strikes," from the collection Red as Blood), a children's picture book (Animal Castle), and many poems. She also wrote two episodes of the BBC science fiction series Blake's 7. Lee was married to artist and writer John Kaiine.

From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews