Ebbets to Veeck to Busch: Eight Owners Who Shaped Baseball

Ebbets to Veeck to Busch: Eight Owners Who Shaped Baseball

by Burton A. Boxerman, Benita W. Boxerman


View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Thursday, October 25  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.


Ebbets to Veeck to Busch: Eight Owners Who Shaped Baseball by Burton A. Boxerman, Benita W. Boxerman

Of baseball there have been countless books, but, surprisingly, relatively few about the owners, the men and women who invested their time—and, frequently, their fortunes—in baseball teams. What has been written tends to concentrate on the financial aspects of ownership or individual owners and their private lives, and pays less attention to the enduring contributions certain owners have made.
Eight owners and their lasting influences on the game are the focus of this book. Charles Ebbets, Barney Dreyfuss, Helene Britton, Clark Griffith, Walter O’Malley, Bill Veeck, Charles Finley and August Busch were chosen for inclusion not only because of their larger contributions but also because they were hands-on owners who ran their teams decisively. For instance, Helene Britton proved that a knowledgable woman could successfully run a ball club, even if she couldn’t vote; Bill Veeck hired the first black player in the American League, introduced exploding scoreboards and was the first owner to put his players’ names on the backs of their uniforms; Walter O’Malley relocated his Dodgers to the West Coast and convinced Giants owner Horace Stoneham to bring his team out too.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780786415625
Publisher: McFarland & Company, Incorporated Publishers
Publication date: 07/07/2003
Pages: 258
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.52(d)

About the Author

A member of the Society for American Baseball Research, Burton A. Boxerman taught history for 30 years and contributes to numerous historical journals. A longtime baseball fan, he lives in St. Louis, Missouri. Writer and researcher Benita W. Boxerman is retired from one of the largest public relations firms in the United States and is a member of SABR. She lives in St. Louis, Missouri.

Table of Contents

Table of Contents

Dedication v

Acknowledgments vii

Preface 1

1 Charles H. Ebbets: The Visionary 3

2 Barney Dreyfuss: The Purist 29

3 Helene Britton: The Feminist 55

4 Clark Griffith: The Persuader 71

5 Walter O’Malley: The Prospector 98

6 Bill Veeck: The Populist 124

7 Charles Finley: The Maverick 152

8 August Busch: The CEO 178

Notes 205

Bibliography 229

Index 237

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews