Dot.Bomb: My Days and Nights at an Internet Goliath

Dot.Bomb: My Days and Nights at an Internet Goliath

by J. David Kuo
4.8 6

NOOK Book(eBook)

$9.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

Dot.Bomb: My Days and Nights at an Internet Goliath by J. David Kuo

In the tradition of "Liar's Poker" and "Barbarians at the Gate, dot.bomb" is a gripping insider's account of e-business gone berserk--the unforgettable story of the rise and crash of a major Internet startup.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780316085533
Publisher: Little, Brown and Company
Publication date: 10/31/2009
Sold by: Hachette Digital, Inc.
Format: NOOK Book
File size: 629 KB

About the Author

J. David Kuo was senior vice president of communications at ValueAmerica.com. He has worked for the CIA and a US Senator and as a journalist and speechwriter. He lives in Virginia with his wife, Kim.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Dot.Bomb: My Days and Nights at an Internet Goliath 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 6 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
As another member of the flock of sheep that went careening off to make a fortune on the internet and came away with nothing but frustration, I have to say that Kuo does a remarkable job of explaining the enthusiasm so many of us felt for this new medium in the late 90s while at the same time, pointing out where we should have all seen the house of cards. This book takes you through the early days of Value America all the way to its eventual bust. All seems so obvious in retrospect, but this book is a great case-study for this phenomenon in business and what can happen when you lose sight of the reason you're in business in the first place. Highly Recommended.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a well written book about the DOT bomb implosion. I always wondered what was driving Wall Street to fall in love with these money-losing ventures. Now I understand. The author does a good job to bring out all of the personalities and actions that made up Value America. More than once I could recognize some of the same problems in some of the high tech ventures I have been involved with.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am normally loathe to read insider tell-alls mainly because the insider usually only tells his/her side of the story (and a self-serving side it typically is). I couldn't have been more pleasantly surprised -- and infinitely rewarded -- when I read this book. This insider serves as an insider-author should: as an unbeatable vantage point into closed-door meetings, confidential chats, and the mind- and heart-wrenching dynamic of a corporate rollercoaster. This struck me as a story that breaks a lot of typically-constraining rules. Sure, it's a story about a group of remarkable people attempting significant change. But the book goes an important step beyond: it relates very clearly what happens when that group not only faces the daunting challenges that arise from its efforts but when it also must face those that result from the fact that they are remarkable in very different, and very telling, ways. As a result, I found this book to be a definite first: it offers a fresh, clear, and often hilarious inside view of one of the thorniest challenges faced by most enterprises -- the inter-personal dynamic that can make or break even the best enterprises. Because too many undeserving books have been given 'MUST READ!' reviews, I've never done so myself, until now. This is truly a book that deserves to be read -- by new economy veterans and voyeurs alike, by anyone interested in the group dynamic, and especially by those entering the entrepreneurial unknown. Take heed and enjoy!
Guest More than 1 year ago
And indeed there will be time/ To wonder, 'Do I dare?' and, 'Do I dare?'/ Time to turn back and descend the stair,/ With a bald spot in the middle of my hair¿/ [They will say: 'How his hair is growing thin!']/ My morning coat, my collar mounting firmly to the chin,/ My necktie rich and modest, but asserted by a simple pin¿/ [They will say: 'But how his arms and legs are thin!']/ Do I dare/ Disturb the universe? -- T.S. Eliot¿s ¿The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock¿. I remember a few years back getting a call from a friend at a successful Internet company asking me to quit my job in investment banking and join a sure thing. He offered a pile of options and promised infinite stock splits. In my little head I translated this into big houses, fast cars, beautiful women and, eventually, very short days at the office. I was tempted. However, after a call to my father, and some more sober thinking, I thought better of it. Now I am thankful that I made that decision, but for any of us who heard the siren call of Internet riches, but lacked the stomach or tolerance to take such a risk with our careers and lives, this is a chance to take the ride. I recommend ¿Dot Bomb: My Days and Nights at an Internet Goliath¿ without reservation. What makes this book so special is that the reader fits snugly into the storyteller¿s perspective. For the same reason that we respond to Michael Lewis¿ books, the author manages to convey a balanced perspective as people and events spin wildly out of control and challenge our assumptions of the way the business world is supposed to work. The entire story is told with refreshingly blunt honesty and every moment in it is absolutely laugh out loud hilarious (I got a lot of funny looks while I read this as people aren¿t supposed to laugh that hard on the subway). I felt like I was with Kuo as he raised venture capital money for Value America (from big wigs like Paul Allen), watched his options skyrocket as they had their IPO, to finally crashing and burning and watching the ¿members of the team¿ run for the exits with shameless abandon. It is a much a book about human behavior as it is about business. It is a wild ride that was told with such humor that I was sorry it had to end. You will love every minute of it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
what a hilarious ride through the Internet craze. definitely not a dry, boring business recounting. this book has bizarre and addictive characters that led companies up and down the tech mountain. also gave great insight into Wall Street and how things were really working in the crazy stock market. highly recommended for anyone investing.