Pub. Date:
Black Fox: The Rise and Fall of Adolf Hitler

Black Fox: The Rise and Fall of Adolf Hitler

Marlene Dietrich
Director: Louis Clyde Stoumen Cast: Marlene Dietrich
Louis Clyde Stoumen

DVD (Black & White)

Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, September 24


Despite its Disneyesque title, The Black Fox is actually a documentary of the rise and fall of the Third Reich. Authentic scenes of Adolf Hitler and the war and atrocities that he fomented are framed by a curious literary device. Hitler's ascension is compared to that of Reynard the Fox, a medieval folk-fable "trickster." While this device could have been pretentious--or, at the very worst, precious--the film works quite well. The newsreel footage seen in The Black Fox is relatively familiar, but the treatment sheds new light on an old story.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 08/30/2005
UPC: 0032031161399
Original Release: 1962
Rating: NR
Source: White Star
Region Code: 0
Presentation: [B&W]
Sound: [Dolby Digital Stereo]
Time: 1:27:00
Sales rank: 46,701

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Marlene Dietrich Narrator
Ezra Laderman Conductor

Technical Credits
Louis Clyde Stoumen Director,Screenwriter
Don Devlin Associate Producer
Johann Wolfgang von Goethe Screenwriter
Richard Kaplan Editor
Ezra Laderman Score Composer
Jack le Vien Executive Producer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Black Fox: The Rise and Fall of Adolf Hitler
1. Introduction [4:23]
2. Reynard the Fox [3:39]
3. Hitler & World War I [2:28]
4. Post-War Europe & Germany [3:31]
5. The Director and His Men [2:50]
6. A Young Artist [3:48]
7. Treason in Munich [2:10]
8. Reynard and Adolf on Trial [2:48]
9. Mein Kampf [4:44]
10. German Renaissance [6:05]
11. Absolute Power [6:08]
12. Purging the Party [3:50]
13. Propoganda and Pride [3:54]
14. The Spanish Civil War [2:01]
15. Conquest, Division, and Betrayal [6:20]
16. Slave Labor [2:28]
17. Taking on the West [7:26]
18. Turning to the East [3:56]
19. New Enemies, New Defeats [3:28]
20. The Death Camps [2:23]
21. Hitler's Final Days [2:41]
22. Twilight of the Gods [5:56]

Customer Reviews